Regular price: £29.59

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

Dr. Olivia Simon is on duty in the emergency room of North Carolina's Outer Banks Hospital when a gunshot victim is brought in. Midway through the desperate effort to save the young woman's life, Olivia realizes who she is - Annie O'Neill, the woman Olivia's husband, Paul, is in love with.

When Annie dies on the operating table, she leaves behind three other victims: Alec O'Neill, who thought he had the perfect marriage; Paul, whose fixation on Annie is unshakable; and Olivia, who is desperate to understand the woman who destroyed her marriage. Now they are left with unanswered questions about who Annie really was - and about the secrets she kept hidden so well.

©2002 Diane Chamberlain (P)2014 Tantor

Critic reviews

"Engrossing, satisfying entertainment." ( Library Journal)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

not her best work

i finished the book, but i admit i fast forward some places. it was a little too drawn out. i feel that you could condense the book in half and still get the substance of the book

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Lulu
  • LONDON, United Kingdom
  • 27-10-15

Emotional Twisted Tale of Love, lies & Secrets

Wow, this is a book guaranteed to make you cry as the characters deal with grief, curl up in anger and/or anxiety and become restless with seeking and needing to know the truth!! Towards the end, the twisted lies and secrets begin to unfold and show how far acts of abuse, however far in the past can reach into the future if not dealt with. It's a story that tells of the importance of knowing and preserving history with the discernible need to leave the past behind in order to have a future.
This book was engaging from start to finish, well written and overall enjoyable. Fans of Liane Moriarty, Jojo Moyes, Dorothy Koomson and the like will love Diane's books.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • HOLLY AUSTIN
  • 12-05-15

Beautifully told

This story is so good, I might re - listen to it. The Narrator does an amazing job with this book. I would recommend this to everyone who loves a good love story .

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Elizabeth HC
  • 27-04-15

Captivating story and characters

Any additional comments?

The author creates interesting characters that I came to care about and will follow thru the rest of the series. She manages to weave history and details seamlessly throughout so that you end of learning about stained glass or lighthouses while following the trials and joys of the characters. Very much recommend!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jeanine Forney
  • 18-02-15

Loved this book!

As an avid Audible listener, I purchase many books. I loved the story and the characters. Once I started listening, it was difficult to stop. It held a few surprises and I enjoyed the way the story ended.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Katrina
  • 22-02-15

Easy Listen

The story pulled me in pretty quickly and kept me interested. The journey of the story is a little predictable but that doesn't have to be a bad thing. I don't usually do sequel books but I will listen to the stories that follow in this one. I like the writer.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kay
  • 19-05-15

Excellent book, I enjoyed it immensely.

The story and the narration were mesmerizing. I could not put the book down. There were many twists and surprises that kept me wondering what would happen next.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Natasha Holiday
  • 23-04-15

Terrible Boston Accents

What disappointed you about Keeper of the Light?

The story was predictable and unrealistic. The voices with a Boston accent were laughable, distracting, and just plain horrible.

What do you think your next listen will be?

The Good Girl

What didn’t you like about Arielle DeLisle’s performance?

If you can't do an accent authentically, then just don't do it. It was distracting and irritating to hear the accents done so poorly.

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

Disappointment

Any additional comments?

Don't waste your credits with this book!!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Barbara
  • 09-01-15

Real Love On The Outer Banks

This was a good story but not as mesmerizing as the Silent Sister. I am happy to discover a new author who I admire

8 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Pamela Dale Foster
  • 16-01-15

A Delightful Listen

The book, Keeper of the Light, was quite a listen. I'd have to say that each character had his or her need to be in the book. There were quite a few and I got to know all of them and enjoyed getting to know them. Some of them were nice and other's were not but that always makes for more excitement, edge of your seat listening and suspense. I wanted to know the ending before I got there.However, I've never submitted to that desire. The book is always more suspenseful if you are able to wait.

There is lots of love going on in the book. The most loved one is Annie. However, some loved her more than other's. The story takes place in Nags Head, South Carolina. Yes, the book travels back and forth in time but it's not at all difficult to follow. The character's were well developed and I got to know them all of them, even Annie's wicked parent's. The narrator, Arielle DeLisle, did a great job. She was able to jump from one character to the next with ease. The narrator plays an important part when listening to a book. I don't think that if you purchase this book you'll be disappointed. Although, the genre of this book is probably more to a woman's liking. Enjoy!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mom/RN
  • 20-06-15

emotional and gripping

love! great characters and fantastic narration! the story takes place in slow motion forward with long insights into each characters past. all of them do exactly what you'e rooting for them to do... very satisfying with a great ending! not what you expect tho so dont try to guess! :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Laney
  • 04-04-15

Interesting characters and intriguing plot.

Fun listen. Went fast. Boston accent got annoying at times but plot was so exciting. Loved listening for the end.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful