Listen free for 30 days

In Darkness, Look for Stars

Narrated by: Daphne Kouma
Length: 13 hrs and 29 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical
5 out of 5 stars (6 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Paris, 1941: Going against her mother’s orders, spirited Maggie devotes herself to the Resistance. Her life is a whirlwind of forged passports and secret midnight runs, helping Jews escape. Much to her high-society mother’s disapproval, she has fallen in love with Emil, a Jewish Resistance fighter who is wanted by the Nazis. 

The city is growing more dangerous by the day, with signs proclaiming "No Jews" posted everywhere in the mazelike streets and people dragged away in handcuffs. The forbidden lovers are forced to say good-bye - Emil going underground to escape capture. 

Meanwhile, Maggie’s sister, Cecilia, is hundreds of miles away, where the realities of war are yet to hit the serenity of the South of France. Innocent and shy Cecilia is shocked to the core when Emil turns up, seeking refuge. Her sheltered life turned upside down, Cecilia is thrown into the world of the Resistance, all the while sending coded letters to her sister, who every day awaits news of her fiancé. 

But with the Nazis closing in on them, their lives soon hang in the balance. Both sisters must decide where their loyalties lie - and how far they are willing to go to save themselves and one another. 

An evocative, riveting, and stirring tale about the tragic realities of war, the fine line between loyalty and lies, and the power of love, even in the darkest of times. Fans of The Nightingale, The Letter, and All the Light We Cannot See will be spellbound by this magnificent historical novel.

©2020 Clara Benson (P)2020 Bookouture

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read. Loved it.

With the exception of a slightly over animated narrator at times this was a thoroughly enjoyable book. Well written and very absorbing. Love, tragedy, war and family all intermingled into a great story.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for paula wright
  • paula wright
  • 10-05-20

Very different type of story.

When first listening to this book I almost returned it. I have listened to many ww11 stories that included modern day generation story too. But this story was 5 yrs after the war and entirely different. So glad I didn’t turn it in. As the story unfolded I was torn in several directions. Who to believe? Whose side am I on ? A little bit of psychological thriller as well as historic ww11 and the resistance. Hang in there now for a great listen

1 person found this helpful