Listen free for 30 days

Imaginary Friend

Narrated by: Christine Lakin
Length: 24 hrs and 32 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (31 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Kate Reese is a single mother fleeing an abusive relationship by starting over in a new town, with her young son, Christopher. But Mill Grove, Pennsylvania, is not the safe place they thought it would be....

Their world begins to unravel after Christopher vanishes into the Mission Street Woods - where 50 years earlier an eerily similar disappearance occurred. When he emerges six days later, unharmed but not unchanged, he brings with him a secret: a voice only he can hear and a warning of tragedy to come.

What follows is a moving, thrilling, chilling modern masterpiece on a par with the very best of Stephen King....

©2019 Stephen Chbosky (P)2019 Orion Publishing Group

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic unexpected find!

This book had no reviews when I came across it (usually I take this as a bad sign...) but I took a chance and downloaded it anyway and I'm so glad I did! For fans of Paul Tremblay, C J Tudor and Stephen King- this book will be right up your street.
The story begins subtly and builds to an epic battle between good and evil on a par with 'The Stand'. The group of kids have all the tradirional tropes of a Stephen King rag tag team, and the flawless characterisation totally absorbs the listener into their world. This isn't an action or adventure thriller and there are some truly scary horror story moments (plenty, especially during the parts about the hissing lady, who is not to be taken at face value!). It's insidious and cloying, almost impossible to stop listening in one long sitting. Don't listen at night! For those in search of a good horror (but not a cheesy or poorly written one- see James Herbert for that...), 10/10, take a chance like I did and you won't be disappointed!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jo
  • leicester, United Kingdom
  • 26-11-19

Amazing!

Wasn’t sure about this but went with it due to the previous reviews! I wasn’t disappointed. I was hooked right from the start and it has just the right amount of creepy bordering on scary to keep you going! I can definitely see this as a tv series!
Definitely worth the credit, will be trying others by this author now.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Could have been 5 stars

This book could easily have been 5 stars if had ended sooner and not repeated itself. I genuinely was spooked from the beginning and there was much hope of what was to come. Unfortunately towards the latter half it was just Groundhog Day.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a book!

This book is one of the best audiobook I have listened to.
I can’t wait for the authors next book!

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DVL
  • DVL
  • 15-10-19

Stephen King lite

It needed a bettter editor, it could have been cut in half and it would have been ok.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful