Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Read by Oscar nominated actor Riz Ahmed, executive producer of the HBO series of How to Kidnap the Rich.

Ramesh has a simple formula for fame and success: find a wealthy kid, make him a star and create an elaborate scheme to extort money from his parents, what could go wrong?

As a self-styled 'examinations consultant', Ramesh is the cog in the wheel that keeps India's middle classes thriving. When he takes an exam for Rudi - an intolerably lazy but rich teenager - he accidently scores the highest mark in the country and propels Rudi into stardom.

What next? 

Blackmail. Reality television. Grotesque wealth.

And after that? 

Kidnap. Double-kidnap. Reverse kidnap.

In a studio filled with hot lights, with millions of eyes on the boys, and a government investigator circling, the entire country begins to question: who are they?

©2021 Rahul Raina (P)2021 Hachette Audio UK

Critic reviews

"A fun, fast-paced debut...HBO and the Oscar-nominated actor and producer Riz Ahmed have wisely already bought the screen rights to this Delhi-set, society-skewering debut caper...Raina, 28, was inspired to write How to Kidnap the Rich by the US 'Varsity Blues' admissions scandal, but it is his depiction of bustling, hustling Delhi and its grafting populace that makes this tightly written, fast-paced, often sharply savage societal satire such a rollicking read. He conjures up a memorable world that is ghee-greased, polluted, mired in dust and corruption, but also thrusting...An impressively entertaining but also insightful debut." (Sunday Times)

"A satire, a love story and a thriller, How To Kidnap The Rich by Rahul Raina has shades of The Talented Mr Ripley that also casts an unerring eye over the huge disparity in Indian society. A rollercoaster of a read, this is going to be big." (Stylist)

"Fans of My Sister the Serial Killer, Parasite and Crazy Rich Asians will be enthralled by this riotous tale." (Cosmopolitan)

What listeners say about How to Kidnap the Rich

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.