Regular price: £13.79

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Basket

New to Audible?

Your first audiobook is free
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

England: 1655. 

A nation reeling from the turmoil of bloody civil war. An island in the iron grip of Oliver Cromwell's Protectorate. 

The forces of King Charles have been utterly defeated. The sovereign is dead, his supporters beaten, humiliated, and scattered. 

But it is not just former Cavaliers who find themselves hounded by the new regime. Many of those who fought for Parliament have fallen foul of the oppressive rule of the Major-Generals. 

One such man is Major Samson Lyle: Roundhead, outlaw, fugitive. Forced into exile after a dispute with the ruling elite, he has returned, intent on waging war against those now in command. Skilled with pistol and blade, Lyle takes the fight onto the busy roads south of the capital, forging a formidable reputation as a notorious highwayman. 

Along with his trusted young ward Bella, and Eustace Grumm, an irascible former smuggler, Lyle dodges the ever-present threat of capture to menace those against whom he has sworn revenge. But when the robbery of a powerful lawyer alerts Lyle to the imprisonment of a former comrade, the Major is plunged into a dangerous game of intrigue and deceit that may finally prove his undoing. And he must tread carefully, for Parliament have dispatched their own man to hunt the elusive outlaw. 

The villainous Colonel Francis Maddocks is tracking Lyle's every move, and soon he will come face to face with the Ironside Highwayman. 

Highwayman: Ironside is a thrilling novella, which blends together action and intrigue. For fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow. 

©2015, 2018 Sharpe Books (P)2015 Michael Arnold

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Greatest voice artist of his generation?

Fun to write, fun to read, challenging to produce. hope people enjoy. Look out for book 2, Winter Swarm, coming soon...

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

First rate narration

Having already read this book in eBook format several years ago, I was intrigued to hear the recorded version, read by the author himself. I wasn't disappointed.
The story comes from the Commonwealth period of English history; a little known and understood time in the middle of the seventeenth century.
Let's hope for more from Michael Arnold.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful