Listen free for 30 days

Her Last Lie

Narrated by: Stephanie Racine
Length: 10 hrs and 7 mins
4 out of 5 stars (50 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

She thought she was free of the past. She was wrong.

Six years ago Isla was the only victim to walk free from Carl Jeffery's vicious murder spree. Now, Isla vows to live her life to the fullest, and from the outside it appears perfect.

Determined to finish her book, Isla plans her final trip to Sweden, but after returning from Canada and meeting a man she never thought she would, her life begins to derail.

Suddenly Isla is plagued by memories of the man who tried to murder her, and the threat that he could be back causes her to question everything and everyone around her.

This debut psychological thriller will have you closing down social media accounts, looking over your shoulder, and hooked until the very last minute.

Perfect for fans of Sweet Little Lies, Friend Request and Louise Jensen.

©2018 Amanda Brittany (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"Brittany got my attention from the get go." (Rosemary Smith)
"Gripping and twisty, another book added to my bests reads of this year list." (Julia Beales)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WOW! What a rollercoaster.

WOW! What an absolute rollercoaster of a thriller, twists and turns, and a chilling conclusion that keeps you guessing the whole way through .
Highly recommend.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Her Last Lie

I had never heard of this author until I was browsing on Amazon can't wait to see if their are anymore by this author, would recommend

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

I really loved this audio book, great story that had me hooked. I listen to a lot of audio books while i do cleaning at work. So I highly recommend this audio book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Pathetic main character

With a main character who's so wet I could murder her myself, this book really drags ... on ...and on ...and on ... for hours where nothing actually happens. The dialogue is clichéd, the supporting characters are one dimensional. I did not enjoy this book at all.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Avoid avoid avoid!!!

Quite possibly the most boring book I’ve ever listened to. I disliked the main character immensely and couldn’t have cared less if she lived or died. Good narration but that’s it’s only plus point. Sorry!!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

nope

Didn't like this book heard all of it thinking it would get better in the end couldn't wait for it to finish

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Don’t bother!!

Second book I’ve listened to I’ve given back! The story was boring, predictable and irritating!

The main character is self absorbed and difficult to like. Most parts of the book seem pointless and the back story seems to have been put in there to build something out of it but nothing really happens/happened.

Keeps your credits!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Found it very predictable unfortunately.

It's not bad listening but even the final 'twist' is obvious from a mile away.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow!! Gripping!

couldn't put it down! gripping until the end. the narration is brilliant too, accents perfect. so glad I 'read' it!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Boring

So glad this book has finished. Boring depressing droning. Story was rubbish !! The worst listen to date ! Phew it’s finished .

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jenn
  • Jenn
  • 22-01-18

Almost but Not Quite

This book had entertaining moments - however, the only thing that held my interest was how the author did a decent job of keeping the mood and tone as a thriller. The character development was so weak that it interfered with understanding the events that unfolded. There were many side story lines that were never followed-up and just left unanswered. Certain actions of most of the characters made no sense because we don't understand the motivation or reason since we know so little about that person. For example, the relationship of the main character with her boyfriend, it was hard to know how serious or how each person felt about the other. Even though the boyfriend does something to take their relationship to the next level, the way they felt about each other was still unclear. There was no background story or substance to back-up the actions of pretty much all of the characters. It was very surprisingly lacking. I just went along with it because as I mentioned, the writing, language, pacing was the way a thriller should be. Ultimately, keeping a reader/listener confused and in the dark and only barely explaining everything at the end isn't an effective mystery/suspense.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for liz
  • liz
  • 25-01-18

very good listen

As always there will be no spoilers in my reviews
loved this book. kept me guessing kept me engaged overall was a pleasure to listen
my only complaint is that the actual recording seemed to jump ahead . I found myself lost at a few points and had to rewind.then it seemed to repeat on me on numerous occasions that made it difficult at times as I was afraid I may have missed something it has never been an issue with other books or device so I expect that in mind if you get a little lost or ahead or behind. it would be interesting to know if anyone else has had that happen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Theresa
  • Theresa
  • 27-01-20

Ugh

Narrator gets all the credit. The star of the show is neurotic, sniveling and so so boring. I stuck it out and started to get my reward with only a couple hours left. It takes about 38 chapters to find out what you already know. The suspense last about 30 minutes before the characters in the book figure out the plot. Oh well.