Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Kerstin is wide awake. While her family sleeps around her, the devastating secret her husband just told her is spinning through her mind. Does she really know the man she married? And are her children still safe in this small town? 

She jumps as she hears a sound from outside. Peering into the inky darkness, her eyes focus on movement at the bottom of the garden. Someone is out there. She watches as the figure strikes a single match. Kerstin gasps at the sight of the face staring back at her, smiling, as if enjoying her fear. 

A car door slams and the figure makes a dash for the trees, leaving something behind – a small memorial candle. As it flickers in the darkness, Kerstin knows exactly what it means. Someone is coming for her, and her family is in terrible danger.

Fans of Angela Marsons, Cara Hunter and Clare Mackintosh will love this utterly gripping crime novel. Her Dying Wish will keep you up all night! 

"I absolutely loved it! Gripping, tense, enthralling, fantastic." (The Fiction Cafe)

"My head was spinning. Finger-licking good." (B for Bookreview)

©2021 Carla Kovach (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Her Dying Wish

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another fantastic book in this amazing series

As soon as I discovered Carla Kovach's Gina Harte series it became a firm favourite and the books just keep delivering time after time. sadly there's only one book left in the series for me to listen to and I'm putting it off because I don't want it to end!!!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Time to stop all the dead husband Terry stuff

Whilst I like the investigation parts of the Gina Harte stories, and admit I'm only half watch through this book (but have listened to the 9 previous Gina Harte books) it really is time to stop rehashing and boring us with the dead husband Terry storyline! On average I listen to at least 2 books a week, and very rarely write reviews, but the constant storyline about Terry is tedious and has been done to death, which is spoiling an otherwise OK story, albeit on Carla Kovach's usual topic of misogynistic men.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great complex tale

Really liked this one - Hope that’s the end of DI hartes Terry saga though! It was quite complex but still pretty gripping. Only thing was the floods seemed to be a bit of a curveball…

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Doug M
  • Doug M
  • 28-12-21

Strong dialogue. Tepid story.

The story is driven by dialogue, and I felt the author did an admirable job in doing so. The storyline is familiar but with a different cast and setting, a variation on the theme of Little Big Lies. While the story was fairly entertaining, I found myself getting anxious to get it over with since I had a pretty good idea of how it would play out. No real surprises.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maine Knitter
  • Maine Knitter
  • 19-12-21

Wow! All the emotions

This is a fabulous series and this, the tenth book, is no exception.

There are many facets to this story: arson, murder, kidnapping, blackmail. Gina is being harassed by a reporter (which, frankly, has been drawn out way too long) while trying to solve an eerie set of crimes, the solution which I didn’t figure out until the end.

The full gamut of emotions can be found in this book. I really wanted to cry at times. Anger, frustration, also played a part. It was awesome.

The narration by Alison Campbell is, again, very well done.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Milica
  • Milica
  • 16-04-22

Another good Gina Harte story

I have followed detective Gina Harte through all of Carla's books and have enjoyed almost all of them. I really liked this one and found myself understanding and somewhat supportive of the baddie in a way, not necessarily with the means, but the reasoning behind it. This was very well written and nicely connected to Gina's continuing story.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wendy Wasson
  • Wendy Wasson
  • 01-03-22

It was Ok

It was an Okay story. I forced myself to listen on as I thought it would get better.
Sorry.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susan Castillo
  • Susan Castillo
  • 24-02-22

OMG Thank you for this…

This was the gift of mind fuckery that kept on giving! I. LOVED. IT. I both regret (not finding the series sooner) and am super excited that there are nine previous books to catch up on!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon customer
  • Amazon customer
  • 30-01-22

Not sure why people are saying it’s the same storyline as Big Little Lies

Sure, it is the same genre, and if you enjoyed Big Little Lies, you’ll probably enjoy Her Dying Wish, but it’s not the same storyline. My only complaint is that there are so many central characters, all introduced in the first chapters, that it’s hard to keep track of who’s who. Otherwise, it’s an enjoyable book that kept my interest throughout.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LemonSC
  • LemonSC
  • 20-01-22

Lagging plot, poorly developed characters

I couldn't finish this despite using a credit. The characters including the detective are very one-dimensional and storyline drags. The narrator has a lovely voice but the weepiness is overdone and irritating in this audiobook.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mary FONDREN
  • Mary FONDREN
  • 02-01-22

Slow shallow story

The narrator made a bad story worse. Her lack of range created one character voice that was high pitch and ugly to understand.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark D
  • Mark D
  • 28-12-21

Story good, but..

Some those voices she was doing drove me crazy. That one dc with the most annoying voice always yelling.

Story was ok but a little ridiculous at times and could have been shortened.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lynne B. Wiley
  • Lynne B. Wiley
  • 23-12-21

Outstanding

The author has outdone herself in this read. Complex plot, great characters and terific ending.