Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Brand new from the best-selling author of The Daughter In Law.

One mother's past could cost her everything.... 

Frankie Keegan is struggling. While she tries to make strides in her career, life at home is slowly unravelling as she is haunted by the secrets of her past.

Someone else remembers....

As the dark nights draw in, the anniversary of the loss of her brother looms, and Frankie is drawn back to the memories of that fateful night 20 years previously. As she descends into a guilt-ridden state, she begins to suspect that someone else is also remembering that night and they are determined to terrify her.... 

Can she confront her past before it's too late?

From the best-selling author of The Daughter In Law, a gripping psychological thriller about family, secrecy and grief - with a twist you won't see coming. Perfect for fans of K L Slater, Shalini Boland and Lisa Jewell.

©2020 Nina Manning (P)2020 Boldwood Books

What listeners say about Her Darkest Fear

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    94
  • 4 Stars
    71
  • 3 Stars
    62
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    15
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    95
  • 4 Stars
    64
  • 3 Stars
    40
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    26
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    87
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    48
  • 2 Stars
    25
  • 1 Stars
    16

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Story okay

The narration really lets this book down. I don’t understand what they are trying to get across but it just felt like she was very depressed. Each sentence starts off loudly and then goes quieter. It’s all I could think about rather than listening story. It was a relief when she was doing a character voice. The only time she spoke properly. Really disappointing

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story but terrible production

I almost didn't carry on with this after reading the other reviews on the narration. It goes so quiet at the end of almost every sentence I couldn't hear it on my Echo.
I've listened to two other books by this author with a different narrator and they were great so thought I'd give this one last chance but just listening to it using my phone speaker. Hurrah I could hear it just about but still missed the odd word.
Good story with a lot of twists and turns.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Totally uninspiring,boring story

This is the story of a whinging, whining woman. I had zero sympathy for the main character and didn't like her. She talks about her dead brother as though he is a dead lover. The baddie turned out to be ridiculous . The narrator was dull and monotone. Don't waste a credit. I picked it after reading the reviews but wished I hadn't.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

HER darkest fear?!

Interminable! Throughly unlikeable main character. No thought for anyone but herself and a glass of wine. And whine was what she did best.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

What is going on with the narrator????

I read the reviews abs had to hear it for myself. Wow the reviews were so right I couldn’t get past the 1st chapter because of the narrator it’s like she’s an oscillating fan and at the end of every sentence she’s been turned away from the microphone! Is almost comical how bad it is, please re-recorded it with another narrator.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

bad narration

struggled to hear the last words of each sentence ...stopped listening after first five chapters ..

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointed at the end

I was enjoying this book throughout but expected a twist at the end that never came. The ending itself was in my mind far fetched and slightly ridiculous (to the point I could almost see it as a comedy sketch in my head had it not meant to be tragic) and I’d expected so much more. It made the rest of the story feel a bit superfluous and pointless.
The narration is a bit weird and the narrators voice keeps going quiet at the end of sentences. I had just bought new ear buds and actually thought there was a problem with them until I read one of the other reviews that mentions this exact same thing. I’m just relieved I don’t have to return the ear buds. I can’t recommend this book because I felt so let down by the ending when there were so many interesting options available to the author.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Frustrating narrator

Interesting story but the narrator reads each sentence louder at the start getting steadily quieter to the end making it hard to listen to.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

VOLUME ISSUES

My only issue was the huge changes in volume, particularly when the lead character was talking. 70% of a sentence was at the right level to hear in whatever environment I was in, but the ends of the sentences tailed off to an inaudible level making me rewind and turn it up repeatedly or towards just guess what she was probably saying!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

well worth a listen

I loved this got invested in the characters and didn't have a predictable ending.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for John
  • John
  • 11-10-21

Hours And Hours To Say Nothing…

Well,.. this author took many hours of my time to say a half hours worth of
“Story”….. interminable and repetitive cannot begin to convey the tedium..

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Elizabeth
  • Elizabeth
  • 05-10-21

Hard to hear end of each sentence. Boring.

My big problem with this audio is the narration.Every sentence is read with the same intonation And gets so quiet and low at the end of each sentence that it sounds like there is a problem with the audio. You can hardly hear the last couple of words of each sentence. The voice finds like a smoker’s voice and she does children’s voices very poorly. Story just doesn’t grab you.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 29-03-20

Bored!

The story was long and kind of boring. There was small flashback about something that happened in the past, and then it was all reviled in the last 20 min and it was just weird, not exiting.

Not worth the listen.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Codie Jones
  • Codie Jones
  • 30-09-21

Her darkest fear

I hardly read books this definitely would have been a good book to read. I liked how the story kept me interested and couldn’t wait to listen again. It definitely keeps you guessing what will happen next. I really enjoyed listening.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anita Buers
  • Anita Buers
  • 25-09-21

Enjoy this author.

This is the 3rd book I’ve read by Nina Manning. Her stories are raw, suspenseful, and well-crafted. So glad I discovered her!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shelley Wiegand
  • Shelley Wiegand
  • 20-10-21

Terrible narration

I thoroughly enjoyed the House Mate and the Daughter in law but quite honestly I couldn’t get through two chapters due to this narrators voice! So irritating that she drops her voice so low at the end of each sentence. What a shame, I’m sure I would have enjoyed this story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Katherine Pennington
  • Katherine Pennington
  • 18-10-21

True Entertainment!!

Definitely suspenseful! A must through the very end. Hoping there is a sequel!! Shocker

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Heather Bowman
  • Heather Bowman
  • 18-10-21

Excellent story but….

I enjoyed this story so very much, but the narrator drove me mad. If fact, pretty sure I missed 40% of the book because I could not hear her! It was annoying to keep my device right at my ear in an attempt to make out what she was
saying.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alicia Adamson
  • Alicia Adamson
  • 15-10-21

Dumb book

Pointless book. With 10 minutes left in the book I’m still not seeing the point. It moves along at a snails pace and I kept waiting for the story to move along, yet there’s literally nothing interesting.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CostarK
  • CostarK
  • 13-10-21

Another great performance

A wonderfully written story, full of mystery about the past that comes back to haunt the present.