Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • First Date

  • An Absolutely Jaw-Dropping Psychological Thriller
  • By: Sue Watson
  • Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
  • Length: 10 hrs and 27 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (295 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
First Date cover art

First Date

By: Sue Watson
Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £18.99

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Forever Home cover art
The New Wife cover art
The Resort cover art
The Woman Next Door cover art
The Lodge cover art
Our Little Lies cover art
The Sister-in-Law cover art
The Wedding Day cover art
The Empty Nest cover art
The Women: A gripping psychological thriller cover art
The Inheritance cover art
The Party on Laurel Street cover art
The Perfect Girlfriend cover art
The Wife cover art
The Wedding Guest cover art
The Last Train Home cover art

Summary

She’s been waiting her whole life to meet a man like Alex. But he’s been waiting, too. And once he has her, he’ll never let her go....

Hannah has done everything to make sure her life is safe and secure. A long way from her unstable childhood growing up in foster care, she’s content with her sweet, little, messy apartment and her satisfying job as a social worker. She quietly worries that, aged 36, she might never fall in love. But otherwise her life is where she wants it to be.

Until, encouraged by her best friend to join a dating app, she meets Alex. He’s irresistibly handsome. He loves the same music as her. The same food as well. They both dream of travelling the world but agree they’d be equally happy escaping to a cottage by the beach in Devon. Both of them would love to own a Labrador one day. It’s like he’s made for her. It’s like he’s too good to be true.

Hannah’s friends aren’t so sure about him. But Hannah thinks he’s perfect.

Which is good. Because Alex knows she’s perfect for him, too. In fact, she’s exactly the girl he’s been looking for....

And nothing Hannah’s done to make her life safe will ever be enough.

A gripping and suspenseful psychological thriller about dark obsession and internet dating. Fans of The Wife Between Us, Friend Request, and Gone Girl will adore this twisted love story.

Praise for Sue Watson:

"Tense, atmospheric psychological thriller with more twists and turns than a rollercoaster. Impeccably written and a big fat 5***** from me. Awesome!" (Number one best-selling author Angela Marsons)

©2020 Sue Watson (P)2020 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about First Date

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    165
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    19
  • 1 Stars
    14
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    176
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    8
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    141
  • 4 Stars
    62
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    19

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Sue Watson does it again, brilliant book with a real twist at the end. Love Tamsin Kennard narration

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A bit slow but good ending

This dating horror crawled along for about 2/3rds of the book and then had a banging ending. I did enjoy it but wasn't my favourite by this author.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

dreary

I struggled to stick with this because I wanted the female lead character to wide up and walk away very early on. I like Tamsin Kennard narrating so that made it easier to keep listening. I didn't see the twist coming but it took too long to get there.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Totally Gripped!

Having previously read the Sister in Law and enjoyed it I decided to purchase First date and was NOT disappointed! Sue Watson brings each character to life and you cannot help but become totally gripped by the storyline and where it’s going. If you’re into edgy psychological thrillers with a touch of romance it’s a must read/listen!!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Good listen

For me, I found this a really good listen and narration was excellent
I have listened to a few Sue Watson stories and haven't been disappointed. I am looking forward to the next.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • LL
  • 17-02-24

frustrating

not as good as some of her other books. I spent most of the time frustrated with the main female character, just not believable at all that she would stay in the situation

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Kept me listening

I really enjoyed this book. Completed it within the day as I couldn't stop listening. I was not disappointed by the ending.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A brilliant twist!

I absolutely loved it!
I was gripped till the end. I can highly recommended it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing book!!

I couldn’t stop listening to this book. Such a great story and lovely narration! Did not expect that twist at the end! Breath taking.
Highly recommend

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it - fun and annoying!

reminded me of the same kind of story as blood wedding but less violent :)

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!