Regular price: £11.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

BBC Radio 4 sitcom written by and starring Sanjeev Kohli and Donald McLeary, set in a Glasgow corner shop.

In Series One, which was first broadcast in 2007, the nettle of the ugly spectre of racism was grasped, a religious festival was invented and an impacted cola bottle (sour) was removed from one of Ramesh’s premolars. We were also introduced to the Wall of Crisps and witnessed the world’s first partwork completion.

©2011 AudioGo Ltd, Comedy Unit (P)2011 AudioGo Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    73
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    52
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Smart and genuinely funny

Why this BBC comedy didn't get more plaudits I don't know. The writing is sassy, clever and genuinely funny - how many Beeb 4 series actually make you laugh out loud? Virtually every line is a gem and I've found myself repeating some of the catchphrases (OMG that's both amazing and great). The cast are perfect and I bet they fell about laughing making it. The loss of the great actor Gerard Kelly - outstanding as Father Dave, is sorely felt. I hope it gets another season, but I fear we'll just get more of the awful Count Arthur Strong or bloody Just a Minute. Buy both series of Fags, Mags and Bags, you will not be disappointed and you too will gain an appreciation of 'shop'.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Adrian
  • Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
  • 17-12-11

Gold

This is the best writing in radio comedy for as long as I can remember. I wish they'd publish the scripts. Proper laugh out loud, genuine life enhancing brilliance. Philosophical, hard-nosed, warm hearted, plain nutty. Lenzie beckons...heed the call! Thanks guys, finally a download. Ade x

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Niceingtons!

I laughed out loud with my voice and my mouth. It is both amazing and great!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superb

An absolutely superb series . All the actors are first class and the stories are hilarious . Highly recommended series.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Both Amusing and Great

What made the experience of listening to Fags, Mags & Bags: Complete Series 1 the most enjoyable?

It was a genuinely funny and very warm comedy.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Fags, Mags & Bags: Complete Series 1?

The Wall of Crisps!

What about Sanjeev Kohli and Donald McLeary ’s performance did you like?

I could easily see the characters chatting together in my head as they performed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hidden comedy treasure.

What did you like most about Fags, Mags & Bags: Complete Series 1?

Fantastic Radio 4 comedy that seems to have remained under the radar. Easily the best Scottish comedy show since 'Naked Radio'. Ideal for fans of 'Still Game', 'Off The Ball', 'Down The Line' and 'Only An Excuse'.

What other book might you compare Fags, Mags & Bags: Complete Series 1 to, and why?

Still Game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brllliant writing, best radio sit com I have heard

by far. The banter is second to none and I am now addicted to Ritter Sports.