We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
This Is How It Always Is Audiobook

This Is How It Always Is

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
    • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry.

This is how a family keeps a secret...and how that secret ends up keeping them.

This is how a family lives happily ever after...until happily ever after becomes complicated.

This is how children change...and then change the world.

This is Claude. He's five years old, the youngest of five brothers, and loves peanut butter sandwiches. He also loves wearing a dress, and dreams of being a princess.

When he grows up, Claude says, he wants to be a girl.

Rosie and Penn want Claude to be whoever Claude wants to be. They're just not sure they're ready to share that with the world. Soon the entire family is keeping Claude's secret. Until one day it explodes.

Laurie Frankel's This Is How It Always Is is a novel about revelations, transformations, fairy tales, and family. And it's about the ways this is how it always is: Change is always hard and miraculous and hard again, parenting is always a leap into the unknown with crossed fingers and full hearts, children grow but not always according to plan. And families with secrets don't get to keep them forever.

©2017 Laurie Frankel (P)2017 Macmillan Audio

What the Critics Say

"A lively and fascinating story of a thoroughly modern family and the giant, multifaceted love that binds them.... Sparkles with wit and wisdom." (Maria Semple, best-selling author of Where'd You Go, Bernadette)

"An intelligent, life-affirming, emotionally charged story." (Prima)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (114 )
5 star
 (84)
4 star
 (26)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.7 (108 )
5 star
 (81)
4 star
 (22)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.7 (108 )
5 star
 (80)
4 star
 (22)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    alexandra 16/03/2017
    alexandra 16/03/2017 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A completely genius debut"

    Transgender issues have been talked about from many different perspectives but through the eyes of five-year-old Claude, Laurie Frankel manages to present us with something entirely new. And in the process, she's managed to make me think about gender and identity in a completely different way. As young Poppy gradually emerges, the listener is encouraged to confront the complexities of the situation as well as realising that they by no means define a person or their potential.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ms. Laura Mercier 17/06/2017 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Perfect"

    One of those stories you don't want to end. Heartbreaking, beautiful and absolutely gorgeous- a must read!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Boo 11/04/2017
    Boo 11/04/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    131
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An incredible book!"
    If you could sum up This Is How It Always Is in three words, what would they be?

    Engaging, absorbing and brilliant!


    What was one of the most memorable moments of This Is How It Always Is?

    Claude/Poppy discovering the 'middle way' and Buddhism in Thailand


    What does Gabra Zackman bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    The narration brings a sensitivity and vulnerability to the voice of Poppy and Claude.


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    It was at times heartbreaking, at others life-affirming and left me with a sense of optimism


    Any additional comments?

    I loved the story, the way it was told and will remember the complex cahracters

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    AA 07/03/2017
    AA 07/03/2017 Member Since 2018
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An intelligent take on gender issues"
    Where does This Is How It Always Is rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    It comes pretty high up!


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    The scenes where Penn reads the bedtime stories


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Absolutely


    Any additional comments?

    Laurie Frankel has done a brilliant job of presenting to the listener all the most pressing and contentious transgender issues in this accessible, often funny and touching novel. From wanting to wear a dress and carry a handbag on his first day at primary school to hiding a secret from the girlfriends that he loves having sleepovers with, Claude has to navigate some complicated truths on the road to properly becoming Poppy. But the true brilliance of this book is in its consistent ability to make you smile through all the mini-disasters and prejudices of others. And all of that coupled with the fact that this is Frankel's debut!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Disorganised Mum 05/06/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful"
    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Thought provoking and emotional. Very well done on a tricky subject. Extremely well written.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    catherine 26/05/2017
    catherine 26/05/2017 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant, beautiful, sad and thought provoking"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    For sure. It's brilliantly written and the plot is like nothing i've ever read before. It has changed the way I think about gender.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of This Is How It Always Is?

    The relationship between mother, father and their 'child' - I loved seeing how they guided Claude/Poppy through her childhood.


    What does Gabra Zackman bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    Softly narrated in a tone that made me cry - more than once!


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    For sure, cry. But in a heart warming way.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Laura 06/05/2017
    Laura 06/05/2017 Member Since 2018
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautiful book and narration"

    I loved everything about the story and the narration. A slightly cheesy novel, but nether the less hard hitting & thought provoking. Very well written and great characters.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Patreesha United Kingdom 24/02/2018
    Patreesha United Kingdom 24/02/2018 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    62
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    108
    41
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Good Book"
    Where does This Is How It Always Is rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    It's a good book. A shame I think I saw this on tv first and so knew the ending, or I thought I did. And I did. I really like this kind of stuff so this was right up my alley, both on tv and in book form. The books are normally better and this was no exception.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of This Is How It Always Is?

    This isn't how it always is - far from it. I don't really want to give anything away but let's just say that I still remember this book months after I heard/read it. Very unusual for me the one who doesn't remember what she had for breakfast. Okay I do - only because I have the same breakfast every day, otherwise I wouldn't.


    What does Gabra Zackman bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    His intonations into every aspect of this book. He is a great narrator.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Oh yes - I so could have and would have if I didn't keep falling asleep. Thank goodness I put on the thing that stops it after half an hour.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Linden 18/10/2017
    Linden 18/10/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    68
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    50
    42
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    11
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of the best"

    I found this a truly wonderful book. It is gentle, but so thought provoking. Beautifully narrated - it will stay with me for ever.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cebe Seren Birmingham, UK 02/09/2017
    Cebe Seren Birmingham, UK 02/09/2017 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautiful, funny, thoughtful, thought-provoking"

    Loved the subject, the family, the humour, the interwoven fairy tale. Expertly performed. Didn't want it to end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.