Regular price: £18.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

'Just for a moment, I was young and invincible again, back before I made the decision that changed the rest of my life....'

Susie did something that she knows she will always regret: giving her baby son up for adoption, to keep her infidelity secret from her family. Louise, Susie's daughter, feels the effects of that decision echoing down through the years - her mother has always been difficult, too strict with her but not strict enough with her sister, Grace, who is wild and out of control. And Danny, Susie's husband, adores her but has always sensed something wrong at the heart of their marriage.

When tragedy strikes the family, and a chance discovery threatens to bring the truth to light, the sisters' relationship is put to the test as they are faced with an impossible choice.

From the best-selling author of The Silent Wife, The Secret Child is a heartbreaking novel about family secrets and lies. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Jojo Moyes and Diane Chamberlain.

©2018 Kerry Fisher (P)2018 Audible, Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    114
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    108
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    104
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

absorbing

great story but sad reflection on humanity years ago, the struggle to hide and keep secrets from those around you.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unputdownable

Well written, gripping and thoroughly enjoyable. A good discovery.
Good characters and well developed plot.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Easy good feeling read

I really enjoyed this book, easy to listen to, great story, one of those cant put down cause I need to know the ending...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Susan
  • Llysfaen, United Kingdom
  • 07-03-18

Susan

What a truly wonderful book, it had me laughing and crying. A joy to read.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very Real

Fascinating, found it very real and right at the heart of so many questions I have hears about adoption

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A really thought provoking story

I truly loved this book and need to get friends to read it so that I can talk about it. I have three adoption experiences in my family - all from the 1960s too - so was very interested in the exploration of all the impossibly difficult issues surrounding whether or not to trace, either way round.

Kerry Fisher’s observations of parenting are so true - or so like mine! How you can love a child so much and it all go wrong...

This was a great story and rang so many bells with me. Thank you. I must find and read some others by this author.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

I really enjoyed this book showing the personal agony of giving a child up for adoption and how damaging secrets are within families. Good pace. Great read. Could stop listening.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So real could be a biography

Emotional insight into giving up a child for adoption and the effects this has on the rest of a family and a persons life. Fiction but could be a biography. Reflects on the changing times and the cruelty inflicted on unmarried mothers in the 1960 s

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A really good read

From the first page I was captivated by the characters and storyline. A real must read and definitely up with the rest of Kerry’s fab books

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Oscars mum

I have loved listening to another of Kerry’s fantastic stories. So well written and I can’t wait to find out what happens but equally don’t want to finish the book. The narration by Emma is fantastic too. Looking forward to my next Kerry book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for zoolady
  • zoolady
  • 23-02-18

I've found a new favorite author!

This was a truly lovely book, filled with a roller-coaster of emotions and wonderful, engaging characters. I alternated between choking up at the touching interplay of the family, and laughing at the snarky wit so liberally sprinkled throughout. I immediately bought everthing of Kerry's I could find, and can't wait for more.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for PollyAnna2
  • PollyAnna2
  • 25-02-18

Kerry Fisher is absolutely marvelous

After reading my first Kerry Fisher novel, I immediately looked for more. She has a way of writing that is completely relatable to the human spirit. This one is no different. A full range of emotions, internal conflict, and a wonderful understanding of the complexities, and dynamics of every family.
I’m sure I’ll be recommending this one to family and friends for years to come.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tdl
  • Tdl
  • 14-03-18

Loved, loved this book!

This was an amazing story, true to life. I felt as though I personally knew the characters, especially Grace. Great narration! Totally recommend.