Regular price: £12.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects and Alice Sebold's The Lovely Bones, Number One best-selling author Jodi Picoult returns with the deeply moving The Pact.

When Chris wakes up in hospital, Emily is the first person he asks for. She is the love of his life. But Emily is dead, and Chris is the sole witness to what happened in the park that night.

He claims it was a suicide pact: they were both meant to die.

Then the investigation turns up motive for murder, and there is only one suspect....

©1999 Jodi Picoult (P)2006 Hodder and Stoughton Audiobooks

Critic reviews

"The novelist displays an almost uncanny ability to enter the skins of her troubled young protagonists." ( New York Times)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story, just way too short.

Loved the story, just didn't get the character connection typically of picoult as too short.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good but not Jodi's usual standard

The story is lacking compared to most of her books. The narration as always is excellent. after listening to the story all of Jodi's books are added to my sleep list as the narration voice is great for drifting off to sleep too. Still my fave author for audio books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow what a story....LOVED IT

Best ever story I have read by Jodie, it had me gripped I couldn't put it down, you so wanted it to be true. I hope I get a chance to read a storyline like this....so moving keeping you on your toes...GREAT STORY ❤❤❤❤❤

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Pact review

A compelling listen! So easy I the ear - really enjoyed it! Looking forward to Jodi's next novel!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Karen
  • Nr Howden, United Kingdom
  • 18-08-14

Boring - Boring - Boring!!!!

Would you try another book written by Jodi Picoult or narrated by Megan Dodds?

I have always enjoyed Jodi Picoult books, but this is just dull, very little story line and the one that is there is just not believable. Megan Dodds narration only seems to make it even more boring. Give it a miss and Jodi you need a wakeup call!!!!

Has The Pact put you off other books in this genre?

No as I have read and enjoyed Jodi's books before.

How did the narrator detract from the book?

She made a very uninteresting story line even more boring.

You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

NO

Any additional comments?

I had the feeling that Jodi was writing for the sake of writing, It didn't feel like her heart was in this one. I have over 500 books from Audible and this one is on my top 5 most forgettable and wish I hadn't wasted my time list.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I cried listening to the book!

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

Yes this book was good but I felt it finished to quickly

What other book might you compare The Pact to, and why?

this book could be compared to any Jodi Picoult book

Was The Pact worth the listening time?

Yes definately - but it seemed to finish all of a sudden without a proper ending

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dawn
  • Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
  • 21-07-11

Powerful

Another compelling story from Jodi Picoult. She writes these powerful courtroom dramas so well I find it hard to switch them off. It's a shame that this version is abridged.