We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
The Other Einstein Audiobook

The Other Einstein

Regular Price:£23.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of The Paris Wife and Mrs. Poe, The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein's enormous shadow. This is the story of Einstein's wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated and may have been inspired by her own profound and very personal insight.

Mitza Maric has always been a little different from other girls. Most 20-year-olds are wives by now, not studying physics at an elite Zurich university with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that for her, math is an easier path than marriage. And then fellow student Albert Einstein takes an interest in her, and the world turns sideways. Theirs becomes a partnership of the mind and of the heart, but there might not be room for more than one genius in a marriage.

©2016 Marie Benedict (P)2016 Random House Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.7 (6 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.4 (5 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.2 (5 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    emma 06/06/2017
    emma 06/06/2017 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    31
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    129
    62
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fascinating and frustrating"

    An excellent dramatised account of the life of promising scientist Mitza Maric. The narration is beautiful, and the tale both fascinating and frustrating, as the talented Mitza encounters the prejudice of a male-dominated society, attempting to create a life for herself as a physicist in the shadow of her revered husband.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Savannah
    26/02/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This book is something you want in your library for life!!"

    Like many of us, I totally forgot that Albert Einstein had a wife early in his life. She was pushed to the background by society yet she was willing to push back ! A brilliant mathematics and physics scholar. I absolutely admire this remarkable woman!<br/>I was disappointed in Einstein as a person..but I do believe he had some form of Autism which could explain his inability to sustain a relationship unless it was in the context of science.

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful
  • Aileen Ravalo Voyles
    13/03/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thoughtfully written"

    If you like historical fiction, this is a great book for you. Beautifully written. You may get emotional when reading this, you may get upset but just like all great books, it will make you reexamine what history has always told you about life and reexamine how you see your life as well.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • Beckymmoe
    alden, ny United States
    28/05/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fascinating story, great narration"

    Marie Benedict's The Other Einstein was a fascinating read, and one that is significantly adding to my TBR pile--with nonfiction, for a change! (Lots of great suggestions in the author's note at the end--thanks, Ms. Benedict!)<br/><br/>The author freely admits that her book is a fictionalization of Mileva Maric Einstein's life and that she makes use of much speculation (especially with regards to exactly how much of a contribution the first Mrs. Einstein made to her husband's famous Theory of Relativity--I'd love to think that her version is the truth, but it's probably a bit of a stretch and I doubt it could ever be proved), and as such I kind of hoped that Albert wasn't as much of a, well, b@stard as he seems to be in the book. Though I can still hope that at least one pretty jarring scene is completely fictional, Princeton University has been kind enough to publish volumes of Einstein's writings and correspondence and their English translations online, and I've now read the memorandum myself that made me gasp out loud when I read that part of the book (18 July 1014, Memorandum to Mileva Einstein-Maric, with comments in Volume 8--don't read it until after you've read the book, though!) and then the next few letters after that one, and...just whoa. I'm not sure I'll ever hear the name "Albert Einstein" again and be able to think purely happy thoughts about him. How can a man be so scientifically brilliant and so spectacularly not brilliant in his personal life?<br/><br/>(Interesting side note from the letters, not the book, since Mileva wouldn't have known this: Albert wouldn't let his second wife/cousin(!) Elsa be there when he spent time with his sons from his first marriage, because "it is not right to have the children see their father with a woman other than their own mother" yet he had no such scruples about divorcee Elsa's children from her first marriage spending time with their mother and a man who wasn't their own father...double-standard much? Oh, and just to really make it next to impossible to look up to him as a father figure and husband--he apparently briefly considered proposing to Elsa's 20-year-old daughter Ilsa instead... Yeah. He's a prince among men. But a brilliant scientist.)<br/><br/>Anyway.<br/><br/>Though the story was a bit slow in parts, overall I quite enjoyed it. I look forward to both reading more about Mileva (and her children!) and more from Ms. Benedict in the future. The narration was excellent; I much preferred having someone else do all of that fancy pronouncing rather than me butchering it in my head ;)<br/><br/>Rating: 4 stars / B+<br/>

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Rachael
    Plainfield, IL
    15/06/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Behind every great man... is an incredible story"

    [{ "answer" : "The narrator did an amazing job with this book. I would recommend it over print", "type" : "Overall", "question" : "Would you consider the audio edition of The Other Einstein to be better than the print version? ", "id" : 41, "typeString" : "overall" }, { "answer" : "when Albert told Mileva that she is always trying to undermine him at the most important times in his life, and eluded to the fact that she had their first baby ON PURPOSE just to spite hime. That was such an outrageous claim", "type" : "Story", "question" : "What was one of the most memorable moments of The Other Einstein?", "id" : 6, "typeString" : "story" }, { "answer" : "", "type" : "Performance", "question" : "Which scene was your favorite?", "id" : 24, "typeString" : "performance" }, { "answer" : "Alot of the book moved me. This amazing woman who sacrificed so much due to what life, and the man she loved, dealt to her...she was never recognized for her brilliance and that is especially saddening. ", "type" : "Genre", "question" : "Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?", "id" : 78, "typeString" : "genre" }, { "answer" : "I could not stop listening to this audiobook. I finished it in a day and a half. I would recommend to those who find this book as outstanding as I did to check out the show GENIUS on National Geographic Channel. The actress who plays Mileva on that show I think does an excellent job, especially after reading this book. I think that, although some scenes may have exaggerated in this book, the book in its totality seems pretty close to fact. ", "type" : "Misc", "question" : "Any additional comments?", "id" : -1, "typeString" : "misc" } ]

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • arbonneisfreedom
    04/11/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Outstanding!"

    A captivating story that I could not stop listening to. The characters, their lives, as told here, are fascinating.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Indianalar
    Mishawaka, IN USA
    03/11/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Rest of The Story "

    Subperb writing skill delivery, could not put it down before completion. Written with love and light.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Susan Dare
    28/10/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An outstanding read... hard to put down! "

    I highly recommend this book. Although a work of fiction, its fact-based account of Einstein's treatment of his first wife was often astonishing.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    Bristol, TN
    01/10/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "More SHEstories like this are needed"

    During these times when privilege seems so little understood (by the privileged), these perspectives of HiStory are reminders of how far we've come, but how far we still need to go.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • DCowan
    08/09/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow!"

    Amazing read and beautifully written. I highly recommend this one! But be sure you have some tissues handy - there are some heartbreaking moments.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Eliza B. Gosc
    27/07/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautifully Written"

    This book was a complete shock to me. I never knew about Mileva and am ashamed to admit it. It's appalling to learn about the things that she endured. The author did a great job of writing her story and interpreting the letters she refers too. I strongly recommended this book.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.