Regular price: £18.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

The women of the Weller family - matriarch Lolly, cousins Kat, June, and Isabel - have not had the easiest of relationships over the years. The cousins have gone their separate ways, but now, just as each faces a crossroads in her life, they are summoned home by Lolly for some earth-shattering news. As the women spend their first summer together in years, home truths and buried secrets begin to emerge. To ease the tension, Lolly proposes a series of movie nights dedicated to her favourite actress, Meryl Streep, and as the four women sit and discuss the parallels between films and real life, they gradually help one another confront the past and make difficult decisions about the future.

©2012 Mia March (P)2012 Audible Ltd

Critic reviews

"Consume with a bowl of popcorn and plenty of hankies." (Publishers Weekly)
"A treat for movie lovers and fans of meaningful women's fiction." (Romantic Times)
"In the tradition of Friday Night Knitting Club and The Jane Austen Book Club, this novel also has a healthy dose of Streep thrown in." (USA Today)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Art Imitating Life

Great idea for a book as I tend to liken my life to the numerous movies I've seen.

Two sisters and a cousin are brought back to their childhood home by their ailing aunt. What was once a building best avoided, filled with sad memories, gradually becomes a safe haven as the girls discover some home truths through the wisdom of the great characters Meryl Streep's film-a-thons provide!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Pleasant

Just pleasant - not especially memorable. I probably wouldn't have made the effort to read it myself but it was beautifully read.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Ann D
  • Newcastle, England
  • 26-04-15

Okay!

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

It began with real promise. The main characters had the potential for real depth, but then it came over all American twee. So, no it probably wasn't time well spent.

How could the performance have been better?

It's probably my issue. I think just prefer British narrators.

Any additional comments?

I feel it was a shame that the author seemed to have the ability to write well, based upon the writing in the early chapters, but later became lazy, and wrote such rubbish as "her heart was as full as her stomach" and "she was too happy to speak". Is is just me? I am fortunate enough to have had some extremely happy moments, but I have never been too happy to speak!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • PB
  • Solihull
  • 14-09-13

Great

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes, it was unexpectedly thought provoking.

Who was your favorite character and why?

No favourite character.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Both

Any additional comments?

It made me want to go back and watch the Meryl Streep films again, I will watch them differently next time and probably think of these characters on their movie night.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

For Meryl fans really

I do like Meryl Streep and I do like her films so I was attracted to the premis of this story, however I was a little disappointed with its obvious-ness (excuse my English!).

3 young American women, living in a wonderful old house with an establish B&B business, facing big decisions which are obviously going to come their way. I didn't enjoy the use of Meryl's films to help discussions and arguments within the story as I thought I might, it was a little "planned".

It's not the worst book I've heard, but it didn't do it for me.