We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Little Theatre by the Sea Audiobook

The Little Theatre by the Sea

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The best-selling author of The Villa and The Saffron Trail returns with a gorgeous summer listen about love and starting over - set in West Dorset and beautiful Sardinia. Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Dinah Jefferies and Harriet Evans.

Faye has just completed her degree in interior design when she finds herself jobless and boyfriend-less. While debating what to do next, she receives a surprise phone call from her old college friend Charlotte, who now lives in Sardinia and is married to Italian hotelier Fabio.

When Charlotte suggests that Faye relocate for a month to house-sit, Faye wonders if a summer break in sunny Sardinia might be the perfect way to recharge her batteries and think about her future. But then Charlotte tells Faye that there's something more behind the sudden invitation: her friends Marisa and Alessandro are looking for a designer to renovate a crumbling old theatre they own in the scenic village of Deriu. The idea certainly sounds appealing to Faye, but little does she know what she's letting herself in for if she accepts this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity....

©2017 Rosanna Ley (P)2017 WF Howes Ltd

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (52 )
5 star
 (22)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
3.8 (44 )
5 star
 (17)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.1 (45 )
5 star
 (25)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amazon Customer 25/04/2017 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    20
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointed"

    The narration was poor , there were far too many unnecessary pauses. I found the dialogue by the Italian characters very difficult to listen to, particularly the males.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ddodson 18/04/2017
    ddodson 18/04/2017 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    43
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    82
    45
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Predictable"

    I am sorry to say I thought this story was totally predictable. It should have been a two hour book.
    The narrator tried hard but I felt that she always sounded fed up and even in the happy moments didn't cheer up. The reading was very very flat.
    I would not recommend this book.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joyful Jo 10/04/2017
    Joyful Jo 10/04/2017 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    6
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Simply beautiful story"

    I absolutely adored this story. So well written. I could imagine myself in Sardinia, sampling the cuisine, sightseeing & visiting secret bays. All of the characters story developed & were expertly intertwined with one another. I feel overjoyed at the ending, but bereft that's the book is over. Wonderful. A romantic & historically well written novel that would appeal to anyone over 25yrs of age & upwards. Thank you. I'm now off to download Rosanna Ley's other novel.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pat T 02/04/2017
    Pat T 02/04/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    28
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awful!"

    If I could give a no star or minus star rating I would. I am not a romantic novel fan but have read Ms Ley's Saffron Trail and other earlier works wherein she told a strong story. This book is the total opposite, a storyline so thin as to be virtually non existent, maudlin and depressive in tone from start to finish. This booked contained no 'joy of life' at all. I'm not sure why I carried on listening as it was so aggravatingly bad! It's sad to say that many authors find a format that works and then do it to death, each tale worsening from the original. This is the case with Little Theatre By The Sea, Ms Ley met her Waterloo and was utterly defeated. This book would have made a better short story as it is at least four times longer than the plot could carry, and its target audience might be early teens. Such a huge let down in comparison to her earlier work.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Miss Bristol, United Kingdom 19/09/2017
    Miss Bristol, United Kingdom 19/09/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    9
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "lovely book"

    listened to whilst looking out over the Tuscan landscape of Capanorri whilst on holiday. bought the book to life

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nicki John 11/07/2017
    Nicki John 11/07/2017 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    6
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another award winning story by Rosanna Ley."

    Loved it! I've been totally transported to a life in Sardinia with never having been there. Such is the power of Rosanna ' s story telling. very evocative and incredibly insightful about relationships old & new. I'm addicted! x

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.