Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

The best-selling author of The Villa and The Saffron Trail returns with a gorgeous summer listen about love and starting over - set in West Dorset and beautiful Sardinia. Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Dinah Jefferies and Harriet Evans.

Faye has just completed her degree in interior design when she finds herself jobless and boyfriend-less. While debating what to do next, she receives a surprise phone call from her old college friend Charlotte, who now lives in Sardinia and is married to Italian hotelier Fabio.

When Charlotte suggests that Faye relocate for a month to house-sit, Faye wonders if a summer break in sunny Sardinia might be the perfect way to recharge her batteries and think about her future. But then Charlotte tells Faye that there's something more behind the sudden invitation: her friends Marisa and Alessandro are looking for a designer to renovate a crumbling old theatre they own in the scenic village of Deriu. The idea certainly sounds appealing to Faye, but little does she know what she's letting herself in for if she accepts this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity....

©2017 Rosanna Ley (P)2017 WF Howes Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    5

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

The narration was poor , there were far too many unnecessary pauses. I found the dialogue by the Italian characters very difficult to listen to, particularly the males.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Predictable

I am sorry to say I thought this story was totally predictable. It should have been a two hour book.
The narrator tried hard but I felt that she always sounded fed up and even in the happy moments didn't cheer up. The reading was very very flat.
I would not recommend this book.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Simply beautiful story

I absolutely adored this story. So well written. I could imagine myself in Sardinia, sampling the cuisine, sightseeing & visiting secret bays. All of the characters story developed & were expertly intertwined with one another. I feel overjoyed at the ending, but bereft that's the book is over. Wonderful. A romantic & historically well written novel that would appeal to anyone over 25yrs of age & upwards. Thank you. I'm now off to download Rosanna Ley's other novel.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Awful!

If I could give a no star or minus star rating I would. I am not a romantic novel fan but have read Ms Ley's Saffron Trail and other earlier works wherein she told a strong story. This book is the total opposite, a storyline so thin as to be virtually non existent, maudlin and depressive in tone from start to finish. This booked contained no 'joy of life' at all. I'm not sure why I carried on listening as it was so aggravatingly bad! It's sad to say that many authors find a format that works and then do it to death, each tale worsening from the original. This is the case with Little Theatre By The Sea, Ms Ley met her Waterloo and was utterly defeated. This book would have made a better short story as it is at least four times longer than the plot could carry, and its target audience might be early teens. Such a huge let down in comparison to her earlier work.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Such a disappointment!

I usually love Rosanna Leys novels but this just awful- so bad that I gave up at chapter 7. The narrator is the worst I have ever heard - so slow and boring. Don't waste your money downloading this one!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another award winning story by Rosanna Ley.

Loved it! I've been totally transported to a life in Sardinia with never having been there. Such is the power of Rosanna ' s story telling. very evocative and incredibly insightful about relationships old & new. I'm addicted! x

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars

Narrator stiff and very precise diction makes it difficult to listen to, Story doesn't flow , unable to comment on story. Shame as I have listened to all Roseana's books which I did enjoy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

the little theatre by the sea

Really enjoyed book as Iive in Bridport, Dorset. storey good although a little slow. would have loved a hear a more romantic Italian voice for Alexandro..but really good storey overall.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

lovely book

listened to whilst looking out over the Tuscan landscape of Capanorri whilst on holiday. bought the book to life

0 of 1 people found this review helpful