Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

The Eagle's Prey is the thrilling fifth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. A must-listen for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

It is late summer AD 44, and the battle-weary Roman legions are in their second year of campaigning against the British tribes. The troops' commander, General Plautius, is under pressure from the emperor to crush the natives once and for all.

Centurions Macro and Cato are with the crack Second Legion under the precarious leadership of Centurion Maximus, and it's their task to hold a ford across the river Tamesis when the natives are forced into a trap. But Maximus' nerve breaks at the critical point, allowing the enemy leader, Caratacus, and his men to escape.

Outraged by this failure, General Plautius orders the decimation of the unit. Their choice: die, or escape to become fugitives pursued by soldiers of their own ruthless army. Hiding from their former comrades as well as the Britons, Cato's small band of fugitives have only one chance to redeem themselves before they are hunted down like animals.

©2004 Simon Scarrow (P)2017 Headline Digital

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    172
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    173
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    157
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Pawns Are Important Too!

Once again our two heroes battle it out with both the belligerent British and the enemies from within including both incompetent senior officers and the devious upper echelons of the Roman army and Roman politics. This is a series that contains a lot of very good historical detail without ever taking itself too seriously. The chemistry between the introspective and academically-minded Cato and the bluff, straightforward Macro are what really makes these books. There is also of course great battle action plus some clever intrigue and with Jonathan Keeble at the microphone it will always get a fine airing.

As I get into the later stages of the series it will be interesting to see if Simon Scarrow manages to keep up this good form. So far, and for the next two which I have also read previously, so good.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • A
  • 21-05-18

AWESOME reading continues!

having real problems putting this series down, fantastic books indeed. This brings Roman Britain to life again while deepening the insight into Cato and Macros characters. will be starting the next book straight away!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not guilty

knowing there are more books to come, relieves your thoughts of poor cato sentenced to death, but doesn't detract from the atmosphere of the story. Simon scarrow again puts our hero's in endless perils, even from thier own side. its a great read but there's sadness at the brutality of both sides.. there's always one man out for himself ,or just totally cruel.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Britannia battles on

Good read/listen, a bit relentless if your not keen on blood and guts. But enjoyable none the less

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent, as always

loved it. Jonathan keeble narration very good, very enjoyable, superb voices and easy to recognise.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • D
  • 19-07-17

great read

didnt want to put it down, loved the story, looking forward to the next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

as always brilliant

fantastic from start to finish
even though i listened out of sequence it was easy to follow and a pleasure to be part or the Roman conquest of Brittania

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An expert glimpse into a Roman soldier's life

A nail biting adventure for the reader experiencing the tempestuous life of two centurions in Brittania. The battle scenes are described in detail and brought alive by the narrator, so real I could only listen in small chunks in case the blood and gore sprang out over me. The contrast with the older, gruff, typical soldier,Macro, and his younger companion Cato who thinks deeply but who is no less committed to the life of a soldier is expertly portrayed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Epic

Such a good series of books. Keeps you absolutely gripped throughout. I have been unable to stop listening.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

one of the most gripping in the series

despite knowing the rough outcome from later books, this was incredible!
so glad book 4 and 5 were finally released in audible!

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Timothy
  • 09-09-17

Solid Book.

Solid book. Narrator was good but enjoyed the narrator of the first two books better.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Stephen
  • 22-04-17

Glad I finally got to hear it

I travel constantly so audiobooks are about the only way I get to read - and I don't know why Cato & Macro 4 & 5 were never available in the States, but I'm glad they finally are. I can give a review in one sentence: I liked the book so much I finished it in less than a day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful