We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
The Eagle and the Wolves Audiobook

The Eagle and the Wolves: Eagles of the Empire, Book 4

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
    • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!

The Eagle and the Wolves is the gripping fourth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

Britannia, AD 44. Occupation is never easy. The enemy is butchering their supply convoys, their garrison town is starving and the truce with the locals is uneasy at best. Young Cato, newly promoted, and veteran centurion Macro are ordered to train the Wolves and the Boars, two cohorts of barbarian Britons, and introduce them to the brutal drills of the Roman Imperial Army. Macro is confident they'll win the natives over, but Cato worries about putting weapons into the hands of potential rebels. Ultimately, only one thing matters: is there a difference between the enemy at their gates, and the allies in their own camp?

©2003 Simon Scarrow (P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Ltd.

What the Critics Say

"A new book in Simon Scarrow's long-running series about the Roman army is always a joy." (The Times)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (188 )
5 star
 (150)
4 star
 (31)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.7 (171 )
5 star
 (127)
4 star
 (35)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.8 (174 )
5 star
 (145)
4 star
 (23)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    jamie 28/06/2017
    jamie 28/06/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Why was this released in a weird order?"

    loved it but It was released a long time after book 11. Why? I enjoy the stories so it makes little difference but now I have the time line messed up

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Simon 26/03/2017
    Simon 26/03/2017 Member Since 2018
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4644
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    453
    447
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    727
    17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Boys are Back in Town"

    At last this book is available on Audible UK with the next following soon. A great present from our friendly audiobook supplier!

    Macro and Cato are once again thrown into misadventure as they are unwittingly placed into the heart of the Emporer's campaign for Britain both in terms of the military and diplomacy. As ever our chalk and cheese leads approach the situation in their own unique ways with, needless to say, mixed results. It all builds very enjoyably until the final few hours of the book which bring it to a close with a crunching set of action set pieces brimming with fine detail.

    I think this is as good as anything else I've read in the series to date.and I'll be lapping up the next one as soon as I can!

    5 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mr. Anthony D. Bateman wales uk 09/12/2017
    Mr. Anthony D. Bateman wales uk 09/12/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    52
    45
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "fight or die"

    The toughest mission yet for our heroic duo. As usual a brilliant mix of fact and fiction you can't put down, (or press pause).

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Patrick S. 24/11/2017
    Patrick S. 24/11/2017 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narration"

    Just listened to the first three narrated by David Thorpe and loved them. Doesn’t have the same vibe to it with the new narrator, so can’t stick with it. Story rating is default as I didn’t make it past chapter 2. Shame. Always stick with the same narrator I think.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Graeme Keenan 27/10/2017
    Graeme Keenan 27/10/2017 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Misslng link"

    This wasn't available when I first listened to the series so it filled in a few small gaps but as usual just great Macro and Cato story

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Fiberkat
    Greenbelt, MD United States
    20/08/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great story series with excellent narration."

    read the series in order. much knowledge and enjoyment to be found. the narrator uses, with a few exceptions, classical Latin pronunciation, which alone is worth the money to me.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.