Regular price: £12.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

A hilarious heartwarming story about normal women with normal problems. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Bridesmaid.

Can the curvy girls have their cake and eat it? Meet best friends Pixie, Ellie, Katie and Jane. Fed up with always struggling to lose weight, they start a social club where size doesn't matter. Soon it's the most popular place to be - having fun instead of counting carbs. And the girls suddenly find their lives changing in ways they never imagined.

But outside the club, things aren't as rosy, as they struggle with the ups and downs of everyday life.

In this funny, heartwarming story about normal women learning to love themselves, the curvy girls soon realise that no matter what life throws at them, together, anything is possible...

©2015 Michele Gorman (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Michele's writing is so engaging and witty, yet insightful and empathetic. And she can certainly pull off a twist!" (Sophie Kinsella)
"'I love Michele's books. A fun, sassy writer who always makes me smile." (Carole Matthews)
"Gorman's writing is warm, witty and wonderful." (Matt Dunn)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Light and sweet - a good listen!

What did you like most about The Curvy Girls Club?

It's heartwarming, sweet and relates to the everyday lives of modern women (and gentlemen) who learn to love themselves for who they are despite they're being outside of society's 'norm' . As someone who's personally dealt with weight issues for 10-20 years of her life, can clearly relate and found the book light, sweet and very positive :)

Who was your favorite character and why?

Ellie - because she's the sweetest natured of the friends and tend to relate to her personality most.

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

N/A

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No but enjoyed it in light several sittings. Some books more than others are ones that are of a subject close to one's heart and best listened and properly HEARD.

Any additional comments?

Again, heartwarming is my best word for this novel. Thank you Ms Gorman!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Too saucy for me at times but...

An enjoyable read. The cover seems odd for the story given that the women on it would easily fit in any theatre seat!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

great book.

loved this book. only knocked one star off because I wasn't satisfied with the ending. really wanted it to go a bit further.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun all the way

This us a very nice and easy Chic lit title that flows well and doesn't need too much concentration. Really enjoyed it. perfect ironing buddy!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A brilliant read!

If you could sum up The Curvy Girls Club in three words, what would they be?

Funny, realistic, girlie

What other book might you compare The Curvy Girls Club to, and why?

Shopaholic to the Stars. Another great girlie read. Well written and very funny. I was laughing out loud.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

Katie and Rob. When she confronted him in the office.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It was ok

Why are all the women on the cover thin?

Story pretty predictable with a lot of stereotypes.

Not a lot happens. And in all these sort of books someone has to be thin and someone has to have a happy romantic ending.

Could have done much more with the stories.

Narrator made all the men sound like women. A bit off putting.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

pure holiday quick reading

great to listen to when on a beach surrounded by thin people. some parts made me giggle. this title was perfect for my brain dead mode. The end seemed rushed and not as good as the beginning.