We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
The Cross and the Curse Audiobook

The Cross and the Curse: The Bernicia Chronicles, Book 2

Regular Price:£18.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

634AD. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and second instalment in the Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.

Warlords battle across Britain to become the first king of the English. After a stunning victory against the native Waelisc, Beobrand returns a hero. His valour is rewarded with wealth and land by Oswald, king of Northumbria. He retires to his new estate with his bride only to find himself surrounded by enemies old and new.

With treachery and death on all sides, Beobrand fears he will lose all he holds dear. On a quest for revenge and redemption, he accepts the mantle of lord, leading his men into the darkest of nights and the bloodiest of battles.

©2016 Matthew Harffy (P)2016 Audible, Ltd

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (60 )
5 star
 (42)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.3 (51 )
5 star
 (28)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.5 (50 )
5 star
 (32)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    The Wolf Glasgow 02/02/2017
    The Wolf Glasgow 02/02/2017 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    51
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    66
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great listen!"

    Longtime friends and followers of mine might know that I endorsed Harffy’s debut novel, The Serpent Sword. That was a self-published affair which garnered enough interest and sales that Matthew was taken on by a major publisher, Aria, and this is the resultant sequel.

    The tale is quite straightforward with love, action and beautifully written prose aplenty and, combined with a really good narrator, makes for a great listen. It gets especially nasty (in a good way!) about two-thirds in and things really start to come together there.

    I felt a little as if this was a bridge between the first book and the next, setting things up for what’s to come for the rest of the series. That’s no bad thing and there is enough to keep your interest up throughout although I did miss a bit of humour. The events are dark and gritty and the characters know it – but it would have been nice to have a bit of childish banter between the men just to lighten things. As it is, the word I kept thinking of as I listened was “earnest”. The dialogue is earnest, the characters are earnest and the prose is too. I was wishing someone would fart or stand in a dog turd but sadly there’s no slapstick silliness here!

    This series has been compared to Bernard Cornwell’s Uhtred stories (by me, actually, in that previously-mentioned endorsement!) but, although settings and time period are similar, the writing is completely different in The Cross and the Curse. Fans of one author will enjoy the other I’m sure, as both are absolutely brilliant.

    Steven A. McKay, author of the Forest Lord series

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    P. Craine Preston UK 08/10/2017
    P. Craine Preston UK 08/10/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brought a tear to my eye. "

    I'm hooked. The narration is fantastic, I shall look for his other works.
    So what's in store for our hero, and his warband.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Farniboy Wirral, UK 13/05/2017
    Farniboy Wirral, UK 13/05/2017 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    86
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    114
    100
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beobrand Strikes Back!"
    Would you listen to The Cross and the Curse again? Why?

    To be honest, at 48 years of age and with 15 Audible books as well as countless Kindle and physical books to read and listen to, I think life is too short to return to fiction books. I only really relisten to history and autobiography books nowadays. No offence to the author though, its a great listen.


    What did you like best about this story?

    It was exciting, but also informative about the social and political history of the time. I feel it's an added bonus when you read and learn through fiction books.


    Have you listened to any of Barnaby Edwards’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    A good narration. There is a huge cast of characters and they all stand out.


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    The book is cover to cover action but there is a particular scene that made me feel emotional. No spoilers though...


    Any additional comments?

    Matthew Harffy knows his stuff, I'm no historian but the book is littered with Old English terms and this knowledge gives the book an authentic feel. I really enjoyed this book, it had an Empire Strikes Back feel to it, in there is a huge battle at the beginning of the book and then the rest of the tale is more personal and political (but no less exciting.!) Harffy stresses (in the epilogue)that his book sticks quite rigidly to Northumbrian history at the time and obviously there wasn't a convenient battle on hand to to finish with the expected big pay off. But it doesn't matter, because he'd worked on building his characters the ending is especially moving. I'll definitely carry on reading this series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Linda Morse
    29/01/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Could not stop until the end! Fantastic!"
    If you could sum up The Cross and the Curse in three words, what would they be?

    Riveting, Gripping , Engrossing!


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Beobrand, such a great warrior!


    Have you listened to any of Barnaby Edwards’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    Yes, The Serpent and Sword, he is awesome! A phenomenal narrator!


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes! And I did listen in one sitting, it was that great!


    Any additional comments?

    Matthew Harffy is the next Bernard Cornwell, no doubt! Please have Barnaby Edwards perform all your novel narrations!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Edward
    Richmond, VA
    01/07/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Struggle"
    Any additional comments?

    This was a struggle to read since the main character, Beobrand, becomes unlikable. That is going to be hard to change for the 3rd book. Overall not a bad story, somewhat predicable.. but I have never been fond of characters that have anger issues and fly off into a rage and hurt people without thinking or make situations worse for all those around just because they can't stop and think for 10 seconds... right now, at the end of book 2, I would have no issues if someone took Beobrand out.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • C Harlow
    14/05/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "not as good as the first but not bad"

    Book dragged on didnt really ever keep me as intrested as most book in this genre but will listen to the next one.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • FuzzyLogicRiceCooker
    08/03/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great book !!!"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Cross and the Curse to be better than the print version?

    The unabridged audio book version allows me to read while doing other things.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Cross and the Curse?

    The warrior ethic was interesting in various scenes. The strong sense of honor and loyalty impressed me.


    Have you listened to any of Barnaby Edwards’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    He is a good reader and makes you enjoy the performance.


    If you could rename The Cross and the Curse, what would you call it?

    I would not rename it --- the title is fine as the author chose it.


    Any additional comments?

    would recommend the Book series---this is Book 2

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.