We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
The Christmas Promise Audiobook

The Christmas Promise: The cosy Christmas book you won't be able to put down!

Regular Price:£12.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Count down to Christmas with your new must-have author as you step into the wonderful world of Ava Bliss. Perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley, Carole Matthews and Katie Fforde.

On a snowy December evening, Sam Jermyn steps into the life of bespoke hatmaker Ava. Sparks fly, and not necessarily good ones.

Times are tough for Ava - she's struggling to make ends meet, her ex-boyfriend is a bully, and, worst of all, it's nearly Christmas.

So when Sam commissions Ava to make a hat for someone special, she makes a promise that will change her life. She just doesn't know it yet....

©2016 Sue Moorcroft (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (57 )
5 star
 (31)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.3 (55 )
5 star
 (30)
4 star
 (13)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.3 (54 )
5 star
 (33)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    reward 14/12/2017
    reward 14/12/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it. "

    Really enjoyed this book. Started on December 1st which was great so many 'christmas' books have a little Christmas in and this felt Christmassy enough. Loved the story and Ava's character and all of the others. Liked how it ended and the sensitivity around Wendy's condition. Will recommend

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 03/12/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    78
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    123
    98
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Entertaining & with a strong educational message "

    Narrator too rushed in places. Odd inflections in phrases, & odd pronunciations. Story well researched & pleasingly readable. Good yarn but also educational for not only for victims of abuse but also for those kindly folk affected by the PTS experienced by the victim - & the victim's hypersensitivity. Jolly good read. Shame about the narration.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    E. Robson Southampton, England 19/03/2017
    E. Robson Southampton, England 19/03/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    41
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Stilted narration."

    The story was great but I really struggled with the narrator. I found her stilted and felt she struggled.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rory UK 18/03/2017
    Rory UK 18/03/2017 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    25
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    74
    42
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too miserable"
    If this book wasn’t for you, who do you think might enjoy it more?

    People who like girly romance and don't mind illness all through it


    Would you be willing to try another book from Sue Moorcroft? Why or why not?

    I would try but would read the reviews first. The main story was fine although the heroine rather wet.


    Did the narration match the pace of the story?

    It was fine.


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    Very much anger that authors feel a compulsion these days to have terminal illness in all their books. I want to escape that, not have to listen to it !


    Any additional comments?

    Less illness in future books.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Splashes Into Books 08/01/2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Modern issues dealt with in a festive romance"
    Where does The Christmas Promise rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I just didn't want to switch this audiobook off. Laura Kirman's use of different 'voices' for the characters and her expressive reading of the story bring it to life, making it a fantastic listen.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Christmas Promise?

    The comparisons of how Ava is treated by her bullying, drunk and threatening ex-boyfriend contrasts dramatically with the usually more supportive reactions of Sam Jermyn, though he, too, has his moments! All the moments with Sam's Mum, as she endeavours to enjoy the festive break recovering from major surgery before starting chemotherapy are also very moving and memorable.


    What does Laura Kirman bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    Laura Kirman uses changes in pace, tone and voice to bring the book to life. I really didn't want to switch off the audiobook!


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    There are so many moving moments in this story . . . the surprise at the Rotary Club event where Sam's Mum is so brave . . . Sam's support as Ava contacts her Dad . . . . Ava's Dad coming to the rescue . . . . Sam's reaction to Ava's automatic suspicion . . . . and when Sam realises just how he reacted and endeavours to put things right again. Sorry, don't want to give any more details as I don't like giving spoilers!


    Any additional comments?

    A great story dealing with some modern day issues in a sensitive and supportive manner, highlighting the feelings and guilt of victims and giving positive feedback to help them. Who'd think such trauma as cyber bullying, terminal illness and revenge porn could be included in an amazing, heartwarming, festive story? Personally, I though it was brilliant - I'll certainly look out for more stories by this author and more narrated by Laura Kirman!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tonia 05/01/2017
    Tonia 05/01/2017 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good book spoiled!"

    I quite enjoyed the story even though it was fairly predictable, it did put across a good message regarding abusive behaviour that might well turn light bulbs on for some! However it was unfortunately spoiled by very poor narration.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.