Regular price: £12.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

Count down to Christmas with your new must-have author as you step into the wonderful world of Ava Bliss. Perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley, Carole Matthews and Katie Fforde.

On a snowy December evening, Sam Jermyn steps into the life of bespoke hatmaker Ava. Sparks fly, and not necessarily good ones.

Times are tough for Ava - she's struggling to make ends meet, her ex-boyfriend is a bully, and, worst of all, it's nearly Christmas.

So when Sam commissions Ava to make a hat for someone special, she makes a promise that will change her life. She just doesn't know it yet....

©2016 Sue Moorcroft (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    52
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

a good, light hearted listen 🌟

a good, light hearted listen. I felt like Ava was a friend of mine 😃

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Never read sue moor Croft before but will definitely do so again

Liked this book a lot. It was a sweet and easy listen that might not sound exciting but it was a charming story which made you want to keep listening and routing for the characters. A heart warming Christmas story and a great authors note which helped tie off the story. It also made me want to wear a hat.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Christmas Promise

I loved this story from the start to finish, I found it difficult to switch off.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it.

Really enjoyed this book. Started on December 1st which was great so many 'christmas' books have a little Christmas in and this felt Christmassy enough. Loved the story and Ava's character and all of the others. Liked how it ended and the sensitivity around Wendy's condition. Will recommend

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Entertaining & with a strong educational message

Narrator too rushed in places. Odd inflections in phrases, & odd pronunciations. Story well researched & pleasingly readable. Good yarn but also educational for not only for victims of abuse but also for those kindly folk affected by the PTS experienced by the victim - & the victim's hypersensitivity. Jolly good read. Shame about the narration.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Stilted narration.

The story was great but I really struggled with the narrator. I found her stilted and felt she struggled.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Too miserable

If this book wasn’t for you, who do you think might enjoy it more?

People who like girly romance and don't mind illness all through it

Would you be willing to try another book from Sue Moorcroft? Why or why not?

I would try but would read the reviews first. The main story was fine although the heroine rather wet.

Did the narration match the pace of the story?

It was fine.

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

Very much anger that authors feel a compulsion these days to have terminal illness in all their books. I want to escape that, not have to listen to it !

Any additional comments?

Less illness in future books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Modern issues dealt with in a festive romance

Where does The Christmas Promise rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

I just didn't want to switch this audiobook off. Laura Kirman's use of different 'voices' for the characters and her expressive reading of the story bring it to life, making it a fantastic listen.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Christmas Promise?

The comparisons of how Ava is treated by her bullying, drunk and threatening ex-boyfriend contrasts dramatically with the usually more supportive reactions of Sam Jermyn, though he, too, has his moments! All the moments with Sam's Mum, as she endeavours to enjoy the festive break recovering from major surgery before starting chemotherapy are also very moving and memorable.

What does Laura Kirman bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

Laura Kirman uses changes in pace, tone and voice to bring the book to life. I really didn't want to switch off the audiobook!

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

There are so many moving moments in this story . . . the surprise at the Rotary Club event where Sam's Mum is so brave . . . Sam's support as Ava contacts her Dad . . . . Ava's Dad coming to the rescue . . . . Sam's reaction to Ava's automatic suspicion . . . . and when Sam realises just how he reacted and endeavours to put things right again. Sorry, don't want to give any more details as I don't like giving spoilers!

Any additional comments?

A great story dealing with some modern day issues in a sensitive and supportive manner, highlighting the feelings and guilt of victims and giving positive feedback to help them. Who'd think such trauma as cyber bullying, terminal illness and revenge porn could be included in an amazing, heartwarming, festive story? Personally, I though it was brilliant - I'll certainly look out for more stories by this author and more narrated by Laura Kirman!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good book spoiled!

I quite enjoyed the story even though it was fairly predictable, it did put across a good message regarding abusive behaviour that might well turn light bulbs on for some! However it was unfortunately spoiled by very poor narration.