Regular price: £14.49

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

The perfect summer romance from the author of A Christmas Tail. Perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan and Holly Martin.

Summer Freeman returns to the waterside village of Willowbeck to rescue the Canal Boat Café, her late mother's picturesque narrowboat, which has run into choppy waters. A family friend, Valerie, has been trying to keep things afloat, but the coffee machine is jammed, the cake offerings are paltry, and not all of the locals want to see the café succeed.

Help comes from the boat next door, in the shape of handsome wildlife photographer, Mason, and his naughty border terrier, who are showing more than a passing interest in Summer and her adorable bichon frise, Latte. But is Mason being honest about himself? Or does he have something to hide?

As her life and the community of Willowbeck begin to entwine, Summer finds herself setting sail on a new adventure. Will the anchor of a steady life on land be too strong, or can Summer learn to cut loose and embrace life afloat?

©2016 Cressida McLaughlin (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

Praise for Primrose Terrace: "A lovely, warm gem of a series that stays with you.... I loved it." (Alexandra Brown)
"Warm and wonderful...bursting with characters you'll adore." (Miranda Dickinson)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Long, easy listening

Nice long book for car journeys - a bit of excitement, mystery and romance. Very descriptive - a dash too much at times. But kept me wanting my journey to be a little longer so I could listen!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

lovely summery book...couldnt stop listening

lovely gentle story with warmth laughter and romance and of course dogs .....a wonderful listen

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this book...

This book was really good, there were enough different things going on to keep it enjoyable as well as keeping the reader engaged. It was a nice easy going book, and I'd read/listen to it again :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

believable characters. good story. clear narration with pleasant voice. I really enjoyed it. felt like I was there myself along the river and wished I could pop out to Summer's cafe for a cake.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Spell binding

Fell in love with the characters and found myself telling them what to do was a shame when the book ended

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • A
  • 22-03-17

lovely story

not a great fan of the narrator but the story was brilliant couldnt stop listening

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Relaxing listen, a hug in a book

Would you listen to The Canal Boat Café again? Why?

No, I rarely listen to a story again.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Canal Boat Café?

The description of the fire on the boat.

What does Jessica Ball bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

The narrator has a pleasant voice to listen to.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

No.