Regular price: £4.59

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

A short story for fans of Jodi Picoult and Anita Shreve. Step into the fragile domestic world of Roar and discover the unforgettable voice of Nicole Trope, best-selling author of The Secrets in Silence, Three Hours Late and The Boy Under the Table.

The baby sleeps peacefully, filled with milk and contentment. The man on the bed breathes his way into the darkness, filled with rage. Was there ever really a choice?

From the queen of searing family drama and suspense comes a short story about the fierce bonds between mother and child, the things we sacrifice to protect the ones we love and the desperate choices we make when there's nowhere left to run.

©2014 Nicole Trope (P)2016 Audible, Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Interesting

This was a really interesting short story concerning domestic abuse and breaking points. There’s not much I can say without spoilering it, but it was incredible.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • happyjo
  • 10-07-18

Roar

This book is unique. A very short story with an abrupt ending which left my feelings up in the air. I am not sure if I liked this story.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 21-02-18

Annoying Ending

This book does not deliver on the suspense it builds up. The narrator’s “roar” at the end was very annoying. Not satisfied with the ending; there could have been more to this short story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • SkinnyTurtle
  • 31-07-17

Hard to follow, but very captivating.

I loved being invited into this poor abused woman's world. I found the story a bit hard to follow, but listening to it twice was a treat.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 30-05-17

suprising!!!

This went decidedly left when I thought it woyld go right. Lol. Don't push people cause you never know just how close to the edge they may be....

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Cecily
  • 08-05-17

Describes desperate murder

This was a really sad and cowardly way to get out of this situation. This tells a story of a woman who married a man seeking self worth. And didn't have the means or the courage to get out and away when she really needed to. What is even sadder is that so many parents stop parenting and fail to tell their married children, especially their daughters, that they still have so much potential. Our children should be independent and strong before they ever marry a loving equal to share an amazing life with. Also, that older couple had a surprise child and didn't have anything saved up to give her or a life insurance in her name. Yes, I'm angry at this story for showing such depth of desperation, yet thankful to the author for highlighting these particular problems.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Christina
  • 11-04-17

Strength

True love of a mother and strength to move on. the only choice she could make.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Love2Read
  • 23-02-17

Wow!

What does Susan Strafford bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Her narration adds to the tension of the story. Her well-paced narration ups the suspense.

Who was the most memorable character of Roar and why?

The mother

Any additional comments?

Wow! This very short audio book was crammed with attention grabbing detail and tension. The story set my nerves on end, and the narration ramped that up several notches in it's delivery. It was perfect in almost every way.

My one question concerns the use of insulin. The protagonist goes to her mother's every day to inject her with insulin, so her mother won't have to do it herself. There's no mention of blood testing. I wonder whether it's a common practice to do a once a day insulin injection like that? Isn't it supposed to be dosed based on blood glucose levels, amount of food eaten, and activity level? Other than that one small thing, I think this was a great book and would recommend it to those who love mystery, thriller, and suspense books.

Highly recommended!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ms Mills
  • 28-01-17

Decent short story, worth a listen

I wasn't blown away by this, but not sorry that I purchased as a daily deal.