We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
Leave Me Audiobook

Leave Me

Regular Price:£20.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For every woman who has ever fantasized about driving past her exit on the highway instead of going home to make dinner, for every woman who has ever dreamed of boarding a train to a place where no one needs constant attention - meet Maribeth Klein, a harried working mother who's so busy taking care of her husband and twins, she doesn't even realize she's had a heart attack.

Afterward, surprised to discover that her recuperation seems to be an imposition on those who rely on her, Maribeth does the unthinkable: She packs a bag and leaves. But, as is so often the case, once she gets to where she's going, she sees her life from a different perspective. Far from the demands of family and career, and with the help of liberating new friendships, Maribeth is finally able to own up to secrets she has been keeping from those she loves - and from herself.

With big-hearted characters who stumble and trip, grow and forgive, Leave Me is about facing our fears. Gayle Forman, a dazzling observer of human nature, has written an irresistible novel that confronts the ambivalence of modern motherhood head-on.

©2016 Gayle Forman (P)2016 Recorded Books

What the Critics Say

"Eva Kaminsky's narration is at once uniquely emotional and quietly familiar.... Each character in this novel has his or her own voice, thanks to Kaminsky's skill. Personalities emerge with nuances of timbre and tone.... Listeners will be reluctant to leave." (AudioFile)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (3 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.3 (3 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.0 (3 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Allison Wakefield
    01/03/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I used to love this author."

    She does a great job of keeping my interest, but this story never took off. It didn't 'go' anywhere. Pretty disappointing.

    24 of 27 people found this review helpful
  • deborah
    17/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great narrator, weak story"

    I love this author's young adult books. But she doesn't translate as well into adult fiction. The story was weak and the main character so unsympathetic. Characters were contrived. Narrator was outstanding.

    29 of 33 people found this review helpful
  • Courtney Rizer
    05/01/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "That Ending???"

    All I can say is I hope that there is a second part of this book. So many questions :(

    15 of 17 people found this review helpful
  • The Reading Date
    CA, United States
    21/09/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Emotional, Satisfying, All the Feels"

    Gayle Forman is one of my favorite YA authors, and so I was thrilled to see her make her Adult debut with Leave Me. She brings “all the feels” we’ve come to expect from her work in this new venture. Leave Me centers around an overworked magazine editor/wife/mom who takes drastic measures to reclaim her life when she has a heart attack at 44. She picks up and leaves everyone behind to take charge of her own recovery when she can’t get a break at home.

    Maribeth works full-time at her lifestyle magazine job, manages the household and takes charge of her preschool-age twins. Her husband works long hours and assumes a less active role at home. When Maribeth has a sudden heart attack, the pieces of their lives start to unravel. Husband Jason enlists Maribeth’s mother to help pick up the slack, but she is not as supportive to Maribeth or her family as she could be. When a lice outbreak strikes both twins at once, Maribeth has had enough.She leaves everything behind to take charge of her recovery.

    Forman makes Maribeth’s story so relatable with showing the exhaustion and stresses of trying to do it all. It’s hard to imagine leaving your kids behind but given her situation it didn’t seem that she had much choice. Maribeth’s story of self-discovery is fulfilling and satisfying and felt very real but still like an escape.

    Eva Kaminsky is a new-to-me narrator, and she is a good fit for Leave Me. She conveyed the stresses in Maribeth’s life well so it was easy to understand Maribeth’s desire to leave for some much-needed R&R. Kaminsky’s voice lent the appropriate emotional tone for this journey and made each character sound distinct. I did speed up the pace to 1.5x to better suit my taste and that worked well. This is an audiobook I didn’t want to put down.

    Fans of Forman’s YA books should give this one a try, and also recommended for readers of authors like Karma Brown and Taylor Jenkins Reid.

    25 of 29 people found this review helpful
  • Laura Wahlers
    Western North Carolina
    10/03/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Heart attack causes self absorbed regression!"

    Unlike some of the reviews, I finished the whole thing. It only got worse. Parenthood's middle name is sacrifice, which Mary Beth seemed to forget. I can understand burnout, but this was irritating, not sympathy inducing. The ending was rushed. Just take a pass. Go find a better book.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Marge
    03/10/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautiful read!"

    This book draws you in quickly with it's twists and turns but you'll like it... I promise. The subject is fascinating and I really did want to see what is the outcome.
    I did question some of her moves but I don't know what I would do in that situation (not a mother myself). It was a touching book and really fast read.

    9 of 12 people found this review helpful
  • Sarah
    Florida, USA
    12/01/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disliked main character"

    The only reason I finished this book was because it was a book club pick. The main character is annoying and self-important. I could not see her point of view, which was either due to lack of explanation by the author or my own inability to get past the fact that she just left her kids. Either way; get over yourself Maribeth.

    24 of 35 people found this review helpful
  • T. L. Oksner
    Central Coast, CA
    19/03/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Lacking "

    I liked the narrator and found elements of the story interesting/ relatable. But overall I struggled to accept how one- dimensional the characters were and how unlikely a devoted mom would be to leave her two children. The ending was absolutely unsatisfying.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • D
    11/03/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable"

    It's light reading (listening), and nothing wrong with that. I thought the story was believable enough, the characters made me care about them, I had a tear or two well up in my eye, so, yes, a good choice as "Deal of the Day", probably not for a subscription purchase.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Mary Nolan
    15/10/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Mixed Reaction"

    This is a story where a mother makes a hard decision for herself and you have mixed reactions to her decision. It all comes together at the end but there was a difficult read at times.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.