We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
Hum If You Don't Know the Words Audiobook

Hum If You Don't Know the Words

Regular Price:£30.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of The Secret Life of Bees and The Help, a perceptive and searing look at Apartheid-era South Africa, told through one unique family brought together by tragedy.

Life under Apartheid has created a secure future for Robin Conrad, a 10-year-old white girl living with her parents in 1970s Johannesburg. In the same nation but worlds apart, Beauty Mbali, a Xhosa woman in a rural village in the Bantu homeland of the Transkei, struggles to raise her children alone after her husband's death. Both lives have been built upon the division of race, and their meeting should never have occurred...until the Soweto Uprising, in which a protest by black students ignites racial conflict, alters the fault lines on which their society is built, and shatters their worlds when Robin's parents are left dead and Beauty's daughter goes missing.

After Robin is sent to live with her loving but irresponsible aunt, Beauty is hired to care for Robin while continuing the search for her daughter. In Beauty, Robin finds the security and family that she craves, and the two forge an inextricable bond through their deep personal losses. But Robin knows that if Beauty finds her daughter, Robin could lose her new caretaker forever, so she makes a desperate decision with devastating consequences. Her quest to make amends and find redemption is a journey of self-discovery in which she learns the harsh truths of the society that once promised her protection.

Told through Beauty's and Robin's alternating perspectives, the interwoven narratives create a rich and complex tapestry of the emotions and tensions at the heart of Apartheid-era South Africa. Hum If You Don't Know the Words is a beautifully rendered look at loss, racism, and the creation of family.

©2017 Bianca Marais (P)2017 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (4 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.5 (4 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
3.0 (4 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Cedric 28/08/2017
    Cedric 28/08/2017 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Astonishing"

    This book is captivating and tells a very gripping story about SA's troubled past and what is still struggles with in the present!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Millie
    Helotes, TX, United States
    24/11/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "So, so"

    Not enough substance and many unbelievable situations and dialogues from a ten year old child. Just an ok story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Jill Berkowitz
    Baltimore, MD USA
    22/11/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful story. Dreadful accents"

    I am an exSouth African. For the most part the accents were fine but there were crucial words like ‘braai’ that were so mangled as to be unrecognizable. Surely there might be an editor who can check pronunciation?

    The book was very good it took me back to such a painful time that I often found myself weeping.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • snowpatch100
    16/10/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Miss the characters already"

    I must admit, I purchased this book based on the title and cover which are great. But there is so much more inside. I'm lost now that I have finished listening to this audiobook. What am I going to read next? I fell in love with the characters, and want to hear more of their stories. The narrators were superb and I loved the inclusion of Beauty's native tongue. All in all probably the best audiobook in my vast collection.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Judy
    Cleburne, TX, United States
    22/09/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best book I read all year!"

    loved it! But why do they have to include all the f word's and cuss words. the book would have been perfect it your app could beep out the F Words at least. the story would have been just as believable! I could not turn it off!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Kmjcimorelli@juno.com
    Philadelphia, PA United States
    23/08/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "It is just a bit not believable"

    The story starts fine. Beauty's story is believable but as far as Robin, the 10 year old, she just has thoughts and does things that an adult reader will find hard to buy into. It seems like it is more an adventure/spy novel for a tween/teen than a serious adult novel about apartheid.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Cynthia Siegfried
    Germantown, TN
    04/08/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best of the Summer"
    Where does Hum If You Don't Know the Words rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    In the top three


    Any additional comments?

    The narration was superb. This is definitely one that is better as an audio.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Shayne
    25/07/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Riveting, funny and pertinent!"

    Brilliantly written. Great use of language and humour. I loved the story and look forward to the follow up.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Reading
    19/07/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic Story"

    What a beautiful story told about the turmoil of a 10-year old white girl and a 50-year old black lady during the apartheid years in South Africa. I had moments of laughter and sorrow ... beautiful!

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.