We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
Honestly Ben Audiobook

Honestly Ben

Regular Price:£18.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In this companion to Openly Straight, Ben confronts pressure at school, repression at home, and his passion for two very different people in figuring out what it takes to be Honestly Ben.

Ben Carver is back to normal. He's working steadily in his classes at the Natick School. He just got elected captain of the baseball team. He's even won a full scholarship to college, if he can keep up his grades. All that foolishness with Rafe Goldberg the past semester is in the past.

Except...there's Hannah, the gorgeous girl from the neighboring school, who attracts him and distracts him. There's his mother, whose quiet unhappiness Ben is noticing for the first time. School is harder, the pressure higher, the scholarship almost slipping away. And there's Rafe, funny, kind, dating someone else...and maybe the real normal that Ben needs.

Perfect for fans of David Levithan, Andrew Smith, and John Green, Honestly Ben is a smart, laugh-out-loud novel that will speak to anyone who's struggled to be "honestly ____" in some part of their lives.

©2017 Bill Konigsberg (P)2017 Scholastic Inc.

What the Critics Say

"Dan Bittner's narration develops the unique personality of 17-year-old Ben, a secondary character in Konigsberg's earlier book Openly Straight.... In this follow-up, Bittner quickly reveals Ben's intelligence and introspection.... In a complex portrait, Bittner captures Ben's confused central conflict - is he gay, or straight, or is he only 'gay-for-Rafe'? Keeping the plot engaging, Bittner highlights Ben's search for his identity." (AudioFile)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (4 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.0 (3 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.3 (4 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Jim S
    09/05/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Better than the first book in the series!"

    Maybe because Ben is grappling with his bisexuality, his character is more complex and interesting than Rafe's.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Ben
    USA
    12/07/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow."
    What made the experience of listening to Honestly Ben the most enjoyable?

    At first, it was a little jarring since the narrator was different, but I got used to it. I loved that Ben felt real. He didn't become who he wasn't in order to make a good story. He stayed himself the entire time, discovering more things about himself in every chapter. (Trying to keep it spoiler-free.)


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Probably the last hour-and-a-half of the book.It kind of toyed with my emotions.


    Any additional comments?

    Read/listen to the first book. Then read/listen to this one. The first book is great. This one is better. I don't care what your sexuality is. This book addresses so many important issues and does so well.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • chris
    05/12/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Better than the first. Just enough of everything."

    I enjoyed the first book, but LOVED this one. The change in narrator was a good move. He brought all the characters to life and in many ways elevated them to a new level. The journey of Ben was realistic, flawed and youthful just like you would imagine a 17-year-old high school guy who's struggling with his identity. The first book dealt mostly with cookie cutter behavior you would expect to find for this type of journey. Rafe's (problem) was also a bit self-centered and it was difficult to be sympathetic. Focusing on Ben this time around was a brilliant move because he has more substance and problems that are more relatable. The author somehow managed to deal with all the annoyances Rafe continued to demonstrate through Ben which was fantastic.

    The journey for Ben and the other characters was very enjoyable. The subset of characters was also worked in at the right times.

    I can't say enough good things about this book. I'm going to miss Ben, Rafe, and the gang. I hope there is another book in the series maybe in college. There is definitely more story to tell as both Ben, Rafe, Toby, and Albie continue to grow.

    It's rare when the second book blows the first away, but this is definitely the case here. In theory, you could skip the first book, but because they are both character driven books, you won't really appreciate things as much if you bypass it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • George
    29/10/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I'll keep reading"

    This deals with issues I have never seen attempted in LGBTQ literature before. it's sweet and sexy and shockingly profound. okay...the protagonist is unrealistically "good" and the relationships are way more mature than they would be, but I love this as a utopian escape. I was able to cast these characters from people from my own young life. I'll keep listening if Konigsberg keeps writing.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Robby
    25/10/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Different Voices"

    Great like the first one. I think the label which was avoided is demisexual, not that any label fits perfectly to anything, but it concerns about emotion preceding actual sexual attraction. I was a little nervous about the changing perspectives, but nothing was lost about the real story. It's almost annoying the amount of connectivity, me and Rafer have the same thoughts on the barrier to makes, and Ben and I are hold it in guys. Anyway great book, I just wish the narrators could have been the same, a couple of the voices were really hard to get used to. I didn't want this story to end. it would be cool if there's a third volume with them actually navigating their new lives at the school, and maybe Ben interacting with his family situation.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Kristina
    ORANGE, CA, United States
    05/10/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good read"

    Thought provoking and honest. The writing doesn't really remind me of teenage boys, but a lot of the shenanigans do. Worth a listen.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • kindle
    12/05/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "#TeamKonigsberg"

    Was always available at a moments notice and off-line playback was a plus. 💙 It

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Rewa
    13/04/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing book"

    Honestly Ben is an amazi g book because it makes you think and there are many moments in this book that you can relate to but can't in other books

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.