We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
Asking for It Audiobook

Asking for It

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In a small town where everyone knows everyone, Emma O'Donovan is different. She is the special one - beautiful, popular, powerful. And she works hard to keep it that way. Until that night....

Now she's an embarrassment. Now she's just a slut. Now she is nothing. And those pictures - those pictures that everyone has seen - mean she can never forget.

For fans of Caitlin Moran, Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult. The award-winning, best-selling novel about the life-shattering impact of sexual assault, rape and how victims are treated.

Book of the Year at the Irish Book Awards 2015

©2015 Louise O'Neill (P)2017 WF Howes Ltd.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (39 )
5 star
 (21)
4 star
 (12)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.1 (33 )
5 star
 (17)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.3 (32 )
5 star
 (21)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Scott_T 21/04/2017
    Scott_T 21/04/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An emotional, heart wrenching story"

    A beautifully complex story that gets to the heart of many issues facing society today.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rachel 08/05/2017
    Rachel 08/05/2017 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Scalpel to Irish culture"

    You'll never think about home the same way again. It's an uncomfortable read at times but very on the bone

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Louise Clarke 18/05/2017
    Louise Clarke 18/05/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Could have listened to 10 more chapters"

    Slow to start but such an incredible read/listen, the way Louise writes to make you feel deeply for this character is incredible, a book every young woman needs to read.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bryan 02/05/2017
    Bryan 02/05/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "superb insight "

    superb insight into the dark, gossip ridden, emotionally manipulating imprisonment of the modern Irish mindset

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ann D Newcastle, England 02/07/2017
    Ann D Newcastle, England 02/07/2017 Member Since 2014

    Retired Psychologist Love reading/audiobooks, travelling, animals Favourite saying The fact that you believe something does not make it true

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1049
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    333
    315
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    135
    12
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Compelling!"

    I wasn't sure I would continue with this after the 6th chapter or so. However, a little further on and it became very interesting. The protagonist is not a likeable character. Nevertheless, it was easy to empathise with her. The story is an excellent analysis of the emotional and interactional fall-out of the awful event. It is dark in many ways. Despite this, in the later chapters, I literally could not put it down. The story itself loses one star for me because the ending felt inadequate. I don't mind a book ending without all of the threads tied-up, but this cried out for another couple of chapters. Aoife McMahon is always an excellent narrator, but she excelled herself here. Truly exceptional narration.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Xanthe Crewe 02/05/2017
    Xanthe Crewe 02/05/2017 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointing ending"

    Not sure if I liked the conclusion to this book felt like it needed another few chapters

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.