We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
Apocalypticon Audiobook

Apocalypticon

Regular Price:£28.79
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Three years have passed since the Jamaicans caused the apocalypse, and things in post-Armageddon Chicago have settled into a new kind of normal. Unfortunately, that "normal" includes collapsing skyscrapers, bands of bloodthirsty maniacs, and a dwindling cache of survival supplies. After watching his family, friends, and most of the non-sadistic elements of society crumble around him, Patrick decides it's time to cross one last item off his bucket list. He's going to Disney World.

This hilarious, heartfelt, gut-wrenching odyssey through post-apocalyptic America is a pilgrimage peppered with peril, as fellow survivors Patrick and Ben encounter a slew of odd characters, from zombie politicians and deranged survivalists to a milky-eyed oracle who doesn't have a lot of good news. Plus, it looks like Patrick may be hiding the real reason for their mission to the Magic Kingdom.

©2014 Clayton Smith (P)2016 Tantor

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (5 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.3 (4 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.8 (4 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amazon Customer 16/03/2017 Member Since 2017
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved It!"

    Absolutely loved this book!
    The narrator did an excellent job of bringing these the author's brilliant story to life, probably gunna listen again....and again...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Sean Dustman
    Oak Harbor
    21/12/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fans of John Dies in the End, Zombieland"

    The Jamaicans have caused the world and one of the two heroes of this story, Patrick has decided that he was wanted to make that trip he had always planned to Disney World from Chicago and take his trusty sidekick Ben along for the journey.

    Something that isn't mentioned anywhere in the book, everybody has their own flavor of craziness. The book is a travel journal funny, sad and full of dark humor interspaced with pop culture references in brought about in ways that are unexpected. Barry Bonds makes a great cameo which I totally agree with.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • mysti5000
    23/08/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "more for young man than middle aged woman."

    did make me laugh out loud on several occasions. ok story. I think I know young men like these two. narrator very good with voices.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Forrest
    10/01/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Kinship"

    Apocalypticon was a surreal vacation to Disney World. What else are you going to do after the apocalypse? The banter between Ben and Patrick is good for a laugh and you never knew where the author was going to take a pit stop at next and what will be there when he does. This is a good read if you're looking for something not too serious, decent story development, and plenty of pop culture references. By the end of the trip I wasn't ready to leave. I thought the narrator did a great job with differentiating the Protagonists voices.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    26/01/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not what you think it is"

    The reason I gave this book one star, is because I thought it was about the apocalypse. It is not, it is a comedy and it is damn funny. If you want to readA funny book, you'll like this.

    0 of 4 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.