Regular price: £30.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

Three years have passed since the Jamaicans caused the apocalypse, and things in post-Armageddon Chicago have settled into a new kind of normal. Unfortunately, that "normal" includes collapsing skyscrapers, bands of bloodthirsty maniacs, and a dwindling cache of survival supplies. After watching his family, friends, and most of the non-sadistic elements of society crumble around him, Patrick decides it's time to cross one last item off his bucket list. He's going to Disney World.

This hilarious, heartfelt, gut-wrenching odyssey through post-apocalyptic America is a pilgrimage peppered with peril, as fellow survivors Patrick and Ben encounter a slew of odd characters, from zombie politicians and deranged survivalists to a milky-eyed oracle who doesn't have a lot of good news. Plus, it looks like Patrick may be hiding the real reason for their mission to the Magic Kingdom.

©2014 Clayton Smith (P)2016 Tantor

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved It!

Absolutely loved this book!
The narrator did an excellent job of bringing these the author's brilliant story to life, probably gunna listen again....and again...

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sean Dustman
  • 21-12-16

Fans of John Dies in the End, Zombieland

The Jamaicans have caused the world and one of the two heroes of this story, Patrick has decided that he was wanted to make that trip he had always planned to Disney World from Chicago and take his trusty sidekick Ben along for the journey.

Something that isn't mentioned anywhere in the book, everybody has their own flavor of craziness. The book is a travel journal funny, sad and full of dark humor interspaced with pop culture references in brought about in ways that are unexpected. Barry Bonds makes a great cameo which I totally agree with.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • mysti5000
  • 23-08-17

more for young man than middle aged woman.

did make me laugh out loud on several occasions. ok story. I think I know young men like these two. narrator very good with voices.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Forrest
  • 10-01-17

Kinship

Apocalypticon was a surreal vacation to Disney World. What else are you going to do after the apocalypse? The banter between Ben and Patrick is good for a laugh and you never knew where the author was going to take a pit stop at next and what will be there when he does. This is a good read if you're looking for something not too serious, decent story development, and plenty of pop culture references. By the end of the trip I wasn't ready to leave. I thought the narrator did a great job with differentiating the Protagonists voices.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 26-01-17

Not what you think it is

The reason I gave this book one star, is because I thought it was about the apocalypse. It is not, it is a comedy and it is damn funny. If you want to readA funny book, you'll like this.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful