Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • Evacuees at the Wartime Bookshop

  • The Wartime Bookshop, Book 4
  • By: Lesley Eames
  • Narrated by: Polly Edsell
  • Length: 11 hrs and 17 mins
  • 5.0 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Evacuees at the Wartime Bookshop cover art

Evacuees at the Wartime Bookshop

By: Lesley Eames
Narrated by: Polly Edsell
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Wartime Bookshop cover art
The Girls of Bomber Command cover art
Reporting for Duty cover art
The Three Sisters of Victory Walk cover art
The Clarks Factory Girls at War cover art
The Home Front Girls cover art
Wartime with the Cornish Girls cover art
A Wedding at Mulberry Lane cover art
The Library Girls of the East End cover art
The Shop Girls of Harpers cover art
A New Doctor at Orchard Cottage Hospital cover art
The Dover Café at War cover art
The Railway Girls cover art
Finding Friends on Beamer Street cover art
The Nurse's War cover art
The Nurses of Eastby End cover art

Summary

Brought to you by Penguin.

Catch up with Alice, Kate and Naomi in the fourth book in
The Wartime Bookshop series

January, 1942: Victoria is looking for a life away from the dangers of wartime London for herself and two orphaned children. Her search takes her to Churchwood in Hertfordshire which looks ideal, but the village residents are already dealing with their own problems . . .

Alice is working hard to get the village bookshop back up and running after the previous premises were destroyed. The new building is in urgent need of repair and a builder has been hired, but where is he and where is the money he was paid?

Kate is struggling to work out the next steps in her relationship with pilot Leo. Will he expect her to meet his parents? Knowing they are rich and elegant, Kate suspects they'd want their son's sweetheart to be the same - not a country bumpkin like her with barely a penny to her name.

Meanwhile, Naomi shows kindness to Victoria and her evacuees but is she biting off more than she can chew, especially when she is confronted with a surprising intruder . . .

With so much trouble and uncertainty in the village, can Victoria and her little family find the safe haven they crave?

Evacuees at the Wartime Bookshop is the third novel in the uplifting Wartime Bookshop series, perfect for fans of Donna Douglas and Elaine Everest

©2024 Lesley Eames (P)2024 Penguin Audio

What listeners say about Evacuees at the Wartime Bookshop

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.