Listen free for 30 days

Eliza and Her Monsters

Narrated by: Caitlin Kelly, Kate Rudd
Length: 8 hrs and 51 mins
Categories: Young Adults, Ages 13 & Up
4.5 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

“A love letter to fandom, friendship, and the stories that shape us, Eliza and Her Monsters is absolutely magical.” (Marieke Nijkamp, New York Times best-selling author of This Is Where It Ends)

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble.

Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl meets Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona in this acclaimed novel about art, fandom, and finding the courage to be yourself. “A must-have.” (School Library Journal

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. 

Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built - her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity - begins to fall apart. 

Will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl. 

Young Adult Library Services Association Best Book

Best Fiction for Young Adults Top Ten

Kirkus Best Book

Texas Tayshas Pick

©2019 Francesca Zappia (P)2019 HarperAudio

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Long time

Had this on my tbr for a long timeand it saddens me mow I didn't get to this sooner. It was a great story with a true cannt put me down kinda feel. I loved her quirky relationship with society and just how the book flowed.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Did it’s best but struggled to translate illustrations into audio

Took me a while to realise that there were illustrations in the paper copy of the book that the audiobook was transcribing. Obviously no fault of the audiobook, I just now feel as though I missed half the charm of the book by listening to it instead of reading it. Still enjoyed the story, devoured it in 3 days but might see if I can grab a copy from the library to see what I missed. Also the message conversations being read out killed me, something else that I didn’t feel like translated well into audio format

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great

This story was great. I couldn't stop listening to
it. The performance helped me get immersed in the world.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 15-06-19

Just...... Breathtaking

I haven't had so much heartache for a character in a book in so long, it's refreshing, sad even though it ended up being beautiful , and I don't even know how to put it into words. The way the story completely turns around is, well, seriously intense. Being able to watch the story in my head truly puts the authors talent for what they do on top of my list of best authors. Being able to vividly picture as Eliza starts to learn to love life, being able to feel her reality shatter around her, and being able to watch as she finds the strength, tho that may not be the best way to describe it, to pull through is simply breathtaking. I always feel as if I can picture a story as I listen to it, but never in so much detail. My favorite secne in the book, even though it starts off terrible morally, is the one where she is in her car, staring at the turn. When I listened to it the first time I had to double check that the book still had more to go before the end, and normally I consider it to be taboo to look at how much is left before finishing a book for the first time, because it can lead to being able to predict what will happen next, and it can ruin a story for me, but I was terrified that the book could be over just like that, on such a horrible note. Listening to Eliza make up her mind to go home was one of the biggest reliefs I've ever had with a book, it was like I had been holding my breath till that moment. Then when Wallace showed up, and hearing the fear in his voice, the love in it, just melted my heart.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Victor
  • Victor
  • 12-08-19

A YA novel that grabbed me somehow

This book was recommended to me by a friend and when I started hearing it, I texted them “this is such YA fiction schlock” but along the way something strange happened, I needed to know what happens next, I needed to feel what this book made me felt.

Eliza and Her Monsters does a fantastic job of capturing feelings of being an outcast, of being a geek who’s world revolves around the internet, of feeling like this all you will ever know and it does it well. I’ll definitely recommend this book to not only young ones, but to also adults in their 20’s who was part of online fandoms (like I was for Harry Potter I admit shamefully) who want to recapture that feeling of being excited everyday for any sort of work they liked.

This book also tackles a lot of personal issues such as depression and handles it respectfully. I’m excited to see more from Ms. Zappia and I can’t wait to dive into more of her work.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christina
  • Christina
  • 16-07-19

Sweet Story

I really enjoyed this book. Eliza reminds me of a lot of teens now. Anxiety is a huge issue and this dealt with it beautifully. Strong, well written characters and a timely storyline. This book had it all. I didn't want to turn it off.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen Bowen
  • Karen Bowen
  • 13-05-19

I love this book

This story is so relatable for anyone who’s spent any time inside forums or fandoms. The performance is great the whole thing always leaves me in tears because of how incredible it is.