Listen free for 30 days

Death of an Old Girl

Pollard & Toye Investigations, Book 1
Narrated by: Colette Redgrave
Length: 8 hrs and 34 mins
4 out of 5 stars (12 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A classic cosy mystery from a master of the genre! Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, M C Beaton, Sophie Hannah and Faith Martin.

Shockwaves are sent through the sleepy village of Trill when a woman’s body is discovered in a local school. Beatrice Baynes - interfering, overbearing and spiteful - was not well liked. But no one expects a body to be found on their doorstep.... And how did the annual festival at Meldon School turn from a lighthearted celebration to a gruesome crime scene? 

With the local constabulary completely stumped, Scotland Yard’s Chief Detective Inspector Pollard and Detective Sergeant Toye are called in to investigate. But the further Pollard and Toye delve into their inquiries, the more complicated the case becomes....

Death of an Old Girl is the first cosy village mystery in the Pollard & Toye crime series: an intriguing police procedural set in rural England. 

©1967 Elizabeth Lemarchand (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

Critic reviews

"This is a real genuine police-detective story, and a first-class one at that...altogether I would call this a hundred-per-cent winner." (The Guardian)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Written Concurrently NOT A Retro Tale!

Annoyed by the style and vocabulary, was suddenly prompted to check the original publication date, 1967! This altered my whole perception and I settled down to ebjoy a genuine "period" piece. Basic detection with none of the accoutrements of modern "coppering". I hope you can take as much pleasure as I, someone for whom life of 50+ years ago remains very familiar.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Disappointing reading

A beguiling mystery spoilt by a reading that was much too fast, frequently wrongly punctuated and with too many mis-pronounced words

1 of 1 people found this review helpful