Listen free for 30 days

Death at Dearley Manor: A completely gripping cozy mystery

A Sukey Reynolds Mystery, Book 2
Narrated by: Katie Villa
Series: A Sukey Reynolds Mystery, Book 2
Length: 7 hrs and 32 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (42 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A gorgeous country house, surrounded by sweeping lawns, is warmed by the rising sun. But inside, the lady of the manor will not see the morning....

Police photographer Sukey Reynolds is called to investigate a seemingly routine break-in at the beautiful Dearley Manor estate, but when she arrives, she is shocked to find the body of someone she knows all too well. The owner of Dearley Manor is none other than the wealthy woman whom Sukey’s husband, Paul Reynolds, left her for...and she has been brutally murdered.

With her close personal connection, Sukey is officially pulled off the case. But as the police close in on Paul, convinced he is guilty, Sukey realises she has no choice but to try and prove his innocence. He may not have been the world’s best husband, but he’s no killer.

As she starts to dig around the dead woman’s history, Sukey realises she was certainly no saint, and many of her neighbours might have wanted the late owner of Dearley Manor out of the way....

When yet another woman on the Dearley Estate is found dead, Sukey fears that anyone who knows too much about the troubled family is in danger from a ruthless murderer. Can she prove Paul’s innocence before it’s too late? And will she be able to nail this brutal killer before another life is taken?

An absolutely gripping murder mystery for fans of P. D. James, Joy Ellis, and Faith Martin from the best-selling queen of cozy crime.

©1998 Betty Rowlands (P)2019 Hachette UK - Bookouture

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Definitely not gripping !

Not her best. A bit too long , far fetched and rambling. Melissa Craig series was much better.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Computer error

A reasonable story, but compounded with many holes in police procedure. One such is that we find Suki and Fergus hacking into the murdered woman's computerised business dealings. Surely the author should realise that such computers would be a primary means of evidence that the police would impound, and certainly wouldn't leave it lying around?

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-08-19

Disappointed in writer

In the Melissa Craig books and Sukey bilks, both ladies are having affairs with policemen. Could you write a book that this does not happen and that a courtship progresses to give some moral high ground to the characters, and show the reader that not everyone does this. Just my $.02

1 of 1 people found this review helpful