Try an audiobook on us

Dead in the Water: A Space Team Universe Novel

Dan Deadman Space Detective, Book 3
Narrated by: Phil Thron
Length: 9 hrs and 3 mins
5 out of 5 stars (46 ratings)
Regular price: £18.29
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Dan Deadman's afterlife just hit an all new low.

When a suspect explodes mid-interrogation and his office is taken over by an intergalactic despot, undead detective Dan Deadman reckons he's finally hit rock bottom.

Banished to a dangerous underground hostel network, Dan becomes embroiled in a mass-murder investigation that will take him from the bowels of Down Here to the depths of the ocean. As the clues run out and the case collapses around him, Dan discovers a sinister plot that could wipe out two whole civilizations, and plunge the planet of Parloo into an endless bloody war.

Featuring terrifying sea monsters, killer toilets, and an anatomically correct children's cartoon mascot who'll haunt your nightmares forever, Dead in the Water is the third book in the Dan Deadman Space Detective series and perfect for fans of Space Team, The Dresden Files, and tiny aggressive Irish fellas.

©2018 Barry J. Hutchison (P)2018 Barry J. Hutchison

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

More please Mr Hutchison

I have just finished the last in the Dan Deadman series listening to them back-to-back. I never want it to stop. The wonderful combination of characters from the imagination of the author brought vividly to life by Phil Thron are perfect.

I hope you will write and perform more.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love the whole series!

Really good books. Love the characters, the narrator is brilliant and Arter is just hilarious! All the Space Team books and Deadman spin offs are Fab x

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love Barry's work!

Barry J Hutchinson has become my favourite fonking author. And his books are made even better in narration.

I can't wait for his latest works to be read by Pill.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

simply brill

what can I say but amazing as ever has me in stitches and the cut outs at the end are just as good.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • singh
  • 16-11-18

Damn, Deadman! Back at it again!

Okay, so I don’t have the best titles to my reviews but Barry J. Hutchison really does have another hilarious and entertaining story to tell. Phil Thron does a MASTERFUL job with the Space Team Universe. His accents are perfect, his comic timing and tone, flawless.

I listen to podcasts and audiobooks for about 12-14 hours a day, almost every day and this is EASILY, the most laugh out loud, make a bad day better series I’ve found.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Q
  • 03-02-19

Love these books!

The out takes are totally hilarious, I don't know who's idea it was to add them but it's genius, absolute fonking genius! I really think sometimes the author is trying to make the narrator laugh!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KC
  • 31-01-19

May be better than the original series.

I love the Space Team series, but I may like this offshoot even more. Thron is perfect. Hope threre is many more to come.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • kelley fowler
  • 25-12-18

love space team

love all the characters, space team series is awesome, send the narrator is absolutely MARVELOUS. he's my favorite of all time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Monica
  • 24-11-18

Best series, Period!

One of the only series that makes me laugh out loud , good writing and above all, Phil Thron is Absolute BEST. The ending bloopers are funking hilarious!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Calista
  • 19-11-18

Just plain fun

Dan Deadman’s heart might be a shrivelled, desiccated mass of ...well...deadness but it’s still a heart of gold.
He’s tough, fearless and deceased but he’ll get the job done. Aided by his crossing dressing space leprechaun friend and an immensely powerful and totally naive girl.
Wonderful narration by Phil Thron as usual.
Read this book before The King of Space Must Die in the Space Team series.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Aquatic Toaster
  • 19-11-18

Can't wait!

it's time to dive in this exciting adventure! this story has been a pleasure and enjoyment to listen to and as I have listened to it 3 times now I can't wait for the next! I hope these audio books continue in their consistency and awesomeness thanks again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dawn
  • 12-02-19

love the voices

great book and the voices are spectacular. I like that there are bloopers at the end.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • STEVEN
  • 26-01-19

enjoyed, but like space team better

I enjoyed this title and series, but prefer the space team series a bit more. worth a credit, but definitely check out space team

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • thomas dye
  • 31-12-18

Dan Deadman is back!

Third in the series, and every bit as fun money and fast-paced as the best of his space team novels. Don't start with this novel, but if you start with the first one you will certainly get here in short order. Their funny or quirky and are easy to read.