Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Sometimes the rumors are true ....

In the hills of Kentucky, the people of Millersville lead a charmed life thanks to the city's biggest employer, Lee Creek Distilleries, and its sly CEO, Wilfred Lee. Until the one night things go sideways, and the town's favorite son, Kentucky basketball recruit Josh Hood, becomes a prime murder suspect.

When Atlanta reporter Cal Murphy and his wife, Kelly, make a stop in Millersville as a favor to a family friend to find out what's really going on, the powers that be frown on the attention. It doesn't take long before Cal and Kelly rile up the town and its corrupt law enforcement - and they find themselves fighting for their lives and livelihood in the pursuit of not only the truth but justice.

Fans of Nelson DeMille, John Sanford, Stieg Larsson, and Lee Child will enjoy this new book from best-selling author Jack Patterson.

©2014 Green E-Books (P)2015 Green E-Books

What listeners say about Dead Man's Curve

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

5 star reviews???

Ye Gods - this book had so many 5 star reviews on Amazon that I thought it would be good, the synopsis peaked my interest so I thought I'd give it a try.

I have never read such a load of dosh in my life. The writing was as if done by a teenager - everyone 'snickered' or 'giggled' or 'whimpered'. The hero 'Rubbed his stomach thinking of morning doughnuts, which were stale - but hit the spot'

There was no development of plot - this guy just changed his mind about who he thought the murderer was, because of an anonymous phone call telling him the accused was innocent.

At one stage a man held a room full of men at gunpoint, but took the time to read out loud a very long entry from a diary - nobody seemed to take the opportunity to overturn his power, even though he was supposedly holding them at gunpoint. The rescue was like something from a farce - absolutely hilarious. One man coming in and overpowering the guy with a gun - then another breaking in and overpowering the second man with a gun.

The characters were not developed - barely TWO dimensional - Goodness me - I could go on and on - but will spare you any more.

Must say - the reading was AWFUL too


I am still really puzzled by the 5* reviews.


2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wayne
  • Wayne
  • 06-05-16

Excellent suspense novel!

Dead Man's Curve is my first Jack Patterson novel. It is also Book 5 in the journalist Cal Murphy series. The book is about human sex slavery and basketball in Kentucky. The novel is much better than I expected. Narration is stellar.

As I wait the summer releases form the big name espionage thriller writers I'm sampling other books. Dead Man's Curve is one of them.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for B.McGrath
  • B.McGrath
  • 14-09-21

the ugly truths

Small town corruption is rampant in this tale. One cover up after another, and nothing is off limits. Good twist ending. I voluntarily listened to a free copy of this and am giving an honest review. The narrator did a good job bringing it to life.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susan Patterson
  • Susan Patterson
  • 09-06-21

Fast-paced

Held my attention throughout.

Bill Cooper did a great job narrating.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ellen  Oceanside
  • Ellen Oceanside
  • 04-04-21

Excellent

Cal Murphy and his wife as a favor stop at this small town that is corrupt beyond words. He gets more than a story and seeing what is going on and being run by a monster. Given audio for my voluntary review

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Barbara Tobey
  • Barbara Tobey
  • 23-07-15

Basketball rules!

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes, I would recommend this audiobook to a friend. It was an interesting mystery. It keeps one guessing.

What other book might you compare Dead Man's Curve to and why?

Some of the books by Harlan Corbin are about basketball or have references to it. I like those books and therefore I found this book enjoyable.

What about Bill Cooper’s performance did you like?

Great voice and easy to understand.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Several moments were touching.

Any additional comments?

A little preachy and I don't mean that in a religious way. Not a problem and not wrong or offensive, just a little long.