Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £11.99

Buy Now for £11.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Julia Chapman’s sixth Dales Detective Agency novel, Date with Deceit, sees Delilah going undercover at a shoot involving dangerous criminals. A pause-resisting cosy crime mystery, perfect for fans of Richard Osman’s The Thursday Murder Club and M.C. Beaton.

A woman in tears in the Dales Detective Agency is never the best way to start the week and when it's the town mayor's wife, asking the detective to investigate whether her husband is having an affair, Samson O’Brien and Delilah Metcalfe know they will have to tread carefully.

The case, however, proves to be more complex than even they had imagined. While Delilah is undercover at a local shoot to better keep tabs on the errant husband, she is on the scene for a fatal incident that sends the Yorkshire town into turmoil. Soon the detective duo are embroiled in a far more serious investigation than mere infidelity. Deceit is rife in Bruncliffe and it may well prove deadly....

Curl up with this delightful murder mystery, full of wit, warmth, and a cast of charming characters. Start the series with Date with Death. 

©2021 Julia Chapman (P)2021 Macmillan Publishers International Ltd

Critic reviews

"A classic whodunit set in the spectacular landscape of the Yorkshire Dales.... A satisfying read riddled with dry Yorkshire humour (and dry stone walls)." (Cath Staincliffe, author of the Scott & Bailey series)

What listeners say about Date with Deceit

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    107
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    107
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    99
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Still on top form.

Loved it but with intersecting story lines I got a bit lost in the middle. This deserves listening to a couple of times in order to get the events straight in your head, but then the series itself seems to be heading towards its climax. At least Samson & Delilah appear to be getting their act together, but PLEASE make the baddie (& you know who that is) get his comeuppance soon!!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another fantastic adventure in the Dales!

I only found this series in February, and listened to the first 5 books back to back, and so have been eagerly awaiting this latest one. As have, I'm sure, all of Julia Chapman's more long standing fans.
I listened to it all, avidly, in one day, which was wonderful, but now means a very frustratingly long wait to (I really hope) the next one!
Highly recommend listening to all of these in order, from start to finish. It would be possible to enjoy it without hearing the others first, but not there is a cleverly crafted underlying story arc, which would be much better enjoyed in full!
Roll on Samson & Delilah's next adventure!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Love every single one of this series! My favourite cosy mystery series! Can't wait for the next one!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great seties by Julia chapman

love this series just want to get the next one. The caracters are real the story gripping. The narrater brings the story alive.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A brilliant series - growing with each instalment

I’d throughly recommend the Dales Detective Agency Series. The quality has grown with each book. I love Boyd, Kerr, Le Carre, Camilleri, Ben Aaronvitch, Lee Child, Galbraith, Horowitz and Follett and come to these books from that direction - they are much lighter than some of those more at the Beaton, James Runcie end of the market. The setting is glorious. The characters are familiar and quirky and readers will invest in them. The background story has been very neatly plotted so far.
It’s coming to the point though where Samson’s career situation needs to resolved, Rick’s fate must be sealed and Samson and Delilah have to move on to the next step!
Once that has all been resolved it will be interesting to see where Julia Chapman takes the characters next.
The performance by Elizabeth Bower is great too. She has a very crisp style and a range of voices from Ida Capstick to Anna with some really hearty Yorkshire folk.
It’s been done before with Heartbeat and All Creatures … but here’s a wonderful tv series that seriously needs to be made to take these characters and this setting to a wider audience. There’s even a vet in it nicknamed Herriot! Meanwhile listen on Audible!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story

Gripping mystery set in Yorkshire, very enjoyable with touches of humour and many twists and turns to keep you guessing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

better and better ☺️

awesome. can't wait for the next one.....when will that be I wonder. hurry up Julia!