Listen free for 30 days

Cursed City

Shadow Detective, Book 1
Narrated by: Adam Verner
Series: Shadow Detective, Book 1
Length: 4 hrs and 16 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

My name is Mike Raven. I hunt nightmares.

Demons murdered my parents when I was eight. Turns out my folks were paranormal investigators, and hell always settles its scores. Naturally I decided to join the family business.

For two decades, I've studied the occult and traveled the world fighting monsters. Vampires. Shifters. Demons. Ghosts. I've faced them all. But my biggest challenge lay ahead....

From the moment Celeste stepped into my office, I knew she was in trouble. Black magic trouble. Her father had promised her soul to a powerful demon on the day she was born. Now, 21 years later, the forces of darkness were gathering to collect their long-awaited prize. 

Guess who's about to pick a fight with the devil himself....  

For fans of Supernatural, Constantine, Hellboy, Grimm, Buffy, Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden and Larry Correia's Monster Hunter International. Dark, urban fantasy collides with the supernatural, action thriller.

©2016 William Massa (P)2018 William Massa

What listeners say about Cursed City

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Awesome fast pace urban fantasy ! Along the lines of Constantine story line . A must read

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jared
  • Jared
  • 24-05-18

it's ok

So far as I cam tell, this is a meh attempt at the Dresden files and it only dreams of being monster Hunter International. It is not an awful book but it comes off as heavy handed for Christian faith and symbolism, feeling more like a staunch church goer is attempting to try a hand at the art of story telling but just can't seem to do better than, "demons bad and faith in God good."

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 09-10-20

Excellent start to a series.

Another great listen from the imagination of Micheal Massa. Really hope to see more of the series on Audible.