We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Unravelling Oliver Audiobook

Unravelling Oliver

Regular Price:£17.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Penguin presents the unabridged downloadable audiobook edition of Unravelling Oliver by Liz Nugent.

Winner - IBA Crime Fiction Book of the Year.

Liz Nugent's gripping audiobook of psychological suspense, Unravelling Oliver, is a complex and elegant study of the making of a sociopath in the tradition of Barbara Vine and Patricia Highsmith.

Oliver Ryan is a handsome and charismatic success story. He lives in the suburbs with his wife, Alice, who illustrates his award-winning children's books and gives him her unstinting devotion. Their life together is one of enviable privilege and ease - enviable until, one evening after supper, Oliver attacks Alice and beats her into a coma. In the aftermath, as everyone tries to make sense of his astonishing act of savagery, Oliver tells his story. So do those whose paths he has crossed over five decades. What unfolds is a story of shame, envy, breathtaking deception and masterful manipulation.

Only Oliver knows the lengths to which he has had to go to get the life to which he felt entitled. But even he is in for a shock when the past catches up with him.

Liz Nugent has worked in Irish film, theatre and television for most of her adult life. She is an award-winning writer of radio and television drama and has written short stories for children and adults.

Unravelling Oliver is her first novel.

©2017 Liz Nugent (P)2017 Penguin AudioBooks

What the Critics Say

"Truly excellent, beautifully written...strongly recommended." (Sophie Hannah)

"Compelling, clever and dark, unlike any other psychological thriller you will have read before...you'll gobble it up in one go." (Heat Magazine)

"Incredibly brilliant." (Marian Keyes)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (254 )
5 star
 (154)
4 star
 (72)
3 star
 (21)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.4 (234 )
5 star
 (141)
4 star
 (60)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (4)
Story
4.6 (234 )
5 star
 (162)
4 star
 (57)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    barbara 08/08/2017
    barbara 08/08/2017 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    122
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Different"

    Very good, completely different to what I would expect but very enjoyable listen , I wouldn't categorise the book in thrillers but it's interesting enough

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Simon Between a Pair of Headphones 28/07/2017
    Simon Between a Pair of Headphones 28/07/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4074
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    421
    412
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    636
    17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Engaging, Original and Very Well Crafted"

    Not for the first time recently I find myself debating what constitutes a thriller.  This one certainly opens with a real punch of an opening line which I won't quote because it is one of the most powerful moments in the book and one of the biggest "signals" towards the gradual unravelling of Oliver.  It's a single sentence that with a jolt takes you from your comfortable listening place into the mind of Oliver.  In those few words I realised that I was in the hands of a talented author. What follows is a classy set of narrators who take us through decades of history before and after that event to gradually disentangle the web of Oliver's life.

    It is simply a story and does not moralise or instruct, it merely guides us through a classic question of nature versus nurture.  It's largely very gentle but I found that the structure of the book was very well suited to the larger cast of narrators.  Mostly, and I am no great judge of accents, I felt they gave an authentic glimpse into an Ireland when prejudices against homosexuality and single mothers was considerably more prevalent.  It revealed how Oliver was forged between neglect, constraint and opportunity and where it took him and those he knew.

    I don't actually want to write more as this is a fairly brief and mostly gentle "human" tale that I really enjoyed.  The central character is one you will likely develop very strong views about though they will fluctuate because in the final analysis the purpose of the story is to form a judgement on him.  I'd call it engaging, original and very well crafted.  I wouldn't personally call it a "thriller", more of a "drama" as Nugent's approach to weaving the threads of her story is actually quite subtle in a mesmerising fashion.

    15 of 19 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cabaspre 10/08/2017
    Cabaspre 10/08/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    219
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    159
    120
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    27
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An astoundingly good second novel."
    Any additional comments?

    I so loved the debut book of Liz Nugent that I ordered and listened to this second novel directly after finishing the first. Sometimes the second book is difficult to live up to the hype of the first but this was even better. The main character in the novel is a very twisted, manipulative and sad person who seems to shatter lives around him. The narrators were all perfect. The main thing the story left me with was how very important ones relationship with their young children is and how their future lives pivot on this upbringing. I do hope I don't have to wait too long before Liz Nugent's next book.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    niamh bonner 06/08/2017
    niamh bonner 06/08/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    50
    38
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "the sins of the father...."

    what a great book. thoroughly entertaining. it travels along at a great pace. it develops characters in a sympathetic but not saccharin way. the language used is perfect for the time and place and it evokes great mental pictures. I thoroughly enjoyed the performance as well and would listen to the readers again in a heartbeat.
    Great book. (when's the follow up?)

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lemonypie 02/08/2017
    Lemonypie 02/08/2017 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant story, excellent performances"

    I loved this story and was hooked from the off. Emotionally engaging with well thought out characters and plot, highly recommended.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kirstine 04/09/2017
    Kirstine 04/09/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4089
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    626
    516
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2485
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Absorbing stories revealing a complex personality"

    From the start we know that Oliver has, to the great surprise of those who know him, savagely attacked his wife. However, this is not a crime novel, but more an in-depth analysis of why a man, with no history of violence, should explode in this way. Gradually his story is revealed in snippets gleaned from the testimony of those who know him and from his own thoughts. Although Oliver is a cold, unsympathetic character my attention never flagged and I was gripped by the slowly unfolding narrative and eager to learn more what made this man the person he turned out to be.

    The book has been compared to the kind of psychological approach favoured by Ruth Rendell and it is certainly more akin to that style than a simple crime novel.

    There are several narrators who voice the different characters and this adds veracity to the impression that this is a real story.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mrs. Karen Proctor Cardiff 05/08/2017
    Mrs. Karen Proctor Cardiff 05/08/2017 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    81
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Intriguing, clever and dark"

    Holds your attention throughout. Oliver is presented as a complex psychological study. My only criticism is the "voice" of Veronique. Why on earth would she have an Irish lily???

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Weliza 05/08/2017
    Weliza 05/08/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great listen! Highly recommended"
    Would you listen to Unravelling Oliver again? Why?

    Yes, a few years into the future.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    I did. I like to listen to audible books whilst doing my artwork, and I had a clear day to enjoy the book and my art. It was a satisfying listen.


    Any additional comments?

    Liz Nugent does write very well. Recommended read for this genre.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ann D Newcastle, England 01/08/2017
    Ann D Newcastle, England 01/08/2017 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1198
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    357
    337
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    159
    10
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent!"

    This is such a good book. The story is engaging from the first sentence. It is beautifully written, each chapter being an account from Oliver and from each of the main people whose lives his actions impact upon. I was a little dubious initially at the list of so many narrators, but each of them did an excellent job of voices one of the characters.

    5 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    FELICITY GAINARD 29/11/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    86
    24
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Different "

    Not what I expected at all , and can’t decide how I feel about this book . Certainly kept me listening and couldn’t wait to listen , but same time I’m not sure if I feel slightly disappointed.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.