We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Unravelling Oliver Audiobook

Unravelling Oliver

Regular Price:£17.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Penguin presents the unabridged downloadable audiobook edition of Unravelling Oliver by Liz Nugent.

Winner - IBA Crime Fiction Book of the Year.

Liz Nugent's gripping audiobook of psychological suspense, Unravelling Oliver, is a complex and elegant study of the making of a sociopath in the tradition of Barbara Vine and Patricia Highsmith.

Oliver Ryan is a handsome and charismatic success story. He lives in the suburbs with his wife, Alice, who illustrates his award-winning children's books and gives him her unstinting devotion. Their life together is one of enviable privilege and ease - enviable until, one evening after supper, Oliver attacks Alice and beats her into a coma. In the aftermath, as everyone tries to make sense of his astonishing act of savagery, Oliver tells his story. So do those whose paths he has crossed over five decades. What unfolds is a story of shame, envy, breathtaking deception and masterful manipulation.

Only Oliver knows the lengths to which he has had to go to get the life to which he felt entitled. But even he is in for a shock when the past catches up with him.

Liz Nugent has worked in Irish film, theatre and television for most of her adult life. She is an award-winning writer of radio and television drama and has written short stories for children and adults.

Unravelling Oliver is her first novel.

©2017 Liz Nugent (P)2017 Penguin AudioBooks

What the Critics Say

"Truly excellent, beautifully written...strongly recommended." (Sophie Hannah)

"Compelling, clever and dark, unlike any other psychological thriller you will have read before...you'll gobble it up in one go." (Heat Magazine)

"Incredibly brilliant." (Marian Keyes)

More from the same

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (69 )
5 star
 (48)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.6 (65 )
5 star
 (45)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (65 )
5 star
 (47)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Simon Waterlooville, UK 28/07/2017
    Simon Waterlooville, UK 28/07/2017 Member Since 2017

    A man with a child in his ears. @shutterspin

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2964
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    359
    355
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    506
    15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Engaging, Original and Very Well Crafted"

    Not for the first time recently I find myself debating what constitutes a thriller.  This one certainly opens with a real punch of an opening line which I won't quote because it is one of the most powerful moments in the book and one of the biggest "signals" towards the gradual unravelling of Oliver.  It's a single sentence that with a jolt takes you from your comfortable listening place into the mind of Oliver.  In those few words I realised that I was in the hands of a talented author. What follows is a classy set of narrators who take us through decades of history before and after that event to gradually disentangle the web of Oliver's life.

    It is simply a story and does not moralise or instruct, it merely guides us through a classic question of nature versus nurture.  It's largely very gentle but I found that the structure of the book was very well suited to the larger cast of narrators.  Mostly, and I am no great judge of accents, I felt they gave an authentic glimpse into an Ireland when prejudices against homosexuality and single mothers was considerably more prevalent.  It revealed how Oliver was forged between neglect, constraint and opportunity and where it took him and those he knew.

    I don't actually want to write more as this is a fairly brief and mostly gentle "human" tale that I really enjoyed.  The central character is one you will likely develop very strong views about though they will fluctuate because in the final analysis the purpose of the story is to form a judgement on him.  I'd call it engaging, original and very well crafted.  I wouldn't personally call it a "thriller", more of a "drama" as Nugent's approach to weaving the threads of her story is actually quite subtle in a mesmerising fashion.

    12 of 13 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ann D Newcastle, England 01/08/2017
    Ann D Newcastle, England 01/08/2017 Member Since 2014

    Retired Psychologist Love reading/audiobooks, travelling, animals Favourite saying The fact that you believe something does not make it true

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1057
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    335
    318
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    136
    12
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent!"

    This is such a good book. The story is engaging from the first sentence. It is beautifully written, each chapter being an account from Oliver and from each of the main people whose lives his actions impact upon. I was a little dubious initially at the list of so many narrators, but each of them did an excellent job of voices one of the characters.

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lemonypie 02/08/2017
    Lemonypie 02/08/2017 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant story, excellent performances"

    I loved this story and was hooked from the off. Emotionally engaging with well thought out characters and plot, highly recommended.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 19/08/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    41
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    98
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    26
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "brilliant"

    Loved this book, great humour in an otherwise dark story, I couldn't stop listening.
    The narrator's were all great too although the ladies French accent was pretty ropey!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mrs 18/08/2017
    Mrs 18/08/2017 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent narration and hauntingly sad story"

    This story gripped my attention the whole way and the different characters' stories intertwined well to keep the pace and your attention. A very sad story but well worth listening to . The narrators were all fantastic .

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    MrsDraWoo 14/08/2017
    MrsDraWoo 14/08/2017 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "predictable"

    Predictable and not the page turning thriller I was expecting. Interesting enough characters and well performed but I've been left feeling underwhelmed.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    S. Christie UK 14/08/2017
    S. Christie UK 14/08/2017 Member Since 2012

    Mum of three. Lover of mysteries and thrillers, shoes, genealogy and walking.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    89
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    69
    59
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    41
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it.. almost perfect"

    Great story. Great narration. So well written and completely unputdownable. I really enjoyed this book and would recommend. My only complaint is that it was too short. Would love to have Francis' ( Oliver's father) story included. Without it I feel slightly unsatisfied. Great read though, if you are considering buying but are not sure I would recommend. A great read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cabaspre 10/08/2017
    Cabaspre 10/08/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    207
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    144
    108
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    27
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An astoundingly good second novel."
    Any additional comments?

    I so loved the debut book of Liz Nugent that I ordered and listened to this second novel directly after finishing the first. Sometimes the second book is difficult to live up to the hype of the first but this was even better. The main character in the novel is a very twisted, manipulative and sad person who seems to shatter lives around him. The narrators were all perfect. The main thing the story left me with was how very important ones relationship with their young children is and how their future lives pivot on this upbringing. I do hope I don't have to wait too long before Liz Nugent's next book.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    barbara 08/08/2017
    barbara 08/08/2017 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    119
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Different"

    Very good, completely different to what I would expect but very enjoyable listen , I wouldn't categorise the book in thrillers but it's interesting enough

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    niamh bonner 06/08/2017
    niamh bonner 06/08/2017 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    27
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "the sins of the father...."

    what a great book. thoroughly entertaining. it travels along at a great pace. it develops characters in a sympathetic but not saccharin way. the language used is perfect for the time and place and it evokes great mental pictures. I thoroughly enjoyed the performance as well and would listen to the readers again in a heartbeat.
    Great book. (when's the follow up?)

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.