We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Unquiet Spirits: Whisky, Ghosts, Murder Audiobook

Unquiet Spirits: Whisky, Ghosts, Murder: A Sherlock Holmes Adventure

Regular Price:£12.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The new audiobook from the author of Art in the Blood.

December 1889. Fresh from debunking a 'ghostly' hound in Dartmoor, Sherlock Holmes has returned to London, only to find himself the target of a deadly vendetta.

A beautiful client arrives with a tale of ghosts, kidnapping and dynamite on a whisky estate in Scotland, but brother Mycroft trumps all with an urgent assignment in the South of France.

On the fabled Riviera, Holmes and Watson encounter treachery, explosions, rival French detective Jean Vidocq...and a terrible discovery. This propels the duo northward to the snowy highlands. There, in a 'haunted' castle and among the copper dinosaurs of a great whisky distillery, they and their young client face mortal danger, and Holmes realizes all three cases have blended into a single deadly conundrum.

In order to solve the mystery, the ultimate rational thinker must confront a ghost from his own past. But Sherlock Holmes does not believe in ghosts...or does he?

©2017 Bonnie MacBird (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What the Critics Say

"If the original 60 Holmes stories aren't enough for you, read Bonnie MacBird's Unquiet Spirits for another dram of the Great Detective. MacBird deftly blends a series of grisly murders and dark secrets from Holmes's past into a strong brew!" (Leslie S. Klinger, editor of The New Annotated Sherlock Holmes)

"A superb Sherlockian adventure. Bonnie MacBird's take on Holmes and Watson is inventive and true to the canon, a splendid blend of fast-paced action and detection in a deliciously gothic Highland setting. I can't wait for her next book." (Dana Cameron, BSI, Agatha, Anthony, and Macavity award-winning author of the Emma Fielding mysteries)

"Pour yourself a wee dram, toss another peat on the fire, and prepare to be swept up in the great detective's Highland fling. MacBird's spooky, scholarly, thoroughly 'spirited' follow up to Art in the Blood is a triumph of voice, place, and plotting. Highly recommended for fans of Sherlock, Scotland, and whisky lovers everywhere." (Catriona McPherson, best-selling author of the multiaward-winning Dandy Gilver series)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (17 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.4 (17 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.0 (17 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    lucy-lou 06/10/2017
    lucy-lou 06/10/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    41
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A good plot"

    After listening to this book, I must say I found the story as a whole very good. However I struggled with the narration. Although the narrator delivered the story clearly and with passion when needed. His voice sounded too modern.

    It didn’t match with the era. An older more well spoken gentleman would have allowed me to picture Holmes in the way that I’m use to.

    This is however my own opinion and I am, by now means suggesting that the narration wasn’t any good. It just made it very difficult for me to connect with the characters. Leading me not to enjoy the book as much.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jacqueline neal 07/11/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    414
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Rather a waste of time"

    Poor narration of a poor imitation of Conan Doyle ‘s work . I finished only because it helped to pass the time while I redecorated and it required no attention. I had solved the crime a very long time before Sherlock.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    wendy 13/10/2017
    wendy 13/10/2017 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story, badly read"

    Good story, badly read by an enthusiastic narrator who just wasn't right for the tone of the book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Yvonne
    Southfield, mi, United States
    16/11/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This story would make Doyle proud!"

    This novel would make Arthur Doyle proud. Bonnie MacBird delivered a gripping Sherlockian novel including a murder, bombing, ghosts of Braedern and Scotland winter. Sherlock and Watson are given as assignment from Mycroft which takes them to Paris and Scotland. They solved current and past mysteries with their usual flourish.

    There are twist and turns, which kept me reading late into the night. While Holmes was flummoxed at points, he had the pleasure of foiling his nemesis, French Detective Jean Vidocq, and his schoolboy nemesis August Clarion.

    Watson uncovered secrets of Sherlock’s past. As a student, Sherlock began his studies in science, chemistry and boxing. Holmes’ teacher told Watson many stories, which offered an explanation to Holmes eccentricities. Unknown to Holmes incidents from his youth will encroach upon solving his current case. Sherlock who is always private and hidden shuns Watson when he realizes that Watson knows his secrets.

    The McLaren family are Sherlock’s clients. They are whiskey barons of Scotland on the cusp of renowned success. Their family secrets would be an encumbrance if uncovered. The Larid Braedern tasked Holmes to prove his reputation by solving the case before the arrival of the Royal Family.

    I am so excited that Bonnie MacBird did a fantastic job. I have new Sherlock stories to enjoyed.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • D. R. Holcroft
    18/10/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story, but......."

    The story was fine but I think the author should have made up her own characters instead of using the Sherlock Holmes characters. It was unbelievable as a Sherlock Holmes mystery. Watson and Sherlock were completely out of character from the norm in this rendition. Every time there was an opportunity to apply Sherlock’s incredible deductive capability’s, the ball was dropped and he was made to look like a fool. She even had him crying. Seriously!!!!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • D. D. Perkins
    New Orleans, LA USA
    07/10/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Well worth a binge listen....."

    Get ready to get hooked in from page one. I couldn't put it down. Multiple plots and mysteries require both Holmes and Watson to solve. The characters are well defined by the author, and the narrator does a great job interpreting the dialogue. I'm looking forward to another work from this author.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Adrienne Lirio
    28/09/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable way to pass the time."

    Overall the story was enjoyable as was the narration. The subject was a departure for a Holmes story and I liked the fresh approach.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • matthew gregg
    23/09/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best Sherlock Holmes story I've ever heard"

    Out of dozens of Sherlock stories over listened to, this is the best. Great plot twists and turns. It's really long, but with the time it takes.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • C. Brown
    albuquerque, nm United States
    27/08/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Kept me from getting my work done"
    What did you love best about Unquiet Spirits: Whisky, Ghosts, Murder?

    In other reviews, I was quite disappointed with “The Beekeeper’s Daughter” and “The Daughter of Sherlock Holmes.”
    Now we have the books those could have been.
    Ms. MacBird has two very similar women in Mlle. Emmeline La Victoire (Art in the Blood) and Aila MacClaren (Unquiet Spirits).
    Smart enough to be confident, their primary affect is not the need to prove themselves, but rather the confidence not to hide their own light. They are smart, but open to the insights and accomplishments of others. Holmes and Watson are not dumbed down to make these women shine; they don’t need that.
    They earn our respect without themselves being disrespectful, and without doubling down on Holmes’s more Asperger traits.
    I never tire of well-written Holmes and Watson, but Aila MacClaren is poised to become the female detective the genre’ has been waiting for.
    As compared with Doyle’s writing, Ms. MacBird’s characters feel right, but are more three-dimensionally developed. Watson, in particular, is more fleshed out and admirable, without breaking character.
    The plots are more complex than Doyle’s, and the solving bits are comparable. The adventure element is brought out more, and I don’t how much physical abuse Holmes can survive at Ms. MacBird’s hands …
    It’s been a long time since a book was so engrossing that I actually shirked some of my duties to keep reading, but both of MacBird’s books had that effect on me.


    What other book might you compare Unquiet Spirits: Whisky, Ghosts, Murder to and why?

    Nicholas Meyers' Holmes books.


    What about Simon Darwen’s performance did you like?

    Darwen was fine. His rendition of Sherlock is a bit querulous, and he has a little trouble juggling a Scottish accent and nuanced inflection simultaneously.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Oh, my. Yes!


    Any additional comments?

    More, please.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.