We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Unquiet Spirits: Whisky, Ghosts, Murder Audiobook

Unquiet Spirits: Whisky, Ghosts, Murder: A Sherlock Holmes Adventure

Regular Price:£12.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The new audiobook from the author of Art in the Blood.

December 1889. Fresh from debunking a 'ghostly' hound in Dartmoor, Sherlock Holmes has returned to London, only to find himself the target of a deadly vendetta.

A beautiful client arrives with a tale of ghosts, kidnapping and dynamite on a whisky estate in Scotland, but brother Mycroft trumps all with an urgent assignment in the South of France.

On the fabled Riviera, Holmes and Watson encounter treachery, explosions, rival French detective Jean Vidocq...and a terrible discovery. This propels the duo northward to the snowy highlands. There, in a 'haunted' castle and among the copper dinosaurs of a great whisky distillery, they and their young client face mortal danger, and Holmes realizes all three cases have blended into a single deadly conundrum.

In order to solve the mystery, the ultimate rational thinker must confront a ghost from his own past. But Sherlock Holmes does not believe in ghosts...or does he?

©2017 Bonnie MacBird (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What the Critics Say

"If the original 60 Holmes stories aren't enough for you, read Bonnie MacBird's Unquiet Spirits for another dram of the Great Detective. MacBird deftly blends a series of grisly murders and dark secrets from Holmes's past into a strong brew!" (Leslie S. Klinger, editor of The New Annotated Sherlock Holmes)

"A superb Sherlockian adventure. Bonnie MacBird's take on Holmes and Watson is inventive and true to the canon, a splendid blend of fast-paced action and detection in a deliciously gothic Highland setting. I can't wait for her next book." (Dana Cameron, BSI, Agatha, Anthony, and Macavity award-winning author of the Emma Fielding mysteries)

"Pour yourself a wee dram, toss another peat on the fire, and prepare to be swept up in the great detective's Highland fling. MacBird's spooky, scholarly, thoroughly 'spirited' follow up to Art in the Blood is a triumph of voice, place, and plotting. Highly recommended for fans of Sherlock, Scotland, and whisky lovers everywhere." (Catriona McPherson, best-selling author of the multiaward-winning Dandy Gilver series)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (6 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.5 (6 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.0 (6 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • matthew gregg
    23/09/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best Sherlock Holmes story I've ever heard"

    Out of dozens of Sherlock stories over listened to, this is the best. Great plot twists and turns. It's really long, but with the time it takes.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • C. Brown
    albuquerque, nm United States
    27/08/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Kept me from getting my work done"
    What did you love best about Unquiet Spirits: Whisky, Ghosts, Murder?

    In other reviews, I was quite disappointed with “The Beekeeper’s Daughter” and “The Daughter of Sherlock Holmes.”
    Now we have the books those could have been.
    Ms. MacBird has two very similar women in Mlle. Emmeline La Victoire (Art in the Blood) and Aila MacClaren (Unquiet Spirits).
    Smart enough to be confident, their primary affect is not the need to prove themselves, but rather the confidence not to hide their own light. They are smart, but open to the insights and accomplishments of others. Holmes and Watson are not dumbed down to make these women shine; they don’t need that.
    They earn our respect without themselves being disrespectful, and without doubling down on Holmes’s more Asperger traits.
    I never tire of well-written Holmes and Watson, but Aila MacClaren is poised to become the female detective the genre’ has been waiting for.
    As compared with Doyle’s writing, Ms. MacBird’s characters feel right, but are more three-dimensionally developed. Watson, in particular, is more fleshed out and admirable, without breaking character.
    The plots are more complex than Doyle’s, and the solving bits are comparable. The adventure element is brought out more, and I don’t how much physical abuse Holmes can survive at Ms. MacBird’s hands …
    It’s been a long time since a book was so engrossing that I actually shirked some of my duties to keep reading, but both of MacBird’s books had that effect on me.


    What other book might you compare Unquiet Spirits: Whisky, Ghosts, Murder to and why?

    Nicholas Meyers' Holmes books.


    What about Simon Darwen’s performance did you like?

    Darwen was fine. His rendition of Sherlock is a bit querulous, and he has a little trouble juggling a Scottish accent and nuanced inflection simultaneously.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Oh, my. Yes!


    Any additional comments?

    More, please.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.