We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Toxicity Audiobook

Toxicity

Regular Price:£22.89
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of The Stand, The Man in the High Castle, and The Road comes an epic story of struggle against tyranny in a future America....

The year is 2141. Islam controls most of the civilized world, including all that exists of the former United States. Climate change has made fresh drinking water a scarce and valuable commodity. Islamic states that once controlled oil now control the largest fresh water deposit in the world, the American Great Lakes.

Washington, D.C., and New York City are mere memories of the old world as a new regime of Caliphs has ruled the eastern half of the country for the past century. The barren no-man's-land east of the Mississippi River is but an encroaching desert, and the realm of the Great Lakes - known as Al-hayat Miyaah - dictates life for the rest of the realm.

Jihadic allegiance and the Lakes' bounty decide a person's worth, where clean, drinkable water is far more precious than gold... and more valuable than the lives of infidels.

In this hostile environment, Joaquin Martinez and six others risk certain death as fugitives crossing state lines to reclaim loved ones stolen from Hernando, Mississippi, and sold into slavery in Detroit. Meanwhile, survivalist Malcolm Foster and his daughter Renee begin a journey to Kentucky with other survivalists hoping to strike a blow to the Muslim empire. Lastly, in the heart of Al-hayat Miyaah, the youngest son of the Caliph, Abdul-Bari, sets out on a quest to determine the truth about infidels... their worthiness of scorn and indiscriminate death.

Much is at stake for them all, as a crossing of paths determines who inevitably is destined to win... and who must lose everything.

©2016 Aiden James (P)2017 Timothy McKean/Aiden James

What the Critics Say

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.0 (1 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.0 (1 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
3.0 (1 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Simon Between a Pair of Headphones 25/11/2017
    Simon Between a Pair of Headphones 25/11/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4060
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    420
    412
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    631
    17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Doesn't Quite Hit The Mark!"

    This book sets out a genuinely scary apocalyptic scenario. Climate change ravages the world, a weakened US succumbs to invasion and what remains of the country falls under a brutal Islamic regime. No need for zombies or super plagues just an intriguingly possible scenario. I was concerned that the authors would fall into the trap of making it a typical good Christians vs Bad Muslims slugfest but they avoided that in some style with lots of shades of grey and internal conflict within the main character groups. The story is fast-moving and there is considerable tension and excitement as two groups set themselves against the dominant Islamic powers.

    It's not a bad read at all but it didn't quite hit the mark for me. The narration by Timothy McKean is clear and concise but it's much more of a reading than a performance. He's really not helped by some rather stilted dialogue which sees most of the characters speaking as if making a political speech or giving a lecture of some kind rather than interacting naturally. I'd also say that the whole thing is very logistically naive with armies of 20,000 troops mobilising in scant hours and I don't think the authors seem to have a great understanding of weapons or tactics.

    So, it's one that's worth a try. It sets a great scenario and a good set of characters take part in a fast-moving adventure but it didn't light any fireworks for me.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Michael Oberhardt
    Home with my wife and cats
    13/12/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Not-So Depressing Tale Set in a Very Depressing "

    First up, just a note that I got this audiobook as a free review copy. I had previously purchased the kindle edition of Toxicity, as well as other Aiden James audiobooks and kindles, so I was pretty happy with the opportunity. I don't have any books by Fiona Fraser, but I do have one audiobook narrated by Timothy McKean, which I note I had rated the narration at 5 stars.

    Toxicity is a good sized novel set over 100 years in the future in an incredibly bleak future, not a "post apocalypse" scenario, as there was no one real catastrophic apocalypse, more the sadly plausible extrapolation of the incessant stupidity of humanity. That said, somehow the book never came across as depressing as I felt the setting warranted. It did have a bit of a YA feel to it.

    The story itself progressed at a nice pace, and primarily centred around two main threads that eventually merge where the characters come together. I liked the story, but I did find one of the main story points/turns (on a rescue with a new ally) was just too implausible and didn't make sense from a story perspective, and it felt like the authors didn't know how to come up with an answer but had to move beyond it. Not being a writer I can't say how I'd have handled it, but it left me figuratively rolling my eyes..

    The book is a contained novel, with a hopeful ending, and plenty of opportunity for more books in the universe.

    The narration was very easy listening, and I'd recommend the narrator. As I mentioned above, I had previously purchased another novel by this narrator, and had rated his performance 5 stars at that time.

    In summary, a worthwhile read/listen of a good sized a not-too-depressing novel set in a new very depressing future world.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Rebecca Azizov
    israel' or akiva
    08/12/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "a non non-cliche book"

    all this book could have become one of the biggest caliche's out there.... the story was a scary one and it had all the elements to become something obvious but it didn't it had is flaws a little bit but the book itself wasn't bad the narrator as well wasn't bad a nice book to listen to

    I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review."

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.