Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

What do a murdered Brighton flower seller, the death of Cleopatra and a nude tableau show have in common? One thing's for sure - it could be the most dangerous case yet for Stephens and Mephisto.

The fourth Stephens and Mephisto mystery from the author of the best-selling Dr Ruth Galloway series - a must-listen for fans of Bryant and May.

Christmas 1953. Max Mephisto and his daughter, Ruby, are headlining Brighton Hippodrome, an achievement only slightly marred by the less-than-savoury support act: a tableau show of naked 'living statues'.

This might appear to have nothing in common with DI Edgar Stephens' investigation into the death of a quiet flower seller, but if there's one thing the old comrades have learned it's that in Brighton, the line between art and life - and death - is all too easily blurred....

©2017 Elly Griffiths (P)2017 Quercus Editions Limited

Critic reviews

"Mixes cosiness and sharpness in a way that recalls the best of Agatha Christie." ( Sunday Express on Smoke and Mirrors)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    74
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    67
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful period detail

I love this series of books, and this one did not disappoint. Good story with great period details. Love the theatrical background, landladies and boarding houses. The characters are interesting and likeable. It is set in the winter and Elly even manages to make you feel cold. You can read this on it’s own but I recommend you read the series in order.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good ‘old fashioned’ murder mystery

I love the murder mysteries by this author. Hope there is more Stephens and Mephisto.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

not as good as Ruth and Harry

these are not as good as the Ruth Galloway series but still like them very much

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anon
  • West Sussex
  • 05-05-18

Excellent series

I have now heard all four in this series and really enjoyed them. Luke Thompson is an excellent narrator, very competent but not overpowering. Loved all the Brighton references and the evocative 1950's atmosphere. Feel sorry that I greedily rushed through them all as I've now exhausted them far too soon!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another excellent adventure

The stories get more mature with each book. I didn't guess the perpetrator at all.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Slow and disappointing

Dull story so slow I gave up in the end pity sounded promising for me it just never got going

2 of 5 people found this review helpful