We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Vanishing Box Audiobook

The Vanishing Box: Stephens and Mephisto Mystery 4

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
    • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

What do a murdered Brighton flower seller, the death of Cleopatra and a nude tableau show have in common? One thing's for sure - it could be the most dangerous case yet for Stephens and Mephisto.

The fourth Stephens and Mephisto mystery from the author of the best-selling Dr Ruth Galloway series - a must-listen for fans of Bryant and May.

Christmas 1953. Max Mephisto and his daughter, Ruby, are headlining Brighton Hippodrome, an achievement only slightly marred by the less-than-savoury support act: a tableau show of naked 'living statues'.

This might appear to have nothing in common with DI Edgar Stephens' investigation into the death of a quiet flower seller, but if there's one thing the old comrades have learned it's that in Brighton, the line between art and life - and death - is all too easily blurred....

©2017 Elly Griffiths (P)2017 Quercus Editions Limited

What the Critics Say

"Mixes cosiness and sharpness in a way that recalls the best of Agatha Christie." (Sunday Express on Smoke and Mirrors)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (70 )
5 star
 (48)
4 star
 (16)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.6 (63 )
5 star
 (46)
4 star
 (12)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (64 )
5 star
 (53)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Joy 18/11/2017
    Joy 18/11/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    162
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful period detail "

    I love this series of books, and this one did not disappoint. Good story with great period details. Love the theatrical background, landladies and boarding houses. The characters are interesting and likeable. It is set in the winter and Elly even manages to make you feel cold. You can read this on it’s own but I recommend you read the series in order.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Claire Kendall-Price 08/12/2017 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    33
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another excellent adventure"

    The stories get more mature with each book. I didn't guess the perpetrator at all.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Happy Grandma 11/11/2017
    Happy Grandma 11/11/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    47
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good ‘old fashioned’ murder mystery"

    I love the murder mysteries by this author. Hope there is more Stephens and Mephisto.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    tina book london 11/11/2017
    tina book london 11/11/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Slow and disappointing "

    Dull story so slow I gave up in the end pity sounded promising for me it just never got going

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.