We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Stolen Girls Audiobook

The Stolen Girls: Detective Lottie Parker, Book 2

Regular Price:£24.19
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The young woman standing on Lottie's step was a stranger. She was clutching the hand of a young boy. "Help me," she said to Lottie. "Please help me."

One Monday morning, the body of a young pregnant woman is found. The same day, a mother and her son visit the house of Detective Lottie Parker, begging for help to find a lost friend.

Could this be the same girl?

When a second victim is discovered by the same man, with the murder bearing all the same hallmarks as the first, Lottie needs to work fast to discover how else the two were linked. Then two more girls go missing.

Detective Lottie Parker is a woman on the edge, haunted by her tragic past and struggling to keep her family together through difficult times. Can she fight her own demons and catch the killer before he claims another victim?

The Stolen Girls is a gripping thriller that will leave you breathless. Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Karin Slaughter, and Robert Dugoni.

©2017 Patricia Gibney (P)2017 Bookouture

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.8 (39 )
5 star
 (32)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.8 (36 )
5 star
 (30)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.9 (36 )
5 star
 (33)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Sam Hall South Wales 01/08/2017
    Sam Hall South Wales 01/08/2017 Member Since 2016

    opinionated

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    34
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A fabulously intricate story, and great narration"

    Loved the first book, adored the second. Ms Gibney is proper good at this story weaving malarkey. Great characters with depth and flaws. Plenty of 'he's behind you' pantomime type moments to keep you shouting randomly in the street with your headphones on. Also thank you for a wonderful performance Ms Moran. Could listen to you read the phone book!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    19/07/2017
    19/07/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "yet another griping addictive story"

    a well told story with lots of twists and turns. I would highly recommend it.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ruth Ross 16/07/2017
    Ruth Ross 16/07/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gripping Crime Fiction"

    I have just finished the second book by Patricia Gibney and can't wait for the third! Some of the best crime fiction I have read in some time. Up there with Anne Cleaves and Peter May. Brilliant!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    daisy 12/07/2017
    daisy 12/07/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow"

    These characters are so engaging. I'm really looking forward to no.3. There were times where I just couldn't stop listening, even when I was tired. I've barely seen any tv over the last few days. The promise of the debut has been built on. I love a gripping, tense, psychological thriller and Patricia Gibney delivers - but she's made her own stamp on the genre.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lorna Killucan Westmeath Ireland 11/07/2017
    Lorna Killucan Westmeath Ireland 11/07/2017 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gritty murder mystery"
    What made the experience of listening to The Stolen Girls the most enjoyable?

    The characters who we got to know in book1. The story is great. It has all the hallmarks of a great book. Very well researched . Very real drama .


    What did you like best about this story?

    All of it. Great story . Great momentum. Great narrator.


    Have you listened to any of Michele Moran’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    Always excellent .


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Without a doubt I want to listen to end. Wanted to get to end but when I did I was disappointed because I now have to wait until next book.


    Any additional comments?

    I love this series . Lottie Parker and her family are great family with all the dramas that happen in real life. I love the way the author has made all the characters so real for me. Long Live Lottie Parker

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    patricia berkeley 13/08/2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "loved it"

    Could not put it down. Hope there will be another soon. Very well written and read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Rebecca E Smith
    25/07/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another chilling novel"

    A suspenseful take with many twists and turns. There is investigation of horrific murders of young women found in town construction sites.
    Lottie has just returned to work and her family is still dealing with the post traumatic stress from book one. One character Andre is a young man from Kosovo who witnessed and experienced firsthand unimaginable war crimes. He keeps finding the bodies of women who were stolen for the sex trade. The victims also had a kidney surgically removed presumably to be sold on the black market for organ transplants.
    We learn more about her husband Adam who was involved in peace keeping missions in Kosovo before he died of cancer. And we experience some of the heartache her children are having after the events of book one.
    Boyd's not yet ex Jackie has returned to town with her surly criminal boyfriend. It's complicated...and the narrator is amazing.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Sarah xXXXXx
    21/07/17
    Overall
    Story
    "Loved book ll"

    I enjoyed the storyline as well as the narrator. I especially like that the author keeps every one on the same page. No pun intended. There isn't a single twist in the story that isn't explained. I enjoyed it very much.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Carlene Lepre
    Connecticut
    21/08/17
    Overall
    "she's a terrible mother!"

    I like the plot lines of these books but she's an awful person and treats people badly. it almost makes it intolerable to listen to

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • MCubed
    20/08/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Story concept... bad execution"

    I like this series, and the dynamics of these characters. but i have a couple areas that really had me irritated while listening to this second book:
    1. while we may say this depicts real life scenarios of troubled home life....i can't help but think; I know you need money, but seriously, your home is all but destroyed, all 3 children are truly messed up (psychologically)... how in the world can you possibly be a detective saving others lives while your own is SO MESSED UP. not just a little, but WAY OVER THE TOP. AND SHE'S hooked on meds herself. what human being could truly withstand her story, loss of spouse, everything from book one that messed up her kids, she's a recovering alcoholic on meds. I would seriously bench her to a desk job until she got herself squared away. it's not safe for any of them? 2. for them being detectives and studying clues, I knew much of what was coming...and found myself talking back to the book saying saying "seriously... you are going there, saying that, overlooking that...wth? wake up" going back to point #1... she's way too distracted for her job. Detrimentally so. have the character go on medical leave for a year, her her family and head back in the game, clearly 4 months did nothing for any of them?
    3. maybe it's just me, but the relationship with Boyd seems good for her, though she's the boss or they are colleauges, so they shouldn't be involved...but i don't like how she's always telling him to F....-off! in a serious tone or manner. when he's telling her something she doesn't like. That's not playing, flirting or hard to get... that's just disrespectful to a human being.
    overall, not a bad story, but seriously, the author needs to help her characters out a little. it's hard to worry about the facts of the case, when you're thinking about the main character just needing a major overhaul in her OWN life, but too busy trying to Save the world one lost child at a time OTHER THAN HER OWN. Why don't you start there Lottie!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • deborah wolfe
    KANSAS CITY, MO, US
    19/08/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "meh"

    good storyline, but I'm over the main character's pathetic parenting skills and the interweaving of her own children in the crimes. this is the second boom where her children ended up becoming victims in the case in a way that challenges belief. great narration though.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Marie
    17/08/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Really good story"

    I really enjoyed the story. Enjoyed how her family is part of the story. The only thing is there ere way too many characters.....I kept getting confused who was who!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Rhonda Ottem
    15/08/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Pretty good read. The narrator was great!"

    Good read. some repetitivity from the 1st in this series. Once again the narrator did such an amazing job!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    Pearblossom, CA USA
    10/08/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story"

    Anxious for 3rd book in series. A double-edged sword that Lottie's family becomes entangled in her cases. On one hand it adds interest and suspense. On the other, it detracts frpm the realism of the story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Christine A Saunders
    Kentfield, CA, US
    09/08/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story. Outstanding narration."

    Not quite as engaging as Gibney's "The Missing Ones" but still well worth the listen. Michele Moran is a very talented narrator and is now a permanent member of my very select list of 'go to' readers.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 6catz
    04/08/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good Series Cooking Here"

    Even better than the first Lottie Parker book, this tale of kidnapping and all manner of nastiness demonstrates Patricia Gibney's knack for the mystery genre. Good characters, engaging storyline, decent dialogue made this one entertaining enough to be worth the time and credit.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.