Regular price: £14.49

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

The new novel by Luke Delaney, ex-Met detective and author of the terrifyingly authentic DI Sean Corrigan series. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Stuart MacBride.

Jack King is a sergeant on the Met's promotional fast-track. Tasked with catching whoever is preying on children on a notorious estate, he and his small team take on the challenge with gusto, determined to find the culprit and clean up the estate - gaining glory for themselves in the process.

But King soon finds himself in over his head: the local residents won't play ball, his superiors want results yesterday and he's refusing to admit that he's suffering from PTSD after attending a particularly traumatic crime scene. As the pressures combine, King finds himself on a downward spiral that will have devastating consequences.

©2016 Luke Delaney (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

Praise for Luke Delaney: "A striking debut from a former Murder Squad Detective, Delaney is not his real name, but there is no doubt about his inside knowledge and ability to convey it." (Daily Mail)
"A confident, aggressive and very promising debut by a former Met detective." (The Times)
"An authentic voice on how the police operate with a stone-cold killer striking randomly around London...scary authenticity." (The Sun)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

unexpected ending

I enjoyed this story and the plot line was unusual. However, I did not enjoy the degree of swearing included and, even though this may be how they speak on the streets, it is not what I want to hear so much, hence the 4 stars. That said, it was not the usual cop story regurgitated so worth a try. I thought the narrator was good and added the different characterisations in a believable way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

The rule of fear

I really didn't think this was anywhere near as good as the other series written by the same author. It was about 7 hrs too long of a really longwinded drawn out far fetched storyline. It was rubbish!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Repetitive

Rarely do I not finish a book but this was just violence without substance. Abandoned 3/4 in

1 of 1 people found this review helpful