We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Queen's Accomplice Audiobook

The Queen's Accomplice: A Maggie Hope Mystery, Book 6

Regular Price:£26.29
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Spy and code breaker extraordinaire Maggie Hope returns to war-weary London, where she is thrust into the dangerous hunt for a monster as the New York Times best-selling mystery series for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry continues.

England, 1942. The Nazis' relentless Blitz may have paused, but London's nightly blackouts continue. Now, under the cover of darkness, a madman is brutally killing and mutilating young women in eerie and exact re-creations of Jack the Ripper's crimes. What's more, he's targeting women who are reporting for duty to be Winston Churchill's spies and saboteurs abroad.

The officers at MI5 quickly realize they need the help of Special Agent Maggie Hope to find the killer dubbed "the Blackout Beast". A trap is set. But once the murderer has his sights on Maggie, not even Buckingham Palace can protect the resourceful spy from her fate.

©2016 Susan Elia MacNeal (P)2016 Random House Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (6 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.5 (6 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.2 (6 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Judith 06/11/2016
    Judith 06/11/2016 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good if slightly stereotyped wartime mystery"

    Like the previous Maggie Hope mysteries, this is an enjoyable, easy listen. The plot smartly entwines several different strands, all set in 1940s London. As such the story is held back a little by trying to enforce its historical setting a little too much, and is certainly not the most realistic of books- but if you enjoy a good crime novel which follows the path of Agatha Christie this is probably for you.

    One thing that really irritated me was the narrator's attempts at various accents. This is probably just a personal preference, but I found her attempt at a Scottish accents particularly inaccurate and annoying- and unfortunately one of the main characters is Scottish. This definitely detracted from the enjoyment of listening, though did not stop me finishing the book- so don't let that put you off unless you are particularly sensitive to accents!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Jodi Muller
    Olympia, Washington United States
    06/10/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I love these books, but had to stop listening...."
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    The reader is terrible!! I love these books but could not remember why I only listened to the first one and read the rest myself. I purchased the latest and listened for 5 minutes and remembered why I read the rest myself. She does great voices but the rest is so sing songy I could not take it!!


    6 of 6 people found this review helpful
  • Maine Knitter
    Central Maine, USA
    07/10/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I really dislike the narrator"

    This would have warranted a higher rating but for the narration. It spoils the book which is a shame for the author's hard work.

    The story itself, in spite of a few negatives, is my favorite of the series so far. It was interesting with several plot lines (not all of which were resolved) and returning characters. The plight of women at the time was laid on a bit thick. I understand the importance of highlighting what women had to endure and I'm as feminist as can be, but I think there was a bit of overkill.

    There were a few "I'm going to have nightmares" tense moments. I found the final confrontation scenes confusing with the hallucinations. All that being said, I found the book entertaining. I'm not a fan of cliffhangers but it's the author's style. I'll buy the next book but maybe not the audio version.

    9 of 10 people found this review helpful
  • Gary L. Richardson
    04/12/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A good entry but a bit slow to start"

    I enjoy the Maggie Hope series but I found this entry a bit slow to develop. The second half of the story did pick up the pace but I have come to expect a little more from the author. I did like the way the book ended and it has me looking forward to the next installment. It left off with much promise. By no means a bust and those following the series will enjoy it in the end.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Kindle Customer
    Lawrence, MA United States
    13/11/16
    Overall
    "Storyline and Reader"

    The storyline is good, but the dialogue is made worse by the reader. I like the stories, but really, the dialogue is really kind of lame.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • patricia
    Dublin, OH, United States
    09/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Please get another narrator"

    The story was good but could have been better with another narrator. Please get get another narrator,

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Beverly
    Houston, Texas
    26/10/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "End of the line for me on this series."

    I loved the setting and the story line in the early books, but with this book the extensive violence, dark tangents, and foul language has gone too far. I'm sorry to see the author chose to take a worthwhile topic of women's rights and this fascinating historic setting to a level I don't want to read. No longer recommend.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Kindle Customer
    04/09/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Mysteries interesting but author gets more patronizing every book"

    We get a lot of lectures about civil rights in this series

    Fine as part of the plots and characters noble actions but heavy in boring dialogue - when she's not tossing in an unnecessary nose blowing incident , there are tiresome history lectures

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Maddy Avena
    N. CA
    26/07/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Boggled at other reviewers dislike of the narrator"

    First, I would like to say that the only book in the series that I have read first one and I may not have continued but for masterful job by Susan Duerden. Her ability to play so many rolls constantly impresses me book after book.

    The subject matter of this book was more personally violent to me as it spoke to the poisonous misogyny and violence spoken towards and committed against women who were at this time moving further into independence than any other time preceding it as WW2 progressed to its final years.

    The narrowing of the lens from the wider view of the war was an appreciated departure. And Maggie Hope's character just keeps getting better.

    I wouldn't call this a stand alone. If I hadn't read all the preceding books, I would have missed much nuance. Can't wait for my next Audible credit so I can listen to the next one!

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • annierob
    06/06/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A bit dark..."

    I thought this was quite riveting, but a lot darker than the other Maggie Hope books. I was never sure where it was all going to lead. Ms MacNeal is a very imaginative writer. But the topics in this book were very dark and intense- war, misogyny, murder, sexual assault, concentration camps, with a bit of love thrown in. Very intense, but very good. Would definitely recommend to those reading the series, but I made sure to not read late at night as I didn't want it to color my dreams.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Clayton A Lindsey
    15/03/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another all-engrossing Maggie Hope mystery!"

    This mystery continues the Maggie Hope saga in usual grand style!
    Between Elia Mac Neal's clever prose and Susan Duerden's inspired performance, this is another in the series not to be missed!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.