We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Prime Minister's Secret Agent Audiobook

The Prime Minister's Secret Agent: A Maggie Hope Mystery, Book 4

Regular Price:£27.19
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry, The Prime Minister's Secret Agent is a gripping new mystery featuring intrepid spy and code breaker Maggie Hope. And this time, the fallout of a deadly plot comes straight to her own front door.

World War II rages on across Europe, but Maggie Hope has finally found a moment of rest on the pastoral coast of western Scotland. Home from an undercover mission in Berlin, she settles down to teach at her old spy training camp, and to heal from scars on both her body and heart. Yet instead of enjoying the quieter pace of life, Maggie is quickly drawn into another web of danger and intrigue. When three ballerinas fall strangely ill in Glasgow - including one of Maggie's dearest friends - Maggie partners with MI-5 to uncover the truth behind their unusual symptoms. What she finds points to a series of poisonings that may expose shocking government secrets and put countless British lives at stake. But it's the fight brewing in the Pacific that will forever change the course of the war - and indelibly shape Maggie's fate.

©2014 Susan Elia MacNeal (P)2014 Random House Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (6 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.0 (6 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.8 (6 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Margaret Vance
    Buena Park, CA United States
    06/07/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The narration spoils the book"
    What made the experience of listening to The Prime Minister's Secret Agent the most enjoyable?

    The series is interesting and the time period and history described makes for a good read.


    Would you be willing to try another book from Susan Elia MacNeal? Why or why not?

    I like the author but some else needs to narrate.


    What didn’t you like about Susan Duerden’s performance?

    Her cadence and breathy deliver is hard to listen to. There are emphasis where there shouldn't be and her raspy whispery voice is annoying.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No


    5 of 6 people found this review helpful
  • K. J. Fisher
    Milton-Freewater, WA USA
    11/07/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyed"
    Would you listen to The Prime Minister's Secret Agent again? Why?

    I enjoyed the different turns and twists in this installment of the series.


    Any additional comments?

    I still have a challenge with the narration style of the narrarator, although she does do a lovely job with the character voices

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • GGT
    01/03/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great series
    "

    Good plot, character and intrigue in the whole Maggie Hope mystery series. Thoroughly enjoyed them all.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • M.
    Chesapeake, VA, United States
    23/11/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "slow...."

    slow story line, slow reading, slow developing the story line. just hated the section on Clara's mother - really? just not as exciting as the other books by far. was a dialed in story, dialed in performance. will give serious thought before purchasing the next one, maybe borrow from the local library instead. oh and let me add boringly slow.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Cynthia
    06/09/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Revisionary History"
    What disappointed you about The Prime Minister's Secret Agent?

    Long dragged out conversations that appear to be US and British hate-baiting. Listened for over 2 hours of the nice hour book and and never found out what the mystery was. Depression and anger run rampant


    What could Susan Elia MacNeal have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    Quit writing made up conversations that last 30 minutes about philosophy (Churchhill rants on and on )


    Which scene was your favorite?

    Could not find a favorite scene because I could not tolerate listening for HOURS with out a story to follow.


    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Cycling Gal
    Whittier, CA, United States
    22/08/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Dissapointed"
    If you could sum up The Prime Minister's Secret Agent in three words, what would they be?

    Waste of time


    What could Susan Elia MacNeal have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    This book is basically about Maggie working through her issues so she can go do spy work again. I felt like this could have been condensed into a couple chapters at most and then get on with the story.


    Any additional comments?

    I've really enjoyed the series so far. I was looking forward to this book, but was disappointed because the whole book felt like an interlude between stories rather than a story in itself. I kept waiting for the story to pick up speed, by the time it started gaining momentum it was over.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • J. Roderick
    Redmond, WA
    21/08/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    A different narrator. Her style is breathless and bumpy.


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Susan Duerden?

    Davina Porter


    Do you think The Prime Minister's Secret Agent needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    Yes, of course. We need to see Maggie in the US, find out what path her mother follows, and see how her half sister gets released from Germany.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Bravo Zulu 1775
    FPO, AE United States
    14/09/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "GET IT RIGHT!!!!"

    There were several goofs in this book including name mix-ups. But the one inexcusable error was referring to a sailor as a "private"!! Insulting. If you are going to write a book about war and the military at least get the ranks and ratings correct!!!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Kathryn Grammer
    12/09/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Everything excellent."

    Exciting story. Not keen on reader. Love the background research and history. Love Maggie Hope.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Sally Filler
    29/05/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Quite enjoyable"

    Well done. Overall quite enjoyable. Good story, good character development, good narration. Good installment to the series

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.