We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Outcasts of Time Audiobook

The Outcasts of Time

Regular Price:£18.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

From the author described by The Times as 'the most remarkable historian of our time', this is a stunningly high-concept historical novel, perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, SJ Parris and Kate Mosse.

December 1348: With the country in the grip of the Black Death, brothers John and William fear that they will shortly die and go to hell. But as the end draws near, they are given an unexpected choice: either to go home and spend their last six days in their familiar world or to search for salvation across the forthcoming centuries - living each one of their remaining days 99 years after the last.

John and William choose the future and find themselves in 1447, ignorant of almost everything going on around them. The year 1546 brings no more comfort, and 1645 challenges them still further. It is not just that technology is changing: things they have taken for granted all their lives prove to be short-lived.

As they find themselves in stranger and stranger times, the listener travels with them, seeing the world through their eyes as it shifts through disease, progress, enlightenment and war. But their time is running out - can they do something to redeem themselves before the six days are up?

©2017 Ian Mortimer (P)2017 Simon & Schuster UK

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (88 )
5 star
 (49)
4 star
 (25)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.3 (81 )
5 star
 (46)
4 star
 (18)
3 star
 (13)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.5 (81 )
5 star
 (53)
4 star
 (16)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    David J. Carpenter Huddersfield, West Yorkshire United Kingdom 02/08/2017
    David J. Carpenter Huddersfield, West Yorkshire United Kingdom 02/08/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    27
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    19
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant"

    I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this book. The authors use of language is outstanding and the unfolding story really immerses you in the different time periods. Rather sentimental of me I know, but I was really moved by the ending.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Spiky Potplant UK 18/09/2017
    Spiky Potplant UK 18/09/2017 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    27
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable listen and a good story"
    Any additional comments?

    I really enjoyed this book and the way it wove together the various periods in history. The book has some pretty graphic descriptions of how people died from the plague and were left where they fell. Nice to read historical fiction that isn't a murder mystery.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rodney Jones 04/09/2017
    Rodney Jones 04/09/2017 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    101
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent!"

    Little less than a masterpiece of the historical fiction genre. It becomes ever more gripping as it proceeds. A truly great read.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sheila 23/08/2017
    Sheila 23/08/2017 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    21
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Compelling and Thought Provoking"

    I really loved this book. What is a good deeld? So many ethical dilemmas inside a thoroughly entertaining story. I found it hard to put down. Excellent narrator. Author did well to maintain the main character's believability and authenticity. Just a couple of forgiveable slips, otherwise brilliant. For me he made the different periods in history come to life. Thorighky recommend this book.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    alexandra wassenaar LONDON 23/07/2017
    alexandra wassenaar LONDON 23/07/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    47
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A truly wonderful read"

    First introduction to Ian Mortimer and I will definitely read others. What a wonderful concept beautifully written!

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kirstine 13/10/2017
    Kirstine 13/10/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3759
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    616
    504
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2481
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Imaginative, thought-provoking historical fiction"

    I’ve listened to three of the author’s entertaining historical time travellers’ guides and enjoyed his way of illuminating the past by describing the experiences of ordinary people.

    The present book is a mix of highly imaginative fantasy mixed with historical fact. Instead of passively describing what life was like in each century from the 15th to 20th, and how it changed, he has two brothers born in the 15th century travel through time and materialize in a different century on 6 consecutive days. Each time jumping forward by 99 years.

    Told in the first person by John, history comes vividly to life. it transforms dry facts into a fascinating chronology of the changes in government, religious beliefs, laws and punishments, the evolution of technology, what people, ate drank and the clothes they wore; and not least, the impact of disease and war.

    The brother’s confusion at the new ways and words they encounter in future centuries highlights the changes and at times adds humour to their hardships. The first person narrative makes for a pacy and gripping book that I greatly enjoyed. The events and way of life they experience in the 19th and 20th centuries are more familiar and their re-telling not so engaging, but the final message of what it means to be human is powerful and thought-provoking. I was left with the feeling that the trappings of life change with progress but human feelings and failings remain much the same.

    Underlying this lively story is a morality tale reminiscent of Marlowe’s Dr Faustus and its medieval inspiration, the play Everyman. As if to underline this at one point John is given the surname, Everyman.

    A splendid book narrated with verve.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ms. L. V. Hurley 19/07/2017 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    28
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting"

    Loved the walk through history, felt the story was unimaginative at times but the level of detail was engaging.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    HarrietDVane 13/10/2017
    HarrietDVane 13/10/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved It"

    brilliant book brilliant narrator putts other narrators to shame. Well done on all counts enjoyed

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    K. Bridges 08/10/2017
    K. Bridges 08/10/2017 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    29
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    38
    31
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A haunting journey through time"

    This is a lovely novel; full of fascinating facts whilst retaining interest with a great storyline to run alongside and an uplifting ending. I really enjoyed this story and would recommend it to anyone who wants to know more about our History.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sue Princes Risborough, United Kingdom 06/10/2017
    Sue Princes Risborough, United Kingdom 06/10/2017 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    112
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A bit hard going"

    This was a great idea, but I found it hard going, and the first part was very slow and very depressing - I nearly didn't bother. It was very interesting as a concept, but I couldn't find it exciting or engaging as a book.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.