We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Outcasts of Time Audiobook

The Outcasts of Time

Regular Price:£18.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

From the author described by The Times as 'the most remarkable historian of our time', this is a stunningly high-concept historical novel, perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, SJ Parris and Kate Mosse.

December 1348: With the country in the grip of the Black Death, brothers John and William fear that they will shortly die and go to hell. But as the end draws near, they are given an unexpected choice: either to go home and spend their last six days in their familiar world or to search for salvation across the forthcoming centuries - living each one of their remaining days 99 years after the last.

John and William choose the future and find themselves in 1447, ignorant of almost everything going on around them. The year 1546 brings no more comfort, and 1645 challenges them still further. It is not just that technology is changing: things they have taken for granted all their lives prove to be short-lived.

As they find themselves in stranger and stranger times, the listener travels with them, seeing the world through their eyes as it shifts through disease, progress, enlightenment and war. But their time is running out - can they do something to redeem themselves before the six days are up?

©2017 Ian Mortimer (P)2017 Simon & Schuster UK

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (30 )
5 star
 (17)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.3 (27 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.6 (28 )
5 star
 (19)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    David J. Carpenter Huddersfield, West Yorkshire United Kingdom 02/08/2017
    David J. Carpenter Huddersfield, West Yorkshire United Kingdom 02/08/2017 Member Since 2016

    Relocated Welshman, husband, father, grandad & parish priest aspiring to be a better cook; enjoys reading, walking, music, theatre.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    24
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant"

    I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this book. The authors use of language is outstanding and the unfolding story really immerses you in the different time periods. Rather sentimental of me I know, but I was really moved by the ending.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    alexandra wassenaar LONDON 23/07/2017
    alexandra wassenaar LONDON 23/07/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A truly wonderful read"

    First introduction to Ian Mortimer and I will definitely read others. What a wonderful concept beautifully written!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ms. L. V. Hurley 19/07/2017 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting"

    Loved the walk through history, felt the story was unimaginative at times but the level of detail was engaging.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.