We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Mitford Murders Audiobook

The Mitford Murders

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
    • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Lose yourself in the gripping first novel in a new series of Golden Age murder mysteries set amid the lives of the glamorous Mitford sisters.

It's 1919, and Louisa Cannon dreams of escaping her life of poverty in London, and most of all her oppressive and dangerous uncle. Louisa's salvation is a position within the Mitford household at Asthall Manor, in the Oxfordshire countryside. There she will become nurserymaid, chaperone and confidante to the Mitford sisters, especially 16-year-old Nancy - an acerbic, bright young woman in love with stories.

But then a nurse - Florence Nightingale Shore, goddaughter of her famous namesake - is killed on a train in broad daylight, and Louisa and Nancy find themselves entangled in the crimes of a murderer who will do anything to hide their secret....

Based on a real unsolved crime and written by Jessica Fellowes, author of the number one best-selling Downton Abbey books, The Mitford Murders is the perfect new obsession for fans of Daisy Goodwin, Jessie Burton and Agatha Christie - and is based on a real unsolved crime.

©2017 Jessica Fellowes (P)2017 Little, Brown Book Group

What the Critics Say

"Exactly the sort of book you might enjoy with the fire blazing, the snow falling. The solution is neat and the writing always enjoyable." (Anthony Horowitz)

"True and glorious indulgence. A dazzling example of a Golden Age mystery." (Daisy Goodwin)

"Oh how delicious! This terrific start to what promises to be a must-read series is exactly what we all need in these gloomy times? Inventive, glittering, clever, ingenious. I devoured The Mitford Murders...so will you. Give it to absolutely everyone for Christmas, then pre-order the next one." (Susan Hill)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (171 )
5 star
 (83)
4 star
 (36)
3 star
 (33)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (9)
Overall
4.0 (149 )
5 star
 (70)
4 star
 (29)
3 star
 (35)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (7)
Story
4.3 (148 )
5 star
 (81)
4 star
 (40)
3 star
 (16)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (6)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    cdw 09/10/2017
    cdw 09/10/2017 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Lovely, lovely, lovely!!!!"

    Downtown Abbey with murder!!!! And very well read. A pleasure to listen to! Looking forward to the next instalment.

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mrs Maureen Cate Wollaston, Northamptonshire United Kingdom 14/11/2017
    Mrs Maureen Cate Wollaston, Northamptonshire United Kingdom 14/11/2017 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    72
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "PREDICTABLE BUT ENJOYABLE..."

    A fiction greatly enhanced by factual persons and events. An enjoyable read with characters and events both real and invented. Basically, a light, period,detective story but none the less a worthwhile listen - especially if you are a Mitford fan.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 06/01/2018 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    85
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointing"

    Not a particularly well written story which seemed over long in the telling. The narrator rendered the characters insipid or annoying.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lorna 18/12/2017
    Lorna 18/12/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    49
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A curious endeavour "

    I wonder why this seemed like a good idea? A standard whodunnit with the Mitfords shoe-horned in. I'm not a Mitford expert, but it seems hard to believe that Nancy would have been quite so attached to a rather teary nursery maid with a violent uncle hanging about. And the heavy handed references to the sisters' foibles is grating (imagine - Pam loves animals and Unity is grumpy). Well read though, although the main character has a voice like a docker. All in all, I'd give it a miss.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mrs S J Davis 11/11/2017
    Mrs S J Davis 11/11/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant"

    I really enjoyed this who dunnit! Super plot and very well narrated. Hope there are more tales of Louisa and Guy to come.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Merrimaid BIRMINGHAM, West Midlands United Kingdom 19/02/2018
    Merrimaid BIRMINGHAM, West Midlands United Kingdom 19/02/2018 Member Since 2018
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Bit disappointing"

    I enjoyed the narrator, she did a great job of distinguishing between the different characters, and overall, I was engaged with the characters. However, the story itself was overlong and a bit waffley in parts, and all of the ‘twists’ in the tale very obvious.

    I don’t think I’ll be bothering with any sequels!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amanda Bowden 01/02/2018
    Amanda Bowden 01/02/2018 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "delightful"

    a very well put together and thoroughly entertaining read. good mix of history and fiction.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer 29/01/2018
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    "Mitford Murders."

    Could have been to!d in half the time. Few of the characters were credible. Nancy Mitford was an excellent authoress and I don't think she would have appreciated this portrayal of herself.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    sue glason 03/01/2018
    sue glason 03/01/2018 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "thrilling"

    great plot, twists and turns, recommended reading. enjoyed narration. I like the idea of using the history of the Mitfords to create story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michelle 30/12/2017
    Michelle 30/12/2017 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    59
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    326
    53
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great if you like historical settings & a slow burn plot"

    A modern take on an old fashioned mystery. The story is interesting, with plenty of twists & turns & suspense despite the leisurely pacing. This book was pleasant company & parts of it were excellent if others were a little dull. Some plot lines fizzled out - notably Louise’s difficult uncle. That is a shame as the relationship occupied much of the early part of the book & provided a strong sense of menace. I admire Fellowes’ ability to write good people who do illegal or cruel things as much out of desperation as anything. The young policeman is a lovely character who stays true to his purpose in spite of difficulties. It’s refreshing for a writer to have a detective whose ‘flaws’ are lack of experience, poor eyesight & low self-esteem rather than alcohol or womanising. Fellowes blows hot & cold about money. In some parts she understands very well the perils of life on the edge, but when the plot demands it, the same characters are unrealistically relaxed about lacking any income, happily squandering severance pay on a taxi & blithely uninterested in lack of references or job prospects. I guess I’m saying it was overall good enough that it’s flaws stood out more than they would if it was evenly average. That’s why I was a ‘hard marker’ on the story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • GReader
    Adelaide, South Australia Australia
    12/11/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not any Mitford I know"

    This book fails on several counts
    1. Nancy Mitford was not ever a rather silly girl as portrayed
    2. She would not have fraternised with a servant in the manner described
    3. The plot is implausible and relies on at least one unlikely coincidence
    4. The resolution is completely implausible
    5. The writing is competent but not gripping
    There are supposedly 5 more books in the series. I'm sorry I spent money on the first and won't be wasting time on the next five.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.