We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Lost Daughter Audiobook

The Lost Daughter: A Jean Brash Mystery, Book 2

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
    • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Elementary, Ripper Street and Sherlock Holmes - meet Jean Brash, a feisty, self-made woman turned sleuth in murky Victorian Edinburgh where crime and high society meet.

After Mistress of the Just Land, the second adventure in David Ashton's Jean Brash series....

A theatre company arrives in Leith to perform King Lear. A robbery is planned, a gruesome murder committed, both of which set Inspector James McLevy on the prowl, and Jean's past returns in the shape of the avenging son of a man she has long ago been accused of poisoning.

Even more lethally, her own lost family life resurrects in the present, as a wild young actress who trails violence and death behind her, involves Jean in a dangerous complex game that gnaws at the very root of her identity.

All this grounded in Leith's gritty backdrop - the rich exotic world of the theatre meeting the harsh reality of the streets.

Past, present and future - this unholy trinity collide to overwhelm the world of Jean Brash and involve her in a tale where the abandoned child inside her demands the right to grieve as well as feel some fractured, fleeting joy.

By the end, a chapter of Jean's life may close and a new future might be signalled in other lands and other countries....

©2017 David Ashton (P)2017 John Murray Press

What the Critics Say

"Jean Brash is my favourite character, and David Ashton's writing is as delicious, elegant and compelling as she is." (Siobhan Redmond, Jean Brash in BBC Radio 4's McLevy series)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (16 )
5 star
 (12)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.6 (15 )
5 star
 (11)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (16 )
5 star
 (12)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Dee Murray 29/09/2017
    Dee Murray 29/09/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Jean Brash"

    My husband and I greatly enjoyed this book. Siobhan Redmond's acting is a joy. From bawdy house keeper to King Leer we were hanging on her every word. An exciting tale with plenty of historical atmosphere, great characters (Plooky Galbraith is very real), murders galore and the enjoyable Hannah Semple and Constable Mulholland. Laughs, joy and pathos this book is worth your time. We only wish that Brian Cox had read it too. David Ashton is an accomplished actor. He played McLevy, Roach and Mulholland well. We weren't so keen on his delivery as the narrator.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Andrew W. Macfadyen 15/10/2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Usual great stuff from David Ashton"

    Siobhan Redmond delights as Jean Brash, a must for McLevy fans. The mean streets are even more mean than usual.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.