We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Lost Child Audiobook

The Lost Child

Regular Price:£23.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
    • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

They placed me in here and threw away the key. I look down at the gown they've put on me. I want my own clothes. I don't know how long I've been here.

An elderly woman is found murdered in her own home, and Detective Lottie Parker and her partner Detective Boyd are called in to investigate. When they discover that the victim's daughter is missing as well, they start to fear for the safety of the whole family....

Two days later, as a nearby house is set on fire, and with the body count rising, Lottie and her team begin to unpick a web of secrets and lies, as the murders seem to link back to a case investigated by Lottie's father before he took his own life.

With little knowledge of what really happened to her father, Lottie knows this is a case that could give her some answers. But how much does she want to know? And how far is Lottie prepared to dig to uncover the truth?

The Lost Child is a thrilling pause-resister from the best-selling author of The Missing Ones and The Stolen Girls that will have you guessing right to the very last minute. Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Angela Marsons, and Robert Dugoni.

©2017 Patricia Gibney (P)2017 Bookouture

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (140 )
5 star
 (103)
4 star
 (24)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.5 (122 )
5 star
 (82)
4 star
 (25)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.7 (121 )
5 star
 (99)
4 star
 (13)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Lisa Ince 17/11/2017
    Lisa Ince 17/11/2017 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Never Disappointed - Lottie Parker is Number 1!!"

    I have listened to all 3 books in quick succession and this is probably the best! Maybe its because i feel i know Lottie Parker by now, maybe its because so many of things she thinks or says I can absolutely relate to, or perhaps its because i never, ever, know whats coming next. I am a massive fan of crime books and there are a wealth of good woman characters out there but Lottie is heads and shoulders my favourite. I've loved every single one and confess i am feeling slightly despondent because i can't load up my next one. Come on Patricia, hurry up with the next instalment, because there HAS to be one. Oh and never let anyone but Michele Moran read them to me plse, coz that would be, well just wrong. Thank you!!

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Iscalady 10/11/2017
    Iscalady 10/11/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A fantastic twist, I didn’t see that coming "

    I like this writer, very dark stories but very human characters. Some shocking exposures of an old Ireland and its ways, hopefully long gone. Lottie Parker is a loving mother, committed policewoman and a woman on the edge. Not a winning combination but somehow you route for her, she is an old fashioned cop, with right on her side and a taste for the hard stuff. A great read.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    emma banks 13/11/2017
    emma banks 13/11/2017 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "fantastic "

    A fantastic story with a gripping story and an awesome ending. Couldn't put it down .

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jayne hudson 08/01/2018
    jayne hudson 08/01/2018
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Lottie parker"

    Again amazing can't wait for book 4 have now read all 3. All are addictive

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    k 22/12/2017
    k 22/12/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fabulous narrator"

    The narrator was superb and I will look out for more books read by her. The characters were interesting and complex with lots of personality touches that made them very realistic. I was completely engaged from the beginning ro the end of the book. The reason for the missing star is down to some credibility-stretching moments in the plot when I found myself thinking: come on! call for back up, or take the obvious action, not the one that allows the perpetrator to keep going! Overall though, a really fresh and twisty listen.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    rebecca gloucester 20/12/2017
    rebecca gloucester 20/12/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Fantastic!"

    Gripping to the end! Just when I thought I had put the pieces together another twist kept me guessing. Loved every one of the books so far.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer 09/12/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant storytelling "

    Loved the first Lottie Parker book and have now followed with book two another great listen and a brilliant book three. Very easy listening, great narration and good stories.
    It’s going to leave a hole now I’ve finished the series.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Frank 03/12/2017
    Frank 03/12/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "OK story when ou finally get there "

    No huge surprise with the twist, though good story overall. Narrator's over pronunciation became very irritating, and was willing the book to be over by the last quarter.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    MO 02/12/2017
    MO 02/12/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The best so far!"

    A fabulous read. My favourite in the series and one of the best audible books so far for me.
    A fabulous plot and excellent twist.
    Can’t wait for the next one.
    Highly recommended

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    E-book worm 15/02/2018
    E-book worm 15/02/2018 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    29
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    118
    53
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Rather enjoyable"

    What a tangled web she has woven. I thought I knew who had dunnit but I was totally off the beaten track!!

    I confess I was not expecting that ending. Definitely worth a listening!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Leslie
    DAWSON CREEK, BC, Canada
    21/11/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A great engaging tale!"

    Believable characters with enough interesting twists to keep me guessing from beginning to end ... very enjoyable :)

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • green ice cream garden
    miramar, FL United States
    22/01/18
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Please make it a movie"

    I would love to see this turned into film. I've enjoyed the other two books in the series but this one had me on the edge of my seat. It's complicated and surprising. Most of all it's left me urgently craving the next installment in Lottie Parker's life. Can be read as a stand alone. Highly recommend to those who love crime fiction.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Lynne B. Wiley
    02/12/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "IT'S A SMART CHILD THAT KNOWS HIS OWN FATHER"
    What made the experience of listening to The Lost Child the most enjoyable?

    The characters are very deceiving. Just when you think you've got it, another twist comes along.


    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    yes. Just when you think you've got it, another twist comes along.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    The last chapter, when it all falls into place.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Without giving it away, Lottie's eventual confrontation with her mother, Rose.


    Any additional comments?

    Gibney is a great writer and the narrator is very talented.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Britwho
    01/02/18
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Lost Child"

    Oh what a devious mind this author has. I wish I was as smart to be able to right a story
    so complicated. This story is extraordinary, it has the problems we face today with life and our children. Then it captures the past and the events that shaped us, including all the skeletons in our closet, real and imagined. If you don’t read this series you will regret it. I’m heading for the next one in the series. Enjoy!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Maedgee
    01/02/18
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Didn't see that coming!"

    Very Good! Enjoyed the story and liked the narrator. I thought there was a little more background story then the last two books which I liked! Will definitely listen to the next!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Louise Chase
    04/12/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good plot. A bit convoluted for audio version"

    Would better in print than audio. I need four more words to post this message. Grrr

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    04/12/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow! Didn't see that coming! "

    Patricia Gibney is an amazing writer! This is the third book of hers that I have read. Each one keeps me at the edge of my seat, waiting to read what is going to happen next! Can't wait for the next one!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Nicole
    02/12/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "HOLY CRAP! HOLY CRAP! AAAMAZING!"

    omg best book /plot/story! Ties into the other two books sooooo amazingly! don't know what to do until the next book!!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.