Regular price: £12.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

You won't want to miss this mesmerising debut from a fresh new voice in psychological suspense.

Perfect for fans of B. A. Paris, Shari Lapena and Liane Moriarty.

How far would you go to make all your dreams come true?

Amber Patterson is tired of being a nobody: an invisible woman who melts into the background. She deserves more. She deserves a life of wealth, luxury and leisure.

Daphne Parrish is the golden girl of Bishops Harbor, Connecticut. With her model looks, her picture-perfect mansion and her millionaire husband, Jackson, she has everything Amber wants.

Amber's envy could eat her alive - if she didn't have a plan. Before long, she has become Daphne's closest friend and is catching the eye of Jackson. But a skeleton from her past could destroy everything, and if discovered, Amber's well-laid plan may end in disaster....

©2017 Lynne Constantine and Valerie (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

" The Last Mrs Parrish is an addictive and twisty debut." (Karin Slaughter)
"Wonderfully plausible, hypnotically compelling, and deliciously chilling and creepy - some of the best psychological suspense you'll read this year." (Lee Child)
"A wonderfully clever story, filled with suspense and a shocking twist, that kept me turning the pages." (Jane Green, best-selling author of Summer Secrets)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    59
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    5

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    6
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Just terrible!

Firstly the narrators were monotonous and bland throughout. The story line was OK and had potential BUT I don’t think there was a single believable conversation in the whole book. So superficial! And the ending! It just went on and on forever and was far too sickly sweet to be believable. Awful! Please don’t waste your time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Predictable and corny...but very enjoyable :)

Okay, first let's be blunt about what this book is - this is corny, predictable and nothing more than an off the peg "psychological thriller". The long arm of coincidence and entirely incredible turns of events are employed with abandon. The old dual narrator device, with its inevitability that "everything you thought you knew is not what it seems" is getting as stale as last year's scones. But then this did not claim to be a great work of literary fiction. I bought it for a long car journey where all I wanted was to be kept entertained, not challenged intellectually, and this completely delivered. I killed 6 of the 12 hours on the return journey alone, and soon listened to the rest at home. It is actually quite well-written in terms of the prose, with a nice line in vinegary human observations. Many of these types of books are not only hackneyed but direly written - not this. So, this is a really entertaining audio version of pool reading. It does what it says on the tin and you probably will not get bored! I thought it was really well narrated also, which goes a long way. Worse ways to spend a free credit.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantistic

Good if not better than Gone Girl.
My favourite book in ages i loved it

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I do NOT recommend this book

It was predictable, slow, and just plain disturbing on a number of levels. And not in a good way. I finished it, hoping for something redeeming and a surprise twist to make it worthwhile... which never happened. I don’t like leaving a bad review, but I really did not like this one.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Kim
  • MaarssenNetherlands
  • 27-03-18

Promising but disappointing

This book got off to a promising start, I enjoyed the first half. After that, it become thoroughly predictable, incredibly disappointing that the writer could not come up with any surprising plot twists or turns. Two stars from me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant.

Brilliantly written and performed. I felt so many emotions whilst listening to this book. Anger and contempt at Amber and Jackson in Part 1. Sadness ànd frustration for Daphne at the beginning of Part 2, turning to happiness and joy towards the end. Hatred and anger for Jackson in all parts. What a fantastic ending, proving that all the money in the world can never buy you happiness. ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANCE!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great!

a really good book! split down into 3 parts, each part told so very well.
part 1 Amber, young, forceful, determined, going after what she wants without a care to anyone around. you get a real sense of desire from her. she wants Jackson and will stop at nothing to get him.
part 2 Daphne, the wife, the real story, the sense of betrayal, the abuse, the life with Jackson.
part 3. summation. the coming together of all elements. this is such a good psychological thriller. an awful story of abuse, of mistrust and betrayal. yet it's told so.well, sympathetically and caring. the ending whilst not unexpected was different enough to be exciting.

overall I loved this book. the audio was very well done. the narrator's voices were definitely a contribution to the telling of the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

The last Mrs parrish

Excellent book, full of unexpected twists. A good read and great on kindle audibles☺narrators add to it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Careful What You Wish For!

Loved this story and and its narration from beginning to end. Kept me interested throughout and as the twist slowly made itself clear I found it even more intriguing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

my favourite book so far this year

A great story with an interesting twist enjoyed from beginning to end.

narration was excellent

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 13-04-18

Couldn’t stop listening!

The story was a little slow in the beginning.
I was intrigued though. I did find it a little predictable. There were no real surprises in my opinion. But it was still a fun easy read that I enjoyed.