Regular price: £12.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

You won't want to miss this mesmerising debut from a fresh new voice in psychological suspense.

Perfect for fans of B. A. Paris, Shari Lapena and Liane Moriarty.

How far would you go to make all your dreams come true?

Amber Patterson is tired of being a nobody: an invisible woman who melts into the background. She deserves more. She deserves a life of wealth, luxury and leisure.

Daphne Parrish is the golden girl of Bishops Harbor, Connecticut. With her model looks, her picture-perfect mansion and her millionaire husband, Jackson, she has everything Amber wants.

Amber's envy could eat her alive - if she didn't have a plan. Before long, she has become Daphne's closest friend and is catching the eye of Jackson. But a skeleton from her past could destroy everything, and if discovered, Amber's well-laid plan may end in disaster....

©2017 Lynne Constantine and Valerie (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

" The Last Mrs Parrish is an addictive and twisty debut." (Karin Slaughter)
"Wonderfully plausible, hypnotically compelling, and deliciously chilling and creepy - some of the best psychological suspense you'll read this year." (Lee Child)
"A wonderfully clever story, filled with suspense and a shocking twist, that kept me turning the pages." (Jane Green, best-selling author of Summer Secrets)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    91
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    7

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    6

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    8
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Predictable and corny...but very enjoyable :)

Okay, first let's be blunt about what this book is - this is corny, predictable and nothing more than an off the peg "psychological thriller". The long arm of coincidence and entirely incredible turns of events are employed with abandon. The old dual narrator device, with its inevitability that "everything you thought you knew is not what it seems" is getting as stale as last year's scones. But then this did not claim to be a great work of literary fiction. I bought it for a long car journey where all I wanted was to be kept entertained, not challenged intellectually, and this completely delivered. I killed 6 of the 12 hours on the return journey alone, and soon listened to the rest at home. It is actually quite well-written in terms of the prose, with a nice line in vinegary human observations. Many of these types of books are not only hackneyed but direly written - not this. So, this is a really entertaining audio version of pool reading. It does what it says on the tin and you probably will not get bored! I thought it was really well narrated also, which goes a long way. Worse ways to spend a free credit.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I do NOT recommend this book

It was predictable, slow, and just plain disturbing on a number of levels. And not in a good way. I finished it, hoping for something redeeming and a surprise twist to make it worthwhile... which never happened. I don’t like leaving a bad review, but I really did not like this one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Just terrible!

Firstly the narrators were monotonous and bland throughout. The story line was OK and had potential BUT I don’t think there was a single believable conversation in the whole book. So superficial! And the ending! It just went on and on forever and was far too sickly sweet to be believable. Awful! Please don’t waste your time.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best book for a long time !

I don't usually write reviews but this was a definite winner, couldn't put it down....brilliant story and very well read ....bravo !

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantistic

Good if not better than Gone Girl.
My favourite book in ages i loved it

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read

The characters are so true to life i could not put the bookdown. Great read.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great read

I really enjoyed the story but I thought they narrator was a bit robotic The spoken dialogue was ok, except the male character, just the bits in between, it was almost machine like.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

I realised early on what was going on between Daphne, Jackson and Amber but it didn’t take away from the story. Rather the opposite. I couldn’t stop listening and got through the book far too quickly.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great summer read

Really enjoyed this book, the narration was great and it was very enjoyable, it was fast paced and easy to listen to

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A really gripping listen.

This book has a amazing twist in the plot which I really wasn’t expecting! No spoilers, but I heartily recommend it!

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 13-04-18

Couldn’t stop listening!

The story was a little slow in the beginning.
I was intrigued though. I did find it a little predictable. There were no real surprises in my opinion. But it was still a fun easy read that I enjoyed.