We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The First One to Die Audiobook

The First One to Die: Detectives King and Lane, Book 2

Regular Price:£18.29
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
    • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Strangers can hurt you. Friends can kill you.

Keira North falls to her death at a party.

What initially seems like it could be an accident is soon revealed to be something far more sinister as Detectives Alex King and Chloe Lane are called in to investigate the secrets and lies that link a group of four friends.

The detectives soon find that all of Keira's three closest friends have secrets that someone would kill to keep.

As Alex and Chloe are fighting their own demons and struggling to stay on top of the case, Keira's killer is circling the group of friends, who one by one find that their lives are in danger....

The First One to Die is a heart-stopping and shocking detective thriller that will have you gripped until the very end.

Perfect for fans of Patricia Gibney, Angela Marsons, and Val McDermid.

©2017 Victoria Jenkins (P)2017 Bookouture

What the Critics Say

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (13 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.3 (13 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.2 (13 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    At 09/11/2017
    At 09/11/2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Really very enjoyable!"

    This was really good. Quite long and a couple of plot holes, but overall I really enjoyed it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Amy@Novelgossip
    12/01/18
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic narration and exciting story "

    This is the second in a series following the dynamic duo of Alex and Chloe, I really enjoyed the first book The Girls in the Water and was eager to catch up with them again. I think one of the things that I love the most about this series is the fact that you have two strong women working as partners, it’s unique and I’m all about the girl power! I also enjoyed diving deeper into their personal lives and finding out more about what motivates them and seeing what Alex in particular is dealing with in her personal life was heartbreaking and really helped to explain some of her behavior.

    The case they’re working is certainly intriguing, a group of friends seem to be harboring plenty of secrets and the further Alex and Chloe investigate, the more darkness they uncover. Though the list of suspects is on the smaller side I still couldn’t pin down a culprit, Jenkins definitely plotted this one well and kept me guessing and then second guessing over and over again. I found this to be set at a quicker pace than the previous book and I’m always down for a high speed, exciting story and this surely delivered.

    Villa was an amazing narrator, her nuances for expressing various emotions or different characters was outstanding. I’m always enraptured by listening to someone with an accent and I swear Bookouture has the BEST narrators around, every single one of their audiobooks has a fantastic narrator as well as a fantastic story, so if you’re a fan of audiobooks I can highly recommend them!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.